Post Reply

[TIP] Force all apps to SD on FROYO

OP Henchman

22nd May 2010, 09:45 PM   |  #11  
Senior Member
Flag Thurrock
Thanks Meter: 17
 
100 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2005
More
Works great for me on my non-rooted N1. I can only move non protected apps but that's fine with me!
22nd May 2010, 09:46 PM   |  #12  
OP Senior Member
Flag Sherman oaks
Thanks Meter: 6
 
811 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by chazam

Works great for me on my non-rooted N1. I can only move non protected apps but that's fine with me!

Once you run the command, all apps, including protected ones, will be installed in the SD card.
22nd May 2010, 10:03 PM   |  #13  
Senior Member
Flag Thurrock
Thanks Meter: 17
 
100 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2005
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Henchman

Once you run the command, all apps, including protected ones, will be installed in the SD card.

Only my non protected apps have moved from my internal memory (which is good enough for me really).
22nd May 2010, 10:28 PM   |  #14  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
124 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
Re: Force all apps to SD on FROYO
How were you able move them? The option to do that is grayed out for all applications on my phone. I heard developers have to give permission to move their applications to the SD card first.

-------------------------------------
Sent from my Motorola Razr.
22nd May 2010, 10:40 PM   |  #15  
Junior Member
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 0
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2007
More
I was also only able to move my non-protected apps
22nd May 2010, 10:55 PM   |  #16  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
392 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
So to clarify this, after executing the command all non protected apps will be moved to sd, or do we choose which ones to move from the applications menu. Are we able to move apps back to the phone for speed?
Can we reverse the command?

Thanks
22nd May 2010, 11:03 PM   |  #17  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
124 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
Re: Force all apps to SD on FROYO
Quote:

I was also only able to move my non-protected apps

With the abd command? Or on stock Froyo?
22nd May 2010, 11:04 PM   |  #18  
brosenz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag US
Thanks Meter: 44
 
565 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Where are the apps being installed in the SD card ?, I see that my internal memory is going down and the apps are installed in the SD card based on what the system says, thanks
22nd May 2010, 11:18 PM   |  #19  
Senior Member
Flag Wellington
Thanks Meter: 249
 
1,591 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikey1022

That brings up an interesting question.........

If this update is for non-rooted phones, how/why should we be concerned if it is partitioned correctly?

Shouldn't it be done with the update.......

FAT32 doesn't support the required permission flags for root apps.

Apps need to be rewritten to support installation to SD under FroYo as it's not just using symlinks as with A2SD.
22nd May 2010, 11:27 PM   |  #20  
1wayjonny's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,105
 
454 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2007
After initiating the command on the original post you have to click each app and move to sdcard.

A shortcut to reinstall all apps at once can be done in ADB

Code:
cd /data/app
for app in *.apk; do pm install -r $app; done
** Note
I used this for unofficial apps2sd so after switching to froyo using the command should also do the same

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes