Big Android BBQ 5.0 Recap – XDA TV

This fifth annual Big Android BBQ has come and gone. The speakers have spoke, the sponsors have … more

Microsoft to Counter “OK Google” with Bing Torque

When Microsoft is making apps for Android, users should be aware that something … more

Google Confirms “Android Lollipop Day” for November 3rd

A little over a week ago, Google announced the latest iteration of … more

Get Your XDA 2015 Custom Avatar and Signature Images Here

As stated in our motto, XDA Developer is for developers, by developers. The … more
Post Reply

Aqtrans' CM-5.07 port for Kaiser/Vogue! [v1.2] [5/27]

OP aqtrans

26th May 2010, 03:50 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
273 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
More
This is my port of Cyanogen's latest Eclair build, v5.07-stable.
It is basically mssmison's 5.07-test3 build updated, I used the same process he did to port this one.

Included Apps:
-Connectbot
-Astro
-RogueTools
-LinPack
-HomeSwitcher

Notes:
-No major problems found so far (besides Eclair-specific problems like the Camera not working).
-Speed is comparable to other Eclair builds, maybe even a bit zippier at times.
-It should be fully compatible with any themes/mods made for Cyanogenmod v5.07-stable. (Although my attempt at flashing this theme sent my phone into an "android.power wakeup" loop, so be cautious!)
--Darkstar theme isn't working either, thx for trying @thebulletfromhell!
-It is set to 120DPI by default, so if running anything other than 320x240, you'll have to use RogueTools to adjust it. I am currently running it at 320x240x120dpi and haven't experienced many problems, except the top and bottom of the Dialer are cutoff, button's still reachable though. (If someone wants to help me fix this, please do, I just don't know where to start)
-Wifi support for the Kaiser is built in, should work out of the box!
-Starting with v1.2, Userinit.conf is added to the root of your SD, by default it has 16MB of Compcache, but this can be adjusted by editing the file.

Download! [Last updated on 5/29/10]

Changelog:
Quote:

v1.3
-Removed userinit.conf, now everything is run directly from /system/bin/userinit.sh
-32MB Compcache by default
-Removed overclocking from the get-go. You can set it manually via RogueTools.
-Userinit.sh now renice's com.android.phone to try and improve ringing delay.
v1.2.1
-Removed redundant wlan.ko
-Replaced wlan.ko with kallt_kaffe's
-Reverted a change to userinit.sh that was causing awful performance
v1.2
-Removed Dropbox, Speedtest, Twicca, Shazam, 3Banana Notes, and LiveWallpapers
-Added Camera back (Fixes FC when trying to crop a wallpaper)
-Fixed Facebook Sync
-Userinit.conf is added to the root of SD card on first boot. This allows you to control Compcache, swap, and many other settings.

Thanks go out to mssmision for his port+quick guide to porting, Cyanogen for the build, and all the other developers that worked on getting Android running on this phone! You guys have made this phone so much more usable.
Last edited by aqtrans; 29th May 2010 at 03:28 PM. Reason: v1.3 Released!
26th May 2010, 08:41 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Auburn Hills, Michigan
Thanks Meter: 80
 
431 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
Woah, it's weird being in a different forum.

What is updated in this new version (1.1)? I'm still running the first one you posted in the Vogue forums (on a Vogue) and it's working great.
26th May 2010, 09:16 AM   |  #3  
pastaeter's Avatar
Member
Flag Fryslân
Thanks Meter: 0
 
31 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
More
Thumbs up
Cool!

Gonna try this one out.

Thanks a lot!
26th May 2010, 09:30 AM   |  #4  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
273 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pastaeter

Cool!

Gonna try this one out.

Thanks a lot!

Let me know how it goes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by drkow19

Woah, it's weird being in a different forum.

What is updated in this new version (1.1)? I'm still running the first one you posted in the Vogue forums (on a Vogue) and it's working great.

The updated version has wifi working for Kaiser, and some compcache tweaks done to /system/bin/userinit.conf. The first version I think I disabled compcache entirely, and it really showed once you got the build fully loaded.
26th May 2010, 11:36 AM   |  #5  
mazz8y's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Tarnow
Thanks Meter: 0
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
any screens? how to install themes on Kaiser? Little guide please...
Last edited by mazz8y; 26th May 2010 at 01:04 PM.
26th May 2010, 01:40 PM   |  #6  
Member
Flag Fulton, MS
Thanks Meter: 0
 
41 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
More
just downloaded going to give it a try
26th May 2010, 03:59 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
160 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
More
all live wallpapers dont work and show force close (exclude polar clock)
but its cool and fast (default it set at 450MHz and i set it to 500MHz)
Bench at 500MHz: MFLOPS:2.141
Times: 2.53s
Norm Res: 3.36
Precision: 2.224...

Maybe you add-in many of not neccessary app..
and one very good thing.. i have i think 320x428 and 120DPi in RogueTools. and its less blurry than thats sets in myn
Congrats for good rom.
Last edited by Michga; 26th May 2010 at 04:14 PM.
26th May 2010, 04:17 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
160 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
More
exist CM with sense 2.1 on kaiser?
Last edited by Michga; 26th May 2010 at 06:11 PM.
26th May 2010, 04:57 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 39
 
1,007 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
Compared to super eclair it has a few advantages:
-language dutch is included and fully working
-more options: look at call settings.
-market is fully working (for now), but no paid apps (super eclair market broke after using a time, not all apps can be found).

But less free ram.

Not really worth upgrading for me (I have 2 kaisers).
Last edited by robuser007; 26th May 2010 at 05:00 PM.
26th May 2010, 06:50 PM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Flag Bucharest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
26 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
Post
i've installed this build on my kaiser and it works great.
tested the wifi, the market, both work great. bluetooth turns on but i haven't had the chance to send or receive any files or to connect it to my wireless headsets.
did not test the data yet.
installed helix launcher and i think it moves a little bit faster than the regular home screen.

thank for the upload

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes