Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,785,232 Members 38,536 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Guide] From Root to Stock to "Test ROM" Froyo (25 Steps)

Tip us?
 
Wisefire
Old
(Last edited by dsixda; 25th May 2010 at 06:48 AM.) Reason: Modified title to clear up some confusion
#1  
Wisefire's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 265
Posts: 502
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Celina, TX

 
DONATE TO ME
Default [Guide] From Root to Stock to "Test ROM" Froyo (25 Steps)

This is a very simple guide to install Android 2.2.

This will unroot your device, revert to stock, and update to FroYo.

Step 1. Download and unzip the original shipping Rom. (I unzipped it to the tools folder so I didn't have to type the full location in the cmd.exe)
http://rapidshare.com/files/33214879...ase_signed.zip

Step 2. Plug in your Nexus One to your computer via USB.

Step 3. Open a Command Prompt on your computer

Step 4. Type adb reboot bootloader. This will boot into the bootloader.

Step 5. Confirm fastboot connection by typing fastboot devices.

Step 6. Erase your Userdata by typing fastboot erase userdata.

Step 7. Erase your Cache by typing fastboot erase cache.

(If step 6 and 7 do not work you can alternately do a factory data wipe within Android. Settings/Privacy/Factory Data Reset)

Step 8. Go to the directory where you stored your unzipped image file.

Step 9. Type fastboot flash userdata userdata.img

Step 10. Type fastboot flash boot boot.img

Step 11. Type fastboot flash system system.img

Step 12. Type fastboot flash recovery recovery.img

Step 14. Fastboot reboot

Step 15. Boot into Android > Settings > About > Update > Download and Install (This should be update-1)

Step 16. Download and copy the following zip to your SD card, and rename it update.zip
http://coblitz.codeen.org/www.romrai...9.a487b405.zip

Step 17. Reboot in to the recovery. Power+Trackball > Bootloader > Recovery

Step 18. Press Vol Up+Power

Step 19. Apply update.zip

Step 20. Finish and reboot.

Step 21. Copy the following to your SD card and name it update.zip
http://bit.ly/beSwQm

Step 22. Reboot in to the recovery. Power+Trackball > Bootloader > Recovery

Step 23. Press Vol Up+Power

Step 24. Apply update.zip

Step 25. Enjoy

----------------------------------------

Thanks to,
Football for the Original Shipping ROM link.
RomRAID for the ERE27 Link.
Gu1Dry for FroYo Link.
Device: Nexus 4
Service: T-Mobile
ROM: Stock 4.2.1
 
FRIEDjellyWALNUT
Old
#2  
FRIEDjellyWALNUT's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 30
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Ann Arbor, MI

 
DONATE TO ME
Can anyone confirm that this works for getting to FroYo from CM 5.0.6-N1?
Want 2GB of free online storage that you can take anywhere you go and lets you keep your computers in sync? Get Dropbox!
 
s0nniez
Old
#3  
Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 95
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: SoCal
Thanks. Can't get any simpler than this
Current Phone:
Samsung Galaxy SIII T999

Retired Phone:
HTC HD2
 
frandavid100
Old
(Last edited by frandavid100; 22nd May 2010 at 09:21 PM.)
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 385
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Valencia
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wisefire View Post
Step 4. Type adb reboot bootloader. This will boot into the bootloader.
Hi,

First off, thanks for the guide. Big help for us noobs around.

I'm stuck at step 4, though. When I try to ./adb reboot bootloader in Ubuntu 10.04, I get the following error:

Quote:
error: insufficient permissions for device
I'm currently investigating the possible cause and solution, but any help would be appreciated.

EDIT: found the solution, I'll post it here in case it happens to anyone else:

./adb kill-server
sudo ./adb start-server
sudo ./adb reboot bootloader

Seems you have to kill the server and then restart it again with sudo.
I'm trying to improve my English. If you see anything wrong with one of my posts please don't hesitate to tell me.
 
Wisefire
Old
#5  
Wisefire's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 265
Posts: 502
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Celina, TX

 
DONATE TO ME
@FRIEDjellyWALNUT

Thats exactly what I came from.

So yes, I confirm it works.

@frandavid100

If you are in Win7 or Vista, right click cmd.exe and run as administrator.

Then try.
Device: Nexus 4
Service: T-Mobile
ROM: Stock 4.2.1
 
hondasr
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 28
Posts: 211
Join Date: Aug 2009
Thanks very nice guide you are awsome. Thanks for your time. Froyo here we goooooo. Yesss Apple take this. FLASH ON ANDROID.
Galaxy S3 i9300
Latest WanamLite Roms always ( So far the best)
 
FRIEDjellyWALNUT
Old
#7  
FRIEDjellyWALNUT's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 30
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Ann Arbor, MI

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wisefire View Post
@FRIEDjellyWALNUT

Thats exactly what I came from.

So yes, I confirm it works.

@frandavid100

If you are in Win7 or Vista, right click cmd.exe and run as administrator.

Then try.
Awesome, I will be trying this right now then!!! Thanks so much!!
Want 2GB of free online storage that you can take anywhere you go and lets you keep your computers in sync? Get Dropbox!
 
unleashed12
Old
#8  
unleashed12's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 64
Posts: 404
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Calgary
will this work with an ATT nexus one?.. i have my nexus one completely stock..root gone etc.. on EPE54B..
If I helped you at all, feel free to hit the thanks button!
Current Device- Galaxy S 4 16 GB Black , iPhone 5 16GB White
 
jasrups
Old
#9  
jasrups's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 262
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Winnipeg
Quote:
Originally Posted by unleashed12 View Post
will this work with an ATT nexus one?.. i have my nexus one completely stock..root gone etc.. on EPE54B..
I'm wondering this as well. I'm completely stock (ATT/Rogers N1), haven't unlocked my bootloader either..
Phone: Galaxy Nexus (Rogers, Stock)
 
jakkzen
Old
#10  
jakkzen's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 49
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Madison
Quote:
Originally Posted by unleashed12 View Post
will this work with an ATT nexus one?.. i have my nexus one completely stock..root gone etc.. on EPE54B..
From what I read "NO".. But go ahead and try it. If it works then

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes