How to Control Both Moto G and Moto E LEDs

Notification LEDs offer a great way to check for notification at a glance on the Moto G (2013) and … more

LG G3 Receives Oversharpening Fix via Modified Kernel

Nothing is perfect, as they say. No matter how alluring or seemingly perfect, … more

APKTool Updated with Android Lollipop Support

One of the beauties of Android is the level of flexibility we have over our devices. Whether … more

Lollipop Leak for Sprint Galaxy S5, TWRP for Micromax Canvas Magnus – XDA TV

Android 5.0 Lollipop has been leaked for the Sprint … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

How to change IMEI?

OP imake

27th May 2010, 07:31 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
33 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
I want to change the IMEI of my htc.
How to do that?
27th May 2010, 07:34 AM   |  #2  
NguyenHuu's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Northern California
Thanks Meter: 110
 
1,689 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
Donate to Me
More
i'm pretty sure that is illegal. only the manufacturer can do it legally and its not a service they offer. its something they do if like they take back phones and refurb them and resell.
27th May 2010, 08:07 AM   |  #3  
Draken Korin's Avatar
Retired Senior Moderator
Thanks Meter: 121
 
2,430 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
that is indeed prohibited in most countries
what is your motivation?

Mod. edit: not dev related, moved to general
Last edited by Draken Korin; 27th May 2010 at 12:07 PM.
27th May 2010, 08:52 AM   |  #4  
decepticon's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Backwoods Louisiana
Thanks Meter: 89
 
947 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2004
More
One reason in the US would be to trick AT&T into thinking the phone is a regular phone so you can get on the cheaper data plan.
27th May 2010, 10:05 AM   |  #5  
jgcaap's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Porto
Thanks Meter: 1,155
 
3,187 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
Donate to Me
More
but that doenst work like that. At least in portugal, you have APN wich you configure to use one server on another. For instance a blackberry uses net2.vodafone.pt , if we change to internet.vodafone.pt it becomes cheaper the use of a blackberry . Just the client doenst know about it... I'm sure is same thing in the US unless is a CMDA company things must be a bit diferent (Dont know ever worked with that company).
27th May 2010, 03:45 PM   |  #6  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
33 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
Yes,IMEI change is illegal but i just want to repair to the original.
Half year ago,I breaked my phone,then I sent it to a repairer.When it fixed,its IMEI has been changed.
27th May 2010, 05:29 PM   |  #7  
silvertag's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Montreal
Thanks Meter: 179
 
749 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by imake

Yes,IMEI change is illegal but i just want to repair to the original.
Half year ago,I breaked my phone,then I sent it to a repairer.When it fixed,its IMEI has been changed.


You can't*... the reason is the imei is based on the phone motherboard. Since they, most probably, changed your motherboard in the repair shop you can't have the old imei as it's no longer that motherboard that is in your phone. You must live with the new imei from your new motherboard.

*Yes there are tools but changing imei is illegal in many states and countries.
Last edited by silvertag; 27th May 2010 at 05:32 PM.
28th May 2010, 03:44 AM   |  #8  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
33 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
I found someone has the same IMEI,so I cannot paly world war game.This online game use IMEI to identify palyers.
Actually,I just want to get a software which can running on android to fake IMEI ,so I can paly this game.
By the way,in my country,change IMEI is not illegal,no one care about it.
Last edited by imake; 28th May 2010 at 03:51 AM.
28th May 2010, 05:50 AM   |  #9  
Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 3
 
77 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
More
I have never heard of any company besides your manufacturer. Or provider having a legitimate reason to know or need your imei and there is a slim to zero chance you will be able to change your imei like everyone says the only reason to change your imei. Is to hide something
28th May 2010, 06:47 AM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
16 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
There's really NO reason to change IMEI. just be happy with the new one. lol.

As a note to everyone, I WARN YOU TO NOT CHANGE YOUR IMEI! IT'S NOT WORTH IT!!!

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes