Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,812,386 Members 38,559 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[NewMethod][MOD][PATCH]CM5.0.7/8 AnySPL (NoneDanger) [2010-06-23]

Tip us?
 
Firerat
Old
(Last edited by Firerat; 23rd June 2010 at 04:54 PM.) Reason: Added 5.0.8 Final
#1  
Account currently disabled - OP
Thanks Meter 193
Posts: 3,848
Join Date: Feb 2009

 
DONATE TO ME
Default [NewMethod][MOD][PATCH]CM5.0.7/8 AnySPL (NoneDanger) [2010-06-23]

OK , quick post

Firstly, this is not my work...
Full credit to Cyanogen & Co, please see CM5.0.7 OP for the full credits, and Donation links.
And no I do not have a donate link myself, yes I could make one but I'm not about to. Honestly my changes are minimal.

I would also like to credit Speedysilwady for his [HOW-TO] Make ANY ROM fit on Stock/Any SPL thread, and lbcoder for inspiring him to create that thread.

What is it?
This is simply CM5.0.8 patched to flash on a None Danger SPL G1
  • HardSPL -VER: HSPL 10.95.3000
  • Engineering SPL - VER: HBOOT- 0.95.3000
  • Original SPL - VER: HBOOT- 0.95.0000
BUT, my goal was to keep it compatible with Danger and MT3G ( which I have done )

Why?
  • because I use NoneDangerSPL. Personally I believe its better for Huge bloated Sense ROMs ( via cachehack )
  • Some don't wish to flash Danger for fear of bricking.
  • Danger SPL will also complicate things for QWERTZ keyboard users, where they have to manually 'patch' the keyboard files to get proper support for QWERTZ
  • I don't have anything to back this up as yet, but since I don't have any USB mount/ADB issues, and have not been able to replicate them I believe DangerSPL might be a factor ( but as yet I don't understand why ), _but_ as I said I have nothing to back this theory up with

################################################## ####################
Quick instructions
  1. Nand + ext backup
  2. Wipe <-- that is up to you, if you don't and it goes all screwy... wipe everything
  3. flash FR-CM-5.0.8-DS-AnySPL_S.zip
  4. assuming you want/need google addon flash Google Addon: ERE36B from CM5.0.8 OP
  5. Magic 32A/EBI1 users should flash the kernel update in CM5.0.8 OP
################################################## ####################
Experimental
Credit for this goes to Lbcoder and his excellent Custom partition layouts, ZERO brick risk! thread
I have posted full instructions here http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...91#post6916491
no sense in me just repeating it
go check it out
NB, it is experimental, but I've had it working well for a day or two now
################################################## ####################

notes,
  • Clockwork Recovery / ROM Manager
never used this myself, but from posts in the CM forum it seems most people with flashing problems were using that, personally I use RA 1.7.0
  • flashing RA 1.7.0 ( or any recovery )
*do not*, I repeat *do not* flash recovery ( or boot ) via CM5.0.7 ( flash_image or ROM Manager ), use fastboot or recovery.
  • is RA 1.7.0 needed?
Nope,
far too many people think RA <= 1.6.2 is incompatible with CM5. The fact is CM5 is incompatible.
But I have the install script create the legacy sd mount point ( /system/sd ) which makes CM5 compatible with RA <= 1.6.2... so you don't need to worry about it, just laugh at anyone that tells you that you *must* update to 1.7.0
  • SWAP
ahh swap, I like swap *but* in CM5 it behaves very different to what we all knew and loved.. don't keep posting about it... maybe one day I will look at the kernel and try and revert it, but I fear we would lose the 'good stuff'
  • A2SD
A2SD changed in CM5, its not on by default turn it on via Settings --> Applications
What is different in AnySPL and Stock CM5.0.8?
short answer, the least I could get away with
Better answer,
two 'bug' fixes common to all SPL's ( Danger, mt3g and all of the NoneDanger SPLs ) + a 'make it fit' thing...
  1. /system/sd mount point ( for older recovery images )
  2. fix_permissions script ( the stock CM5.0.8 is still checking /system/sd I 'patched' it to check /sd-ext )
  3. /system/xbin is a sqf ( squash fs, had to do this to make it all fit NoneDanger, basically tests1->7 had an xbin.sqf, no idea why final doesn't )
  4. kernel modules now squashfs ( 5.0.8 Final )


None Danger SPL
as well as the above
  • redirect /system/media/bootanimation.zip to /data/local/
  • redirect all google apps from /system/app/ to /data/gapps/
  • bind mount /cache/dalvik-cache to /data/dalvik-cache*
* since we have a large cache partition on NoneDanger SPL it makes sense to do this
NB This is Not CacheHack, CacheHack involves mounting the /cache partition somewhere in the system folder, like it was system. It is not worth doing this with CM5 ( for one the space one cache is more useful for dalvik-cache )

Going further..
I have an 'all in one' patch which can be used to 'enhance' CM5 a little, just a couple of workarounds for Live Wallpapers and the Market Version of Facebook

Posts to this thread
Please try to keep the posts in this thread relevant to its target, i.e. NoneDanger SPLs
General CM5 comments should go to CM5.0.7/8 OP
However, I am particularly interested in knowing if anyone has any loss of USB connectivity which requires a reboot to resolve. That seems to be a common problem with CM5, yet I have not experienced it and I wonder if it has anything to do with me not using Danger SPL
Oh, swap.. don't clutter up CM5.0.7/8 thread with swap questions, instead have your say here

Lastly, enjoy, this is a great ROM, all thanks to Cyanogen & Co

Historic Links

FR-CM-5.0.8-DS-test1-AnySPL_S.zip
FR-CM-5.0.7-DS-AnySPL_S.zip
FR-CM5test4-4AnySPL_S.zip
FR-CM5test5-4AnySPL_S.zip
FR-CM5test6-4AnySPL_S.zip
FR-CM5test7-4AnySPL_S.zip
 
Firerat
Old
(Last edited by Firerat; 1st June 2010 at 03:19 AM.)
#2  
Account currently disabled - OP
Thanks Meter 193
Posts: 3,848
Join Date: Feb 2009

 
DONATE TO ME
Default How I made CM5 NoneDanger Flashable

Its quite simple really, I get the updater-script to run a script which figures out if the phone is NoneDanger, then makes so symlinks to redirect the google apps/bootanimation.zip

I inserted the bold into the updater script
Code:
show_progress(0.200000, 10);
ui_print("Installing system...");
format("MTD", "system");
ui_print("Check for NoneDangerSPL...");
package_extract_file("InstallPrep.sh", "/tmp/InstallPrep.sh");
set_perm(0, 0, 0777, "/tmp/InstallPrep.sh");
run_program("/tmp/InstallPrep.sh");
ui_print("Check for NoneDangerSPL complete");
mount("MTD", "system", "/system");
show_progress(0.500000, 40);
and this is the script which runs
( I'll come back and add some comments to it.. maybe )
InstallPrep.sh
Code:
#!/sbin/sh

gogogo ()
{
mount /cache
Block4=`df |grep block4|awk '$0 { print $2 }'|head -n1`
if [ `expr $Block4 \/ 1024` -lt "67" ];
then
	Danger
elif [ `expr $Block4 \/ 1024` -gt "67" ];
then
	MT3G
else
	NoneDanger
fi
}


PrepBase ()
{
	mount /system
	if [ ! -d /system/sd ];
	then
		mkdir /system/sd
	fi
	mount -a
return
}	

banner ()
{
if [ ! -d /system/etc/init.d ];
then
	install -d /system/etc/init.d
fi

cat > /system/etc/init.d/00ndbanner << "EOF"
#!/system/bin/sh
#
# indicate tainted
L="log -p i -t cm"
$L "
    )                (                                
 ( /(                )\ )                             
 )\())            ( (()/(     )       (  (    (  (    
((_)\  (   (     ))\ /(_)) ( /(  (    )\))(  ))\ )(   
 _((_) )\  )\ ) /((_|_))_  )(_)) )\ )((_))\ /((_|()\  
| \| |((_)_(_/((_))  |   \((_)_ _(_/( (()(_|_))  ((_) 
| .\` / _ \ ' \)) -_) | |) / _\` | ' \)) _\` |/ -_)| '_| 
|_|\_\___/_||_|\___| |___/\__,_|_||_|\__, |\___||_|   
                                     |___/"
EOF
chmod 700 /system/etc/init.d/00ndbanner
return
}


Danger ()
{
PrepBase
echo "no action required"
return
}

MT3G ()
{
PrepBase
echo "no action required"
return
}

NoneDanger ()
{
PrepBase
install -d /data/local
install -d /system/media
for i in bootanimation.zip;do
	ln -s /data/local/$i /system/media/$i
done
mkdir /data/gapps
install -d /system/app
for i in BugReport.apk EnhancedGoogleSearchProvider.apk GenieWidget.apk Gmail.apk GmailProvider.apk GoogleApps.apk GoogleBackupTransport.apk GoogleCheckin.apk GoogleContactsSyncAdapter.apk GooglePartnerSetup.apk GoogleSettingsProvider.apk GoogleSubscribedFeedsProvider.apk gtalkservice.apk LatinImeTutorial.apk Maps.apk MarketUpdater.apk MediaUploader.apk NetworkLocation.apk PassionQuickOffice.apk SetupWizard.apk Street.apk Talk.apk TalkProvider.apk Vending.apk VoiceSearch.apk YouTube.apk Gallery.apk;do
	ln -s /data/gapps/$i /system/app/$i
done
cat > /dev/10bind-dc << "EOF"
#!/system/bin/sh
if [ -e /cache/dalvik-cache ] && [ ! -d /cache/dalvik-cache ];
then
    rm /cache/dalvik-cache
fi

if [ ! -d /cache/dalvik-cache ];
then
    install -m 771 -o 1000 -g 1000 -d /cache/dalvik-cache
fi

rm /data/dalvik-cache/*
busybox mount -o bind /cache/dalvik-cache /data/dalvik-cache
EOF
install -m 700 -D /dev/10bind-dc /system/etc/init.d/10bind-dc
banner 
return
}

# ok, lets start
gogogo
exit 0
 
Firerat
Old
#3  
Account currently disabled - OP
Thanks Meter 193
Posts: 3,848
Join Date: Feb 2009

 
DONATE TO ME
this is for, I don't know , maybe more stuff I guess
 
FatBoyExtraordinaire
Old
#4  
FatBoyExtraordinaire's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 1,584
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Philadelphia
Firerat, any plans to do your thing to other CM5 based roms like Superbad or Super E like you did with the original and Cannon's?
Phone: T-Mobile Samsung Galaxy S3
Rooted: Yes
MicroSDHC: T-Mobile 16GB Class 6
Android Version: 4.1.2 (Jellybean)
 
Firerat
Old
#5  
Account currently disabled - OP
Thanks Meter 193
Posts: 3,848
Join Date: Feb 2009

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by FatBoyExtraordinaire View Post
Firerat, any plans to do your thing to other CM5 based roms like Superbad or Super E like you did with the original and Cannon's?
nope, I have no plans to install every themed CM5 ROM
but
Post #2 has everything that is required to make an AnySPL version

the InstallPrep.sh script may need a little bit of tweaking if much has been added to /system
 
Firerat
Old
#6  
Account currently disabled - OP
Thanks Meter 193
Posts: 3,848
Join Date: Feb 2009

 
DONATE TO ME
CM5.0.8 test 1 added
 
FatBoyExtraordinaire
Old
(Last edited by FatBoyExtraordinaire; 4th June 2010 at 01:55 PM.) Reason: typos
#7  
FatBoyExtraordinaire's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 1,584
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Philadelphia
Quote:
Originally Posted by Firerat View Post
nope, I have no plans to install every themed CM5 ROM
but
Post #2 has everything that is required to make an AnySPL version

the InstallPrep.sh script may need a little bit of tweaking if much has been added to /system
Nor did I expect you to, before long there will be about 15 different offshoots of CM. I just wanted to know if I should be adding this thread to my other XDA bookmarks just in case you decided to do any updates or test out other roms. Appreciations.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Firerat View Post
CM5.0.8 test 1 added
And that's why I bookmarked the thread! Thank you so very kindly.
Phone: T-Mobile Samsung Galaxy S3
Rooted: Yes
MicroSDHC: T-Mobile 16GB Class 6
Android Version: 4.1.2 (Jellybean)
 
elfasito
Old
(Last edited by elfasito; 5th June 2010 at 06:58 AM.)
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 134
Join Date: Mar 2010
FC (in g1), sounds are audible in the front speaker (low sound) , in experimental 5.0.8 and FR-CM-5.0.7-DS-AnySPL_S.
This may be the cause?
 
can teh man
Old
(Last edited by can teh man; 5th June 2010 at 03:31 PM.) Reason: editing out cursing
#9  
can teh man's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 26
Posts: 169
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Michigan
I registered to post this here.

Flashed the rom, lovin it.

Running FR-CM-5.0.7-DS-AnySPL

I'm having the same as elfasito.

Sound comes from front earpiece speaker, rear speaker does not work

Quote:
Originally Posted by elfasito View Post
FC (in g1), sounds are audible in the front speaker (low sound) , in experimental 5.0.8 and FR-CM-5.0.7-DS-AnySPL_S.
This may be the cause?
I can confirm that audio is messed up on FR-CM5test6-4AnySPL_S.zip as well.

This isn't really a dealbreaker, but it certainly is annoying. If you could fix this, I will donate to either you or Cyanogen, your choice Dev.
 
Firerat
Old
#10  
Account currently disabled - OP
Thanks Meter 193
Posts: 3,848
Join Date: Feb 2009

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Firerat View Post
Posts to this thread
Please try to keep the posts in this thread relevant to its target, i.e. NoneDanger SPLs
General CM5 comments should go to CM5.0.7 OP
However, I am particularly interested in knowing if anyone has any loss of USB connectivity which requires a reboot to resolve. That seems to be a common problem with CM5, yet I have not experienced it and I wonder if it has anything to do with me not using Danger SPL
Oh, swap.. don't clutter up CM5.0.7 thread with swap questions, instead have your say here
Quote:
Originally Posted by elfasito View Post
FC (in g1), sounds are audible in the front speaker (low sound) , in experimental 5.0.8 and FR-CM-5.0.7-DS-AnySPL_S.
This may be the cause?
Quote:
Originally Posted by can teh man View Post
I registered to post this here.

Flashed the rom, lovin it.

Running FR-CM-5.0.7-DS-AnySPL

I'm having the same as elfasito.

Sound comes from front earpiece speaker, rear speaker does not work
has nothing to do with the redirection of bootanimation.zip or the google apps

Tags
anyspl, cm5.0.7, danger, firerat, nonedanger
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes