Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,736,007 Members 40,650 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[MOD] Fix Protected Apps not Showing on FroYo

Tip us?
 
Geniusdog254
Old
(Last edited by Geniusdog254; 30th May 2010 at 05:22 AM.)
#1  
Geniusdog254's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 166
Posts: 1,094
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: St. Louis

 
DONATE TO ME
Default [MOD] Fix Protected Apps not Showing on FroYo

This is just a simple build.prop mod to fix the fingerprint back to the working ERE27 one used in CM. Everything in Settings still shows FroYo, but the Market sees you as ERE27 & thus gives you your protected apps back

To install run this from the directory you unzip the file to:

ADB Method:

Code:
adb remount
adb shell rm /system/build.prop
adb push froyo.prop /system/build.prop
adb shell reboot
Then, once it reboots, go into the dialer, and type
Code:
*#*#CHECKIN#*#*
which is
Code:
*#*#2432546#*#*
for those of you who are too lazy to read the letters

A message should pop up into the status bar after a few seconds depending on your connection speed saying checkin succeeded.

Now you're good to go, open Market and download away

EDIT: Since I know some of you will wonder what this does, it just changes the ro.build.fingerprint & ro.build.description settings back to ERE27. This alone would normally be enough, but you're depending on luck to when you next check in. Dialing that code in the Dialer will force a checkin.

EDIT 2: Thanks to Shafty023 here is a method for the shell:

LINUX SHELL METHOD

Copy froyo.zip to /sdcard, then open a Terminal shell on your phone

Code:
su
mount -o remount,rw /system
cd /system
mv build.prop new.build.prop
unzip /sdcard/froyo.zip
mv froyo.prop build.prop
rm /sdcard/froyo.zip
reboot
Upon booting back up, open Dialer and type in the following code

Code:
*#*#2432546#*#*
Once you see a notification in the notification bar that says checkin succeeded you can now open Market and are done.
Attached Files
File Type: zip froyo.zip - [Click for QR Code] (1.3 KB, 7128 views)
Follow me on Twitter @Geniusdog254

If you like my work, please buy one of my apps on the Market or donate!
  • Reflex-A-Tron - A colorful, addicting, & fun game to test yourself & challenge friends for only $.99!
  • Search2Play - Control your music with your device's buttons!
  • Task'd - A beautiful to-do list app!

Phones:
Android Dev Phone 1 - Dec. '08
Rogers HTC Dream - Sept. '09
AT&T Nexus One - March '10
Motorola Droid - Apr. '10
HTC Evo - Jun. '10
HTC Evo 3D - Jun. '11
Sprint Galaxy Nexus - May '12
 
athereal
Old
(Last edited by athereal; 24th May 2010 at 12:00 AM.)
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 19
Join Date: Mar 2010
Nice! Trying it now.

EDIT: Working great so far. Thanks!
 
lpasq
Old
(Last edited by lpasq; 24th May 2010 at 12:13 AM.)
#3  
lpasq's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 182
Posts: 1,281
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: SoCal
Quote:
Originally Posted by athereal View Post
Nice! Trying it now.

EDIT: Working great so far. Thanks!
testing it in a few minutes too.... [UPDATE: works like a charm!]
 
leonnib4
Old
#4  
leonnib4's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 85
Posts: 1,454
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Paris

 
DONATE TO ME
Nice job Geniusdog254! really nice

thanks!
== Google Nexus One ==

[Bootloader] 0.35.0017
[Recovery] AmonRA v2.2.1
[System] Android 2.3.7 / GWK74
[ROM] LeoGOxygeN1 [/URL]
[Kernel] custom 2.6.35.14
[Radio] 32.41.00.32U_5.08.00.04
[Launcher] GO Launcher EX

[WebSite] www.shkschneider.me
 
JHPadu
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 132
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Norrköping
Thanks, works great!
 
Part Four
Old
#6  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter 62
Posts: 1,157
Join Date: Feb 2010
Grrr... adb has been broken for me for months. Any way to fix this without adb?
 
Geniusdog254
Old
#7  
Geniusdog254's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 166
Posts: 1,094
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: St. Louis

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Part Four View Post
Grrr... adb has been broken for me for months. Any way to fix this without adb?
Use one of the root file explorers to unzip the file, delete the old build.prop, put the new one in, and then type the command in the dialer
Follow me on Twitter @Geniusdog254

If you like my work, please buy one of my apps on the Market or donate!
  • Reflex-A-Tron - A colorful, addicting, & fun game to test yourself & challenge friends for only $.99!
  • Search2Play - Control your music with your device's buttons!
  • Task'd - A beautiful to-do list app!

Phones:
Android Dev Phone 1 - Dec. '08
Rogers HTC Dream - Sept. '09
AT&T Nexus One - March '10
Motorola Droid - Apr. '10
HTC Evo - Jun. '10
HTC Evo 3D - Jun. '11
Sprint Galaxy Nexus - May '12
 
anstosa
Old
#8  
anstosa's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 98
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Seattle
Works like a charm, thanks!
Galaxy Nexus [unlocked, rooted]
Stock 4.1.1
Nexus 7 [unlocked, rooted]
Stock 4.1.1
 
lp1527
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 285
Join Date: Oct 2009
Worked great, THANK YOU!!!!!
 
dudebro
Old
#10  
dudebro's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 575
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: San Antonio
I'm getting checkin failed. should I have renamed froyo.prop to build.prop?

edit: I'm able to see protected apps though.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Automate Your Device with Sfen

Changing the profile of yourdevice manually is now long forgotten. Since the advent of Android automation … more

Galaxy Photo Screen Lock Displays a Photo Slideshow on Your Lock Screen

Being the most often looked at part of our devices UI, the lock … more

Boost the LG G3 Speaker and Headphone Volume

It seems like OEMs are stepping up their game, with regards to thequality of their devices sound … more

Forums Added for the HTC Desire 610 and LG G3 US Carrier Variants

We recently added two new sets of forums here on XDA. The first … more