FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

[SOLVED] here is copy of an adfree hosts file, and where to put it

1,546 posts
Thanks Meter: 122
 
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
i tried to get adfree to work using the supersonic rooted ROM, and managed to allow it root access, but it barfed every other time i try to run it, and when it doesn't barf, it forces a system reboot.

after doing some searching, i found a solution. at least for those of us with rooted evos. not sure if you other folks could push it or not, since it writes to /system
Last edited by timothydonohue; 5th June 2010 at 06:32 PM.
 
 
5th June 2010, 01:46 AM |#2  
timothydonohue's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Portland, Maine
Thanks Meter: 122
 
More
okay, for anyone that also hates ads, i found this thread that has a hosts file.

i did have a copy of that file. but i updated in the reply below (thanks phiqtion for the original!)

the way i got it to work was DL the hosts file, unzipped it, put it in my sdk/tools folder, then

adb reboot recovery

*i ran maejrep/flipz/pauls recovery bat file*

adb shell
# mount /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system
# exit
adb push hosts /system/etc
adb reboot


and voila! no more ads

of course, if anyone has a functioning copy of adfree and a more up to date hosts file, please post!

*note - i am running toastcfm's rooted pc36img ROM now, because the supersonic kept throwing up. but, this probably will not work if you are not rooted.
Last edited by timothydonohue; 5th June 2010 at 06:30 PM.
5th June 2010, 06:29 PM |#3  
timothydonohue's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Portland, Maine
Thanks Meter: 122
 
More
updated hosts file HERE

thanks mediocrehippie!
13th June 2010, 06:35 AM |#4  
colorado_al's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 81
 
More
Here's one for you:
When I use an ad free hosts file on my EVO and I connect to the internet on my PC via the EVO and Android WiFi tether, it blocks ads on my PC browser as well!
Sweet!
22nd June 2010, 12:53 AM |#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
you can put it in your computer and will block them even if you dont connect through your evo.
1st August 2010, 03:22 AM |#6  
kushdeck's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag kila kali
Thanks Meter: 3,151
 
Donate to Me
More
here is a copy of the latest hosts file from 7/31

-deck
Attached Files
File Type: zip hosts.zip - [Click for QR Code] (135.1 KB, 461 views)
1st August 2010, 04:39 AM |#7  
herbthehammer's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 51
 
More
Hmm. I've been doing it with root explorer. Copy the hosts file to /system/etc and over write existing file, then reboot. I think some off the new progs are pushing ads to us in other ways that the hosts file doesn't come into play with.

Sent from my PC36100 using XDA App
12th August 2010, 08:10 AM |#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
this needs root, no?
3rd September 2010, 03:33 PM |#9  
Senior Member
Flag brisbane
Thanks Meter: 8
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by herbthehammer

Hmm. I've been doing it with root explorer. Copy the hosts file to /system/etc and over write existing file, then reboot. I think some off the new progs are pushing ads to us in other ways that the hosts file doesn't come into play with.

Sent from my PC36100 using XDA App

when i try to do this it says there is not enough available memory. any thoughts?
3rd September 2010, 09:52 PM |#10  
Death-M0nk's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Canton
Thanks Meter: 18
 
Donate to Me
More
I just used the hosts file from:
someonewhocares.org/hosts/
He updates is very regularly, I haven't seen an add get by yet.
10th November 2010, 04:16 PM |#11  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Wink
So, its has been awhile since the last update, here's the latest updated hosts file I just work on today...
Attached Files
File Type: zip hosts.zip - [Click for QR Code] (125.8 KB, 364 views)
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to darkhack For This Useful Post: [ View ]

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes