Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[SOLVED] here is copy of an adfree hosts file, and where to put it

OP timothydonohue

5th June 2010, 12:15 AM   |  #1  
timothydonohue's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Portland, Maine
Thanks Meter: 115
 
1,534 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
More
i tried to get adfree to work using the supersonic rooted ROM, and managed to allow it root access, but it barfed every other time i try to run it, and when it doesn't barf, it forces a system reboot.

after doing some searching, i found a solution. at least for those of us with rooted evos. not sure if you other folks could push it or not, since it writes to /system
Last edited by timothydonohue; 5th June 2010 at 07:32 PM.
5th June 2010, 02:46 AM   |  #2  
timothydonohue's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Portland, Maine
Thanks Meter: 115
 
1,534 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
More
okay, for anyone that also hates ads, i found this thread that has a hosts file.

i did have a copy of that file. but i updated in the reply below (thanks phiqtion for the original!)

the way i got it to work was DL the hosts file, unzipped it, put it in my sdk/tools folder, then

adb reboot recovery

*i ran maejrep/flipz/pauls recovery bat file*

adb shell
# mount /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system
# exit
adb push hosts /system/etc
adb reboot


and voila! no more ads

of course, if anyone has a functioning copy of adfree and a more up to date hosts file, please post!

*note - i am running toastcfm's rooted pc36img ROM now, because the supersonic kept throwing up. but, this probably will not work if you are not rooted.
Last edited by timothydonohue; 5th June 2010 at 07:30 PM.
5th June 2010, 07:29 PM   |  #3  
timothydonohue's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Portland, Maine
Thanks Meter: 115
 
1,534 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
More
updated hosts file HERE

thanks mediocrehippie!
13th June 2010, 07:35 AM   |  #4  
colorado_al's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 79
 
525 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
More
Here's one for you:
When I use an ad free hosts file on my EVO and I connect to the internet on my PC via the EVO and Android WiFi tether, it blocks ads on my PC browser as well!
Sweet!
22nd June 2010, 01:53 AM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
19 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
you can put it in your computer and will block them even if you dont connect through your evo.
1st August 2010, 04:22 AM   |  #6  
kushdeck's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag kila kali
Thanks Meter: 3,148
 
497 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2007
Donate to Me
More
here is a copy of the latest hosts file from 7/31

-deck
Attached Files
File Type: zip hosts.zip - [Click for QR Code] (135.1 KB, 437 views)
1st August 2010, 05:39 AM   |  #7  
herbthehammer's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 51
 
928 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Hmm. I've been doing it with root explorer. Copy the hosts file to /system/etc and over write existing file, then reboot. I think some off the new progs are pushing ads to us in other ways that the hosts file doesn't come into play with.

Sent from my PC36100 using XDA App
12th August 2010, 09:10 AM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
467 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
this needs root, no?
3rd September 2010, 04:33 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Flag brisbane
Thanks Meter: 7
 
262 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by herbthehammer

Hmm. I've been doing it with root explorer. Copy the hosts file to /system/etc and over write existing file, then reboot. I think some off the new progs are pushing ads to us in other ways that the hosts file doesn't come into play with.

Sent from my PC36100 using XDA App

when i try to do this it says there is not enough available memory. any thoughts?
3rd September 2010, 10:52 PM   |  #10  
Death-M0nk's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Canton
Thanks Meter: 18
 
117 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
More
I just used the hosts file from:
someonewhocares.org/hosts/
He updates is very regularly, I haven't seen an add get by yet.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes