Watch This Now!

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

[MOD] Fix Protected Apps not Showing on FroYo

1,094 posts
Thanks Meter: 167
By Geniusdog254, Retired Recognized Developer on 23rd May 2010, 11:51 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
This is just a simple build.prop mod to fix the fingerprint back to the working ERE27 one used in CM. Everything in Settings still shows FroYo, but the Market sees you as ERE27 & thus gives you your protected apps back

To install run this from the directory you unzip the file to:

ADB Method:

adb remount
adb shell rm /system/build.prop
adb push froyo.prop /system/build.prop
adb shell reboot
Then, once it reboots, go into the dialer, and type
which is
for those of you who are too lazy to read the letters

A message should pop up into the status bar after a few seconds depending on your connection speed saying checkin succeeded.

Now you're good to go, open Market and download away

EDIT: Since I know some of you will wonder what this does, it just changes the & settings back to ERE27. This alone would normally be enough, but you're depending on luck to when you next check in. Dialing that code in the Dialer will force a checkin.

EDIT 2: Thanks to Shafty023 here is a method for the shell:


Copy to /sdcard, then open a Terminal shell on your phone

mount -o remount,rw /system
cd /system
mv build.prop
unzip /sdcard/
mv froyo.prop build.prop
rm /sdcard/
Upon booting back up, open Dialer and type in the following code

Once you see a notification in the notification bar that says checkin succeeded you can now open Market and are done.
Attached Files
File Type: zip - [Click for QR Code] (1.3 KB, 7154 views)
Last edited by Geniusdog254; 30th May 2010 at 05:22 AM.
23rd May 2010, 11:58 PM |#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
Nice! Trying it now.

EDIT: Working great so far. Thanks!
Last edited by athereal; 24th May 2010 at 12:00 AM.
24th May 2010, 12:04 AM |#3  
lpasq's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag SoCal
Thanks Meter: 190
Originally Posted by athereal

Nice! Trying it now.

EDIT: Working great so far. Thanks!

testing it in a few minutes too.... [UPDATE: works like a charm!]
Last edited by lpasq; 24th May 2010 at 12:13 AM.
24th May 2010, 12:05 AM |#4  
leonnib4's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Paris
Thanks Meter: 85
Donate to Me
Nice job Geniusdog254! really nice

24th May 2010, 12:09 AM |#5  
Senior Member
Flag Norrköping
Thanks Meter: 6
Thanks, works great!
24th May 2010, 12:15 AM |#6  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter: 62
Grrr... adb has been broken for me for months. Any way to fix this without adb?
24th May 2010, 12:18 AM |#7  
Geniusdog254's Avatar
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Flag St. Louis
Thanks Meter: 167
Donate to Me
Originally Posted by Part Four

Grrr... adb has been broken for me for months. Any way to fix this without adb?

Use one of the root file explorers to unzip the file, delete the old build.prop, put the new one in, and then type the command in the dialer
24th May 2010, 12:29 AM |#8  
anstosa's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 1
Works like a charm, thanks!
24th May 2010, 12:37 AM |#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
Worked great, THANK YOU!!!!!
24th May 2010, 12:43 AM |#10  
dudebro's Avatar
Senior Member
San Antonio
Thanks Meter: 4
I'm getting checkin failed. should I have renamed froyo.prop to build.prop?

edit: I'm able to see protected apps though.
24th May 2010, 12:52 AM |#11  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
So what happens when apps start getting udated to take advantage of JIT? If you have ERE27 signature do you get the JIT'less version of the apps? I know Replica Island is coming with a JIT version. I'm afraid to mess with anything right now, rather be patient and give it a few days.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes