Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Thread Closed

Swype for the EVO? Now with an IDIOT-PROOF GUIDE!

OP TheBiles

8th June 2010, 09:52 PM   |  #111  
kpoz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 24
 
1,154 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Impulses

Does either Swype or the stock HTC keyboard have an option to easily change the language being used? My old dumbphone had this feature and I see a setting for it on my EVO (burred deep in the settings page) but I can't seem to figure out how to switch languages from the keyboard itself... Kind of indispensable for me, at times I alternate between English and Spanish multiple times per message.

Forgive me if it's a noobish question, I only got my EVO yesterday and it's my first Android phone, haven't had much time to play with it yet!

The option to change the language is one of the main keys on the Swype keyboard.
9th June 2010, 01:19 AM   |  #112  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 18
 
352 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
does anyone have the new beta yet? there was a new one leaked today
9th June 2010, 02:17 AM   |  #113  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
36 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
More
I just downloaded the new beta and I can't get it to work. It says it was configured for a different device. Perhaps I didn't get the correct version somehow? The .apk from this thread worked fine for me so I'm going back to that for now.
9th June 2010, 02:30 AM   |  #114  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Thank you so much! Loving this kb!
9th June 2010, 04:38 AM   |  #115  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
I tried it on my Evo and it doesnt work. After I check off swype on the language settings I open the search window and I don't have the swype icon to change the input.
9th June 2010, 04:42 AM   |  #116  
kpoz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 24
 
1,154 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Maybe you need to hit the SYM button? I don't recall.
9th June 2010, 05:30 AM   |  #117  
Junior Member
Flag Makati
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
thank you very much for posting this. I'm pretty new to the android and your instructions helped very much! This is a pretty amazing application. Works great on my N1.
9th June 2010, 05:55 AM   |  #118  
mrono's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
1,558 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by xtkxhom3r

does anyone have the new beta yet? there was a new one leaked today

Swype beta 1.56 apk
Uninstall the previous before install to prevent issues
Attached Files
File Type: apk com.swype.android.inputmethod.apk - [Click for QR Code] (2.70 MB, 45454 views)
9th June 2010, 06:32 AM   |  #119  
jayv1717's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Miami
Thanks Meter: 23
 
796 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrono

Swype beta 1.56 apk
Uninstall the previous before install to prevent issues

Works great thanks
9th June 2010, 07:51 AM   |  #120  
Junior Member
Flag Oklahoma City, OK
Thanks Meter: 1
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
More
I love the app, but hate the keyboard layout... I hope they make a version that follows more standard keyboard layout... Only keyboard I've ever used where the numbers don't go across the top line!!

Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes