Document the Story of Your Social Life with 8tory

The different forms of social media are growing every day. It’s hard to imagine a day … more

Make Calling Your Loved Ones Easier and Cheaper this Diwali

Diwali, or Deepawali as some Indians call it, is the pride and joy of Indian … more

Big Android BBQ 5.0 Recap – XDA TV

This fifth annual Big Android BBQ has come and gone. The speakers have spoke, the sponsors have … more

Microsoft to Counter “OK Google” with Bing Torque

When Microsoft is making apps for Android, users should be aware that something … more
Post Reply

Need Mac Beta Testers: Interface for Pushing Files

OP derekwilkinson

7th June 2010, 08:18 PM   |  #1  
derekwilkinson's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Houston
Thanks Meter: 316
 
2,922 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
More
Hello,

I need beta testers running Mac OS X to test a new application.

This application is for people who are either uncomfortable or unwilling to use Terminal and ./adb for pushing files to their device.

This first beta version is just to test how it works on different computers. It pushes the file to the sdcard of the phone using ./adb. The only input needed from the user is to select the file.
Later releases will let the user choose which folder on the device to copy to, but the next release will probably just involve pushing .apk to the /system/app folder.

Please let me know the results.

http://derekcwilkinson.com/PushFile.zip

Beta 2:
http://derekcwilkinson.com/Push_File_Beta_2.zip

Change Log:
Added option to choose the location that the file is to be pushed to.
Added Recovery application
Added Reboot application.

Planned Updates:
Pull File - Ready
Device Backup - PM me if you know a good way to backup with ./adb (mine is taking too long)
Device Backup w/SD - PM me if you know a good way to backup with ./adb (mine is taking too long)
Install .apk - testing
Uninstall .apk - testing
Restore Backup - going to take awhile (need to get device backup working first)
Restore Backup w/SD - going to take awhile (need to get device backup working first)
Flash ROM - testing
Last edited by derekwilkinson; 8th June 2010 at 06:27 AM.
7th June 2010, 11:09 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Seattle
Thanks Meter: 8
 
425 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
is this an actual program or a script?
8th June 2010, 01:46 AM   |  #3  
JonInAtl's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Atlanta-ish
Thanks Meter: 3
 
342 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
More
Works fine for me
8th June 2010, 03:41 AM   |  #4  
derekwilkinson's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Houston
Thanks Meter: 316
 
2,922 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrchu001

is this an actual program or a script?

It's a program that runs a script

It's just a test to see how it works, I will turn it into a more "real" application later.
8th June 2010, 05:06 AM   |  #5  
derekwilkinson's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Houston
Thanks Meter: 316
 
2,922 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
More
I've updated it to Beta 2
11th June 2010, 11:13 PM   |  #6  
rainbow2112's Avatar
Member
Flag Rome
Thanks Meter: 5
 
66 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
More
I'm copied/pasted the android folder into /User/document but when i run "Push File With Location" show this error message -->



( iMac Snow Leopard v.10.6.3 build 10D573
12th June 2010, 12:11 AM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Flag Rome
Thanks Meter: 10
 
26 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
More
@rainbow
same thing happening to me!
12th June 2010, 07:31 PM   |  #8  
derekwilkinson's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Houston
Thanks Meter: 316
 
2,922 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rainbow2112

I'm copied/pasted the android folder into /User/document but when i run "Push File With Location" show this error message -->



( iMac Snow Leopard v.10.6.3 build 10D573

Hmm, strange, I haven't had any beta testers have this issue.
Is the phone connected with USB debugging?
12th June 2010, 08:35 PM   |  #9  
rainbow2112's Avatar
Member
Flag Rome
Thanks Meter: 5
 
66 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by derekwilkinson

Is the phone connected with USB debugging?

Yes, I have always flag on debugging USB mode.
13th June 2010, 05:31 AM   |  #10  
derekwilkinson's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Houston
Thanks Meter: 316
 
2,922 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rainbow2112

Yes, I have always flag on debugging USB mode.

Try this, and tell me where the error comes up.
http://derekcwilkinson.com/PushFileSource.zip

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes


Top Threads in Android Software Development by ThreadRank