5,605,250 Members 38,094 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

app2sd workin on telus milestone

Tip us?
 
gemini002
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 105
Posts: 1,215
Join Date: May 2008
Default app2sd workin on telus milestone

wow i got app2sd working on my telus milestone make sure that busybox is not installed on the system i mean when u use adb to install not busybox itself (from titanium etc) if the method does not work unroot then root the try it will work.
i did not create this i have just copied and pasted it i know alot of people need this so here

. App2SD Version 2 (http://www.mediafire.com/?emhyw4tmkmh)
This revised version of App2SD is more refine. It moves cache as well as apps to MicroSD.

Steps to prepare for installation:
1. Unzip the downloaded file and you should see a folder "APP2SD Package".
2. Rename "APP2SD Package" folder to "app2sd" and move this folder to MicroSD. (place it in the root: MicroSD card/)

Next, simply connect the Milestone to your computer.
Ensure it is "Charge Only" for USB connection and USB Debugging mode for USB is turned on under Settings > Applications > Development.
Once you have the above checked, go ahead to launch a command prompt and perform the following:

Type: cd/ (to get to the root of your C: drive)
Type: cd /android/tools (to get to the folder of the Android SDK which i mentioned earlier)
Type: adb devices (you should see your Milestone serial number showing up. If you do not see serial number, it means there is no connection to your Milestone)
Type: adb shell
Type: su (make sure you do not see a prompt window on your Milestone. If you do, grant permission for it to access)
Type: cd /sdcard/app2sd
Type: sh install_use_busybox.sh (trigger installation of App2SD)
Type: y (to confirm that you want to install)
wait for the prompt to show you that App2SD is complete and a reboot is needed for it to take effect.
Type: y (to confirm reboot. You might notice that Milestone do not reboot by self which is normal)
Type: reboot (if you find Milestone do not reboot after you enter y as above mentioned)

Enjoy after the reboot... this works yes
 
gemini002
Old
#2  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 105
Posts: 1,215
Join Date: May 2008
u can type ls -l /data to see if it works
 
kittcoldfire
Old
#3  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 54
Join Date: Aug 2009
hey I'm just about to do the apps2sd for my milestone and was wondering which partitions if any did you make for the SD card? thanks

I'm assuming it needs at least ext2 and I'm about to set mine up with ext3, just want to make sure so I don't screw anything up

also just wanted to say if you haven't overclocked your milestone, definitely do it, just did mine yesterday, running at 1ghz and it is so amazing, downloads are insane, browser is quick and menus and everything are perfect, eat that X10
 
gemini002
Old
#4  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 105
Posts: 1,215
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by kittcoldfire View Post
hey I'm just about to do the apps2sd for my milestone and was wondering which partitions if any did you make for the SD card? thanks

I'm assuming it needs at least ext2 and I'm about to set mine up with ext3, just want to make sure so I don't screw anything up

also just wanted to say if you haven't overclocked your milestone, definitely do it, just did mine yesterday, running at 1ghz and it is so amazing, downloads are insane, browser is quick and menus and everything are perfect, eat that X10
haha ya i overclocked it but I do not go over 800mhz to risky plus gets pretty hot.
I made a ext 2 partion using unbuntu,.......partionmanager said it was partioned but would not work,app2sd did not see it. u can try it though but i recommend unbuntu let me know what happens
 
kittcoldfire
Old
#5  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 54
Join Date: Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by gemini002 View Post
haha ya i overclocked it but I do not go over 800mhz to risky plus gets pretty hot.
I made a ext 2 partion using unbuntu,.......partionmanager said it was partioned but would not work,app2sd did not see it. u can try it though but i recommend unbuntu let me know what happens
so I got it all running, partitioned with ext3, it seems to be working but it didn't push any of my existing apps over to the SD card, do you know if there's a script to do this? Or do I have to uninstall each and reinstall them? (tested that way and they seem to go to the SD card then)
 
gemini002
Old
#6  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 105
Posts: 1,215
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by kittcoldfire View Post
so I got it all running, partitioned with ext3, it seems to be working but it didn't push any of my existing apps over to the SD card, do you know if there's a script to do this? Or do I have to uninstall each and reinstall them? (tested that way and they seem to go to the SD card then)
ya uninstall reinstall had to do that too but hey it works
 
kittcoldfire
Old
#7  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 54
Join Date: Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by gemini002 View Post
ya uninstall reinstall had to do that too but hey it works
I had to reinstall everything and i rooted and did everything exactly the same way as i did before, but now for some reason it won't let me install the apps to sd... here's the errors I get

warnning/system/bin/busybox'exists,use -f to overwrite
warnning'/system/lib/modules/ext2.ko'exists,use -f to overwrite insmod: can't insert '/system/lib/modulesext2/ko':File exists
mkdir failed for /system/sd, File exists
mount: mounting /dev/block/mmcblk0p2 on /system/sd failed: device or resource busy
sorry, mount sd ext2 fail!!!!!


what the heck does this mean? how can i fix this?

I partitioned the sd card as... (16gb) 14.something gb fat32, 1gb ext3, 32mb linux swap
 
gemini002
Old
#8  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 105
Posts: 1,215
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by kittcoldfire View Post
I had to reinstall everything and i rooted and did everything exactly the same way as i did before, but now for some reason it won't let me install the apps to sd... here's the errors I get

warnning/system/bin/busybox'exists,use -f to overwrite
warnning'/system/lib/modules/ext2.ko'exists,use -f to overwrite insmod: can't insert '/system/lib/modulesext2/ko':File exists
mkdir failed for /system/sd, File exists
mount: mounting /dev/block/mmcblk0p2 on /system/sd failed: device or resource busy
sorry, mount sd ext2 fail!!!!!


what the heck does this mean? how can i fix this?

I partitioned the sd card as... (16gb) 14.something gb fat32, 1gb ext3, 32mb linux swap
busy box cannot be installed i had this error at first too .well u dont need linux swap so get rid of it what did u use to partion sd card i use unbuntu all other partioned card but it would not work only worked when i used unbuntu .unroot download open recovery 1.05(google it)root with open recovery and try again
 
kittcoldfire
Old
#9  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 54
Join Date: Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by gemini002 View Post
busy box cannot be installed i had this error at first too .well u dont need linux swap so get rid of it what did u use to partion sd card i use unbuntu all other partioned card but it would not work only worked when i used unbuntu .unroot download open recovery 1.05(google it)root with open recovery and try again
yeah it's okay, this morning I sat down with it and put on my programming hat and went through the script and modified it enough to make it fix all the errors I was getting, so I've got it all done, nice 144mb of free space on the phone, and back to overclocked, and everything is running nice and smooth!!
 
gemini002
Old
#10  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 105
Posts: 1,215
Join Date: May 2008
glad u got it working ...im I right about busybox causing the errors?

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Cloupload is a Beautiful and Fully Functional CloudApp Client for Android

If you’re a Mac OS X user who frequently uploads screenshots, … more

Microsoft Finally Brings Remote Desktop to Windows Phone

You may recall that back in October of last year, Microsoft released itsofficial … more

SideControl Gains New Powers through Xposed

You may recall that a little overa month ago, we first talked about SideCutsby XDA Forum … more

Leak Points to Windows Start Menu’s Return as Soon as August

About a month ago at this year’s Build conference, Microsoft … more