Mural Watchface Brings 500px to Android Wear

On a traditional watch, you can’t really do too much to change its appearance once … more

Android 5.0 Favorite Features, Release November 3rd? – XDA TV

Google Confirms Android 5.0 Lollipop for November 3rd! That and much more … more

Prepare Your Build Machines: Ubuntu 14.10 Utopic Unicorn Now Official

Today is an important day for any and all Linux enthusiasts. One of the … more

Track the Time You Waste on Social Media with Socials Addict

When you use your phone, you often don’t even realize how much time you … more
Post Reply

How to change IMEI?

OP imake

27th May 2010, 06:31 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
33 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
I want to change the IMEI of my htc.
How to do that?
27th May 2010, 06:34 AM   |  #2  
NguyenHuu's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Northern California
Thanks Meter: 110
 
1,689 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
Donate to Me
More
i'm pretty sure that is illegal. only the manufacturer can do it legally and its not a service they offer. its something they do if like they take back phones and refurb them and resell.
27th May 2010, 07:07 AM   |  #3  
Draken Korin's Avatar
Retired Senior Moderator
Thanks Meter: 121
 
2,430 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
that is indeed prohibited in most countries
what is your motivation?

Mod. edit: not dev related, moved to general
Last edited by Draken Korin; 27th May 2010 at 11:07 AM.
27th May 2010, 07:52 AM   |  #4  
decepticon's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Backwoods Louisiana
Thanks Meter: 89
 
947 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2004
More
One reason in the US would be to trick AT&T into thinking the phone is a regular phone so you can get on the cheaper data plan.
27th May 2010, 09:05 AM   |  #5  
jgcaap's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Porto
Thanks Meter: 1,024
 
2,971 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
Donate to Me
More
but that doenst work like that. At least in portugal, you have APN wich you configure to use one server on another. For instance a blackberry uses net2.vodafone.pt , if we change to internet.vodafone.pt it becomes cheaper the use of a blackberry . Just the client doenst know about it... I'm sure is same thing in the US unless is a CMDA company things must be a bit diferent (Dont know ever worked with that company).
27th May 2010, 02:45 PM   |  #6  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
33 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
Yes,IMEI change is illegal but i just want to repair to the original.
Half year ago,I breaked my phone,then I sent it to a repairer.When it fixed,its IMEI has been changed.
27th May 2010, 04:29 PM   |  #7  
silvertag's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Montreal
Thanks Meter: 179
 
749 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by imake

Yes,IMEI change is illegal but i just want to repair to the original.
Half year ago,I breaked my phone,then I sent it to a repairer.When it fixed,its IMEI has been changed.


You can't*... the reason is the imei is based on the phone motherboard. Since they, most probably, changed your motherboard in the repair shop you can't have the old imei as it's no longer that motherboard that is in your phone. You must live with the new imei from your new motherboard.

*Yes there are tools but changing imei is illegal in many states and countries.
Last edited by silvertag; 27th May 2010 at 04:32 PM.
28th May 2010, 02:44 AM   |  #8  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
33 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
I found someone has the same IMEI,so I cannot paly world war game.This online game use IMEI to identify palyers.
Actually,I just want to get a software which can running on android to fake IMEI ,so I can paly this game.
By the way,in my country,change IMEI is not illegal,no one care about it.
Last edited by imake; 28th May 2010 at 02:51 AM.
28th May 2010, 04:50 AM   |  #9  
Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 2
 
72 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
More
I have never heard of any company besides your manufacturer. Or provider having a legitimate reason to know or need your imei and there is a slim to zero chance you will be able to change your imei like everyone says the only reason to change your imei. Is to hide something
28th May 2010, 05:47 AM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
16 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
There's really NO reason to change IMEI. just be happy with the new one. lol.

As a note to everyone, I WARN YOU TO NOT CHANGE YOUR IMEI! IT'S NOT WORTH IT!!!

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes