Lockdown Pro 2 Brings Material Design and Media Support

Back in March of this year, we took a look at a rather innovated security application … more

Mural Watchface Brings 500px to Android Wear

On a traditional watch, you can’t really do too much to change its appearance once … more

Android 5.0 Favorite Features, Release November 3rd? – XDA TV

Google Confirms Android 5.0 Lollipop for November 3rd! That and much more … more

Prepare Your Build Machines: Ubuntu 14.10 Utopic Unicorn Now Official

Today is an important day for any and all Linux enthusiasts. One of the … more
Post Reply

[APP] 4G Toggle Widget v1.2 (6/18) - w/Sense disabled + SOURCE

OP rdude

4th June 2010, 07:37 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 42
 
95 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2006
Donate to Me
More
Hey all,

Just got my EVO. I've disabled Sense because I like the regular Android interface (love my Nexus One). One thing I've noticed is that the 4G toggle widget is not available with Sense off.

Does anyone know of a 4G toggle widget for non-Sense users? If not I'll probably throw one together this weekend, but if there's already one out there I'd like to avoid the work (laziness for the win ;)

Thanks.

UPDATE (6/14): Really close to done on this. Hoping to have it released tonight or tomorrow. Will keep you guys posted.

UPDATE (6/15):
Alright, got this done and it's working! Just install the attached APK and add the widget to your home screen. If you'd like to donate or are too lazy to download an APK, I added it to the market for a 99-cent donation:



Glad to be able to give back to the community after so long. I'd just ask you to please not distribute this APK elsewhere. Thanks!

UPDATE (6/19):
For anyone who wants to reskin or modify this widget, or is just curious about how it works, I've released the source here:
http://code.google.com/p/toggle4g/

This of course means it is now open source and yours to muck with and distribute freely (within the limits of the license).

UPDATE (6/20):
There seems to be a bug where the widget may turn your 4G back on after a reboot, even if it was off when you shut down. I'm looking into it but in the meantime, just be aware that this may occur.

Changelog (last update 6/18)
- v1.2: completely redid widget icon, added toast on toggle.
- v1.1: fixed centering, widget is slightly larger now too.
Attached Files
File Type: apk com.rrsllc.toggle4g.apk - [Click for QR Code] (30.4 KB, 3765 views)
Last edited by rdude; 20th June 2010 at 10:21 PM.
4th June 2010, 08:15 PM   |  #2  
Recognized Developer
Flag Walnutport, PA
Thanks Meter: 41
 
1,086 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdude

Hey all,

Just got my EVO. I've disabled Sense because I like the regular Android interface (love my Nexus One). One thing I've noticed is that the 4G toggle widget is not available with Sense off.

Does anyone know of a 4G toggle widget for non-Sense users? If not I'll probably throw one together this weekend, but if there's already one out there I'd like to avoid the work (laziness for the win ;)

Thanks.

I don't believe this exists at all. I've never seen one.
4th June 2010, 09:20 PM   |  #3  
phinnaeus's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 6
 
251 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Donate to Me
More
Did someone say mod the Power Control widget? Hmm, yes, I'm almost certain someone did.

So who knows how to make widgets?
5th June 2010, 03:52 AM   |  #4  
MetroKnight's Avatar
Member
Flag New Jersey
Thanks Meter: 0
 
95 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdude

Hey all,

Just got my EVO. I've disabled Sense because I like the regular Android interface (love my Nexus One). One thing I've noticed is that the 4G toggle widget is not available with Sense off.

Does anyone know of a 4G toggle widget for non-Sense users? If not I'll probably throw one together this weekend, but if there's already one out there I'd like to avoid the work (laziness for the win ;)

Thanks.

Sorry, I'm not really contributing here, but think it's ironic that you have "laziness" and "FTW" typed out!
8th June 2010, 03:29 AM   |  #5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
30 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Man I hope you can put this out soon. We NEED a 4g toggle.
8th June 2010, 12:24 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag Raleigh
Thanks Meter: 8
 
222 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
More
I agree, I just activated my Evo yesterday and I love it! but like many of you I decided to ditch Sense in favor of something lighter (for battery life, and I like helix) but there isn't a 4G toggle anywhere someone help!
8th June 2010, 08:54 PM   |  #7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
30 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Add me to the list hoping for a toggle. While I'm at it, anyone know how to get the stock dialer and calendar on the EVO? I really don't like sense.
8th June 2010, 10:02 PM   |  #8  
OP Member
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 42
 
95 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2006
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by yeahthatsme

Add me to the list hoping for a toggle. While I'm at it, anyone know how to get the stock dialer and calendar on the EVO? I really don't like sense.

Yeah, I would prefer stock dialer, calendar, and contacts as well. But unfortunately those are baked into the build so you can't just replace them. You'll have to wait for a clean ROM.
8th June 2010, 10:33 PM   |  #9  
bhagiratha's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag New York
Thanks Meter: 7
 
342 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdude

Hey all,

Just got my EVO. I've disabled Sense because I like the regular Android interface (love my Nexus One). One thing I've noticed is that the 4G toggle widget is not available with Sense off.

Does anyone know of a 4G toggle widget for non-Sense users? If not I'll probably throw one together this weekend, but if there's already one out there I'd like to avoid the work (laziness for the win ;)

Thanks.

How do you disable the sense interface, and can it be re-enable later on?
9th June 2010, 02:01 PM   |  #10  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
30 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
bhagiratha I used androidcental's youtube step by step as I am a Android noob. I sent you the link privately, it wouldn't let me post a link in here.

Hurry up Froyo, that will solve a lot of issues for me.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes