Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,811,344 Members 46,730 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[obsolete] downgrade from OTA 1.32.651.6

Tip us?
 
npace
Old
(Last edited by npace; 11th June 2010 at 03:16 AM.)
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 95
Join Date: Nov 2008
Default [obsolete] downgrade from OTA 1.32.651.6

Hello

THIS THREAD IS OBSOLETE. PLEASE CLOSE.
YOU SHOULD BE ABLE TO ROOT DIRECTLY FROM 1.32.651.6 WITHOUT DOWNGRADING.



EDIT:
This is only confirmed to work with 1.32.651.6.
Refer to toast's reply below to understand why it might not work with other versions.

STEPS IF YOU WANT TO DOWNGRADE FROM STOCK .6 to STOCK .1 (NO ROOT)
1. I installed the latest RUU 1.32.651.6 found in this thread:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=695604

2. And I was able to downgrade back to the original one found here:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=685835

IF YOU WANT TO ROOT YOUR STOCK .6, JUST DO THE FOLLOWING:
3. Then did toast's root tutorial and got to the recovery and everything:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=690762

4. And am back to the rooted 1.32.651.1 with the ability to get to recovery and flash roms:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=693980

On step 2, the RUU was not able to reboot my device into the bootloader. So I booted into the bootloader myself (hold vol down + power on) then plug in the usb, select fastboot and then start the RUU from the PC. It installed like a champ and brought me back to 1.32.651.1.

Hope this helps everyone who decided to upgrade.
 
joeykrim
Old
#2  
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 1,264
Posts: 1,931
Join Date: Jan 2009
perfect!!! thanks for doing all this, testing and documenting your process. i was concerned with being limited between which versions, root process, recovery versions, etc.
this is great to know and should remove any doubts/concerns anybody has about jumping into the fray of flashing/experimenting/developing!
 
J3STUR
Old
#3  
J3STUR's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 37
Posts: 422
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Flint, Mi
Yeah I had the ota RUU 1.32.651.6 installed, then found a method close to toasts method, rooted, flashes flipz stock rom, flash radio update, back to 1.32.651.1 with the radio update, still rooted!!! I even tried the froyo rom and thought it was cool, but waiting on more functionality version, so flashed back to stock rom, still rooted! Even thing works great (no 4g in my area so dont know about that.)
 
toastcfh
Old
#4  
toastcfh's Avatar
Retired Forum Mod / Senior Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 1,895
Posts: 1,299
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Lakeland, FL

 
DONATE TO ME
It's not that the current ruus won't allow u to downgrade. It's that every time u flash a newer ruu, u are gambling with root. Go look at the Eris and hero forums and u will see. I'm not gonna promote the flashing of ruus because I know what can happen. I have a eng ruu that is older and it can not be flashed because the mainversion is lower then the current mainversion. My goal is to inform everyone of the risks involve in flashing the newer ruus. The fact of not being able to downgrade isn't something I made up. U are just lucky that the newest ruus don't set the mainversion past the bootloader limit for downgrading.
Buy me a coffee
You can follow me on Twitter:
@toastcfh
Source:
http://github.com/toastcfh
On IRC:
irc.freenode.net
#HTC-EVO | #HTC_EVO_SHIFT | #HTC-EVO-3D | #CyanogenMod
 
toenail78
Old
#5  
toenail78's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 394
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: texas
Default Re: [howto] downgrade from OTA 1.32.651.6

I remember we were told excessives flashes can cause problems but with my htc diamond for the past year i was ruu updating weekly using different roms with their latest releases on my diamond is still going strong.. i like to say its user specific but i could be wrong

-------------------------------------
Sent via the XDA Tapatalk App
 
joeykrim
Old
#6  
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 1,264
Posts: 1,931
Join Date: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by toastcfh View Post
U are just lucky that the newest ruus don't set the mainversion past the bootloader limit for downgrading.
appreciate your feedback, knowledge and experience toast.

seems like the most accurate way to state this is flashing a newer RUU puts the EVO at risk of not being able to downgrade (or use root, wifi tether, custom ROMs, etc)

hopefully we will be able to detect when this change takes place, by md5sum on hboot.img and compare to previous versions. it didnt seem to change between .1 and .6 . hopefully it wont change in the future! once the md5sum changes, i'd say the risk of not being able to downgrade increases significantly!

although, ive only had an HTC phone with android for 3 days now, i could def be wrong in my analysis ...
 
toastcfh
Old
#7  
toastcfh's Avatar
Retired Forum Mod / Senior Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 1,895
Posts: 1,299
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Lakeland, FL

 
DONATE TO ME
I mean it could be the .1 and .6 doesn't matter. But idk
Quote:
Originally Posted by joeykrim View Post
appreciate your feedback, knowledge and experience toast.

seems like the most accurate way to state this is flashing a newer RUU puts the EVO at risk of not being able to downgrade (or use root, wifi tether, custom ROMs, etc)

hopefully we will be able to detect when this change takes place, by md5sum on hboot.img and compare to previous versions. it didnt seem to change between .1 and .6 . hopefully it wont change in the future! once the md5sum changes, i'd say the risk of not being able to downgrade increases significantly!

although, ive only had an HTC phone with android for 3 days now, i could def be wrong in my analysis ...
Buy me a coffee
You can follow me on Twitter:
@toastcfh
Source:
http://github.com/toastcfh
On IRC:
irc.freenode.net
#HTC-EVO | #HTC_EVO_SHIFT | #HTC-EVO-3D | #CyanogenMod
 
2kmy477
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 169
Join Date: Dec 2005
I flashed the .6 through running ruu .exe,I havn't root my phone yet,can I run the unrevoke.apk to root then install wifi tether pre14 ?will this work?thanks.
 
FuManChuu
Old
#9  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 31
Join Date: Nov 2008
So, semi-floating off topic. It turns out that ultimately the unrevoked root doesn't really do much, and apparently isn't enough for custom roms... if I was going to want to flash something custom, would I need to FIRST follow this guide to downgrade, THEN perform toasts root?

tl;dr - does toasts root work on .6?
 
tkhan02
Old
#10  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 48
Join Date: Sep 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2kmy477 View Post
I flashed the .6 through running ruu .exe,I havn't root my phone yet,can I run the unrevoke.apk to root then install wifi tether pre14 ?will this work?thanks.
yes, it work for me.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Stream Your Media Files with the New Version of Droid Sync Manager

Android is a Linux-based operating system, but this fact doesn’t put … more

Old but Gold Internet Browser is a Blast from the Past

A Web browser is one of these applications that we can’t live without. We useit … more

Real-World Battery Saving Tips for Android – XDA Developer TV

You need Real-World Battery Saving Tips for your Android device. Our … more

Android L Will Have Data Encryption Turned On by Default

Android L, once it is eventually released, will featuredata encryption turned on by … more