Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Overclock Milestone (root needed)

OP iamdarren

6th June 2010, 06:16 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Essex
Thanks Meter: 36
 
452 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
Donate to Me
More
heres the link

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=683451

Milestone users can try it out now:

http://code.google.com/p/milestone-overclock/

overclocked on mine to 1.2ghz with no problems, although i dont really keep it up that high about 800 or 1000 is good for slow apps or going through photogallery or a bit of astro file manager.
6th June 2010, 07:35 PM   |  #2  
dsixda's Avatar
Recognized Developer / Retired Senior Moderator
Flag Ottawa
Thanks Meter: 5,048
 
9,577 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
Thanks for posting the two guides, I have stickied them

Back on topic, it would be nice to see the browsing speed difference between a Nexus One and a Milestone @ 1.0-1.2 GHz. I used to have a Milestone, and at the stock 550MHz it was at least 5 seconds slower than the Nexus on bigger sites.
6th June 2010, 10:07 PM   |  #3  
jul644's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag London Ontario
Thanks Meter: 208
 
954 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
More
whole of post
Quote:

Hi all,

I realize this is a post about a Motorola phone but please bear with me.

As you might know, the Milestone firmware is firmly locked, unlike its cousin Droid. Among many things, this forbids overclocking because we can't change the kernel and unlock new frequencies.

However I developed a solution that allows overclocking by changing key structures directly in the kernel memory in runtime. All you need is a rooted phone; no flashing involved. For this to work, the module must know two memory addresses that are specific to each kernel. Fortunately, Motorola appears to have reused its kernel on most 2.1 firmwares, and I've yet to come across a firmware where it doesn't work by default. Confirmed working are Central Europe, Telus and Brazilian firmwares. Testers are welcome to give it a try.

Now for the relevant part for XDA: in theory this can be applied to any kernel on any other phone. You may say it's unneeded because you can already overclock; but you must flash a specific kernel to get a particular speed. It would be much better to be able to set any maximum frequency/voltage on the fly without flashing or rebooting. For instance, you could overclock to 1.0 GHz before a browsing or gaming session and then return to a lower frequency like 600 MHz, though still overcloked, for battery savings and safety. It's up to you.

Milestone users can try it out now:

http://code.google.com/p/milestone-overclock/

For the rest of you, what do you think?

credit to miragu
7th June 2010, 12:24 AM   |  #4  
HTCDevil's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Caserta
Thanks Meter: 44
 
782 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
More
Hi man, thanks
1st November 2010, 06:14 PM   |  #5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
37 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Donate to Me
For users who are unsure on how to use Milestone Overclock, here's a guide for you! http://droidbar.net/2010/10/how-to-o...ola-milestone/
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes