FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

[Guide] From Root to Stock to "Test ROM" Froyo (25 Steps)

504 posts
Thanks Meter: 266
 
By Wisefire, Senior Member on 22nd May 2010, 09:11 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
This is a very simple guide to install Android 2.2.

This will unroot your device, revert to stock, and update to FroYo.

Step 1. Download and unzip the original shipping Rom. (I unzipped it to the tools folder so I didn't have to type the full location in the cmd.exe)
http://rapidshare.com/files/33214879...ase_signed.zip

Step 2. Plug in your Nexus One to your computer via USB.

Step 3. Open a Command Prompt on your computer

Step 4. Type adb reboot bootloader. This will boot into the bootloader.

Step 5. Confirm fastboot connection by typing fastboot devices.

Step 6. Erase your Userdata by typing fastboot erase userdata.

Step 7. Erase your Cache by typing fastboot erase cache.

(If step 6 and 7 do not work you can alternately do a factory data wipe within Android. Settings/Privacy/Factory Data Reset)

Step 8. Go to the directory where you stored your unzipped image file.

Step 9. Type fastboot flash userdata userdata.img

Step 10. Type fastboot flash boot boot.img

Step 11. Type fastboot flash system system.img

Step 12. Type fastboot flash recovery recovery.img

Step 14. Fastboot reboot

Step 15. Boot into Android > Settings > About > Update > Download and Install (This should be update-1)

Step 16. Download and copy the following zip to your SD card, and rename it update.zip
http://coblitz.codeen.org/www.romrai...9.a487b405.zip

Step 17. Reboot in to the recovery. Power+Trackball > Bootloader > Recovery

Step 18. Press Vol Up+Power

Step 19. Apply update.zip

Step 20. Finish and reboot.

Step 21. Copy the following to your SD card and name it update.zip
http://bit.ly/beSwQm

Step 22. Reboot in to the recovery. Power+Trackball > Bootloader > Recovery

Step 23. Press Vol Up+Power

Step 24. Apply update.zip

Step 25. Enjoy

----------------------------------------

Thanks to,
Football for the Original Shipping ROM link.
RomRAID for the ERE27 Link.
Gu1Dry for FroYo Link.
Last edited by dsixda; 25th May 2010 at 06:48 AM. Reason: Modified title to clear up some confusion
 
 
22nd May 2010, 09:13 PM |#2  
FRIEDjellyWALNUT's Avatar
Member
Flag Ann Arbor, MI
Thanks Meter: 1
 
Donate to Me
More
Can anyone confirm that this works for getting to FroYo from CM 5.0.6-N1?
22nd May 2010, 09:14 PM |#3  
Senior Member
Flag SoCal
Thanks Meter: 11
 
More
Thanks. Can't get any simpler than this
22nd May 2010, 09:15 PM |#4  
Senior Member
Flag Valencia
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wisefire

Step 4. Type adb reboot bootloader. This will boot into the bootloader.

Hi,

First off, thanks for the guide. Big help for us noobs around.

I'm stuck at step 4, though. When I try to ./adb reboot bootloader in Ubuntu 10.04, I get the following error:

Quote:

error: insufficient permissions for device

I'm currently investigating the possible cause and solution, but any help would be appreciated.

EDIT: found the solution, I'll post it here in case it happens to anyone else:

./adb kill-server
sudo ./adb start-server
sudo ./adb reboot bootloader

Seems you have to kill the server and then restart it again with sudo.
Last edited by frandavid100; 22nd May 2010 at 09:21 PM.
22nd May 2010, 09:16 PM |#5  
Wisefire's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Lubbock, TX
Thanks Meter: 266
 
Donate to Me
More
@FRIEDjellyWALNUT

Thats exactly what I came from.

So yes, I confirm it works.

@frandavid100

If you are in Win7 or Vista, right click cmd.exe and run as administrator.

Then try.
22nd May 2010, 09:18 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 28
 
More
Thanks very nice guide you are awsome. Thanks for your time. Froyo here we goooooo. Yesss Apple take this. FLASH ON ANDROID.
22nd May 2010, 09:19 PM |#7  
FRIEDjellyWALNUT's Avatar
Member
Flag Ann Arbor, MI
Thanks Meter: 1
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wisefire

@FRIEDjellyWALNUT

Thats exactly what I came from.

So yes, I confirm it works.

@frandavid100

If you are in Win7 or Vista, right click cmd.exe and run as administrator.

Then try.

Awesome, I will be trying this right now then!!! Thanks so much!!
22nd May 2010, 09:27 PM |#8  
unleashed12's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Calgary
Thanks Meter: 64
 
More
will this work with an ATT nexus one?.. i have my nexus one completely stock..root gone etc.. on EPE54B..
22nd May 2010, 09:29 PM |#9  
jasrups's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Winnipeg
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by unleashed12

will this work with an ATT nexus one?.. i have my nexus one completely stock..root gone etc.. on EPE54B..

I'm wondering this as well. I'm completely stock (ATT/Rogers N1), haven't unlocked my bootloader either..
22nd May 2010, 09:31 PM |#10  
jakkzen's Avatar
Member
Flag Dahlonega
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by unleashed12

will this work with an ATT nexus one?.. i have my nexus one completely stock..root gone etc.. on EPE54B..

From what I read "NO".. But go ahead and try it. If it works then
22nd May 2010, 09:31 PM |#11  
Senior Member
Flag Valencia
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wisefire

If you are in Win7 or Vista, right click cmd.exe and run as administrator.

Actually, I'm on Ubuntu. But I seem to have found the answer, thanks dude.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes