FORUMS

ZenFone 2 Lolliflash and ZenPower Giveaway!

We recently did an in-depth review of the Asus Zenfone 2 but one of the things people may … more

OnePlus 2 Forums: Discuss Everything About The OP2!

Now that the OnePlus 2 has been officially unveiled and that we have had close-up … more

Intel & Micron Announce “Revolutionary” Storage Tech

Intel & Micron have announced 3D Xpoint technology—”the … more

Google Now Interfaces With Third-Party Messaging Apps

Google has announced that Ok Google voice commands can now be used to send … more

How to change IMEI?

33 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By imake, Member on 27th May 2010, 06:31 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I want to change the IMEI of my htc.
How to do that?
 
 
27th May 2010, 06:34 AM |#2  
NguyenHuu's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Northern California
Thanks Meter: 110
 
Donate to Me
More
i'm pretty sure that is illegal. only the manufacturer can do it legally and its not a service they offer. its something they do if like they take back phones and refurb them and resell.
27th May 2010, 07:07 AM |#3  
Draken Korin's Avatar
Retired Senior Moderator
Thanks Meter: 124
 
More
that is indeed prohibited in most countries
what is your motivation?

Mod. edit: not dev related, moved to general
Last edited by Draken Korin; 27th May 2010 at 11:07 AM.
27th May 2010, 07:52 AM |#4  
decepticon's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Backwoods Louisiana
Thanks Meter: 89
 
More
One reason in the US would be to trick AT&T into thinking the phone is a regular phone so you can get on the cheaper data plan.
27th May 2010, 09:05 AM |#5  
jgcaap's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Porto
Thanks Meter: 3,365
 
Donate to Me
More
but that doenst work like that. At least in portugal, you have APN wich you configure to use one server on another. For instance a blackberry uses net2.vodafone.pt , if we change to internet.vodafone.pt it becomes cheaper the use of a blackberry . Just the client doenst know about it... I'm sure is same thing in the US unless is a CMDA company things must be a bit diferent (Dont know ever worked with that company).
27th May 2010, 02:45 PM |#6  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Yes,IMEI change is illegal but i just want to repair to the original.
Half year ago,I breaked my phone,then I sent it to a repairer.When it fixed,its IMEI has been changed.
27th May 2010, 04:29 PM |#7  
silvertag's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Montreal
Thanks Meter: 185
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by imake

Yes,IMEI change is illegal but i just want to repair to the original.
Half year ago,I breaked my phone,then I sent it to a repairer.When it fixed,its IMEI has been changed.


You can't*... the reason is the imei is based on the phone motherboard. Since they, most probably, changed your motherboard in the repair shop you can't have the old imei as it's no longer that motherboard that is in your phone. You must live with the new imei from your new motherboard.

*Yes there are tools but changing imei is illegal in many states and countries.
Last edited by silvertag; 27th May 2010 at 04:32 PM.
28th May 2010, 02:44 AM |#8  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I found someone has the same IMEI,so I cannot paly world war game.This online game use IMEI to identify palyers.
Actually,I just want to get a software which can running on android to fake IMEI ,so I can paly this game.
By the way,in my country,change IMEI is not illegal,no one care about it.
Last edited by imake; 28th May 2010 at 02:51 AM.
28th May 2010, 04:50 AM |#9  
Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
I have never heard of any company besides your manufacturer. Or provider having a legitimate reason to know or need your imei and there is a slim to zero chance you will be able to change your imei like everyone says the only reason to change your imei. Is to hide something
28th May 2010, 05:47 AM |#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
There's really NO reason to change IMEI. just be happy with the new one. lol.

As a note to everyone, I WARN YOU TO NOT CHANGE YOUR IMEI! IT'S NOT WORTH IT!!!
28th May 2010, 07:01 AM |#11  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I just want to repair it to the original.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes