5,600,612 Members 33,519 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Setcpu

Tip us?
 
tkrechel
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 161
Join Date: Feb 2010
Default Setcpu

Is anyone using setcpu? I bought it back when I had the hero but I'm not sure if it will work now on this phone. I'm rooted using toast's method if that even matters for something like this. thanks in advance!
 
awesomeindeed
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 335
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chicago Suburbs
It's the same CPU as the Nexus and it has settings for the Nexus, so in theory it should work. I had a Nexus before this phone and it worked fine.
Devices:
Samsung Galaxy S II Epic 4G Touch - Stock
HP Touchpad 16GB - 1.7GHz
HTC Evo 3D - Rooted - Stock
Google Nexus S 4G - Rooted - Stock
HTC Evo 4G - Rooted - Stock
HTC Touch Diamond - Sprint - Custom WM6.5 build - retired
 
chuckhriczko
Old
#3  
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 41
Posts: 1,083
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Walnutport, PA

 
DONATE TO ME
I believe, like the Hero, you need a kernel tweak to have true overclocking.
 
tkrechel
Old
#4  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 161
Join Date: Feb 2010
yeah I dont wanna overclock i just want to downclock when the screen is off to save battery. I tried using the nexus one settings but it didnt seem like it was working using on demand. The clock speeds it was showing were kind of goofy. Guess i should wait for the programmer to update it
 
xtkxhom3r
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 348
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by tkrechel View Post
yeah I dont wanna overclock i just want to downclock when the screen is off to save battery. I tried using the nexus one settings but it didnt seem like it was working using on demand. The clock speeds it was showing were kind of goofy. Guess i should wait for the programmer to update it
what?!? what do you mean u dont want to oc... theres always room for more speed!
 
tkrechel
Old
#6  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 161
Join Date: Feb 2010
true that but i have always been nervous about burning up the processor hehe
 
TheBiles
Old
#7  
TheBiles's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 152
Posts: 3,414
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Pensacola, FL
Overclocking would be nice, but I'd also like to save some battery with the on demand profile. Does anyone have it working?

 
coolbho3000
Old
#8  
Senior Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 748
Posts: 886
Join Date: Dec 2008
I posted a patch in a thread in the development forum that would enable full support, plus overclocking, but nobody seems to have noticed it.

I might have to buy an EVO just to compile and test kernels... Or, if anybody wants to help me, shoot me a PM.
Galaxy Nexus (GSM)
Control your Android phone's CPU! SetCPU for Root Users
Follow me on Twitter!

Like my work? Buy SetCPU on the market or buy me some [insert drink here].
 
beerock
Old
#9  
beerock's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 250
Join Date: Mar 2010
I used the unrevoked method to root and picked the N1 for the device in setcpu and it seems to be working great with the on demand setting. I have noticed a nice increase in battery life so far.
It's already.ready.already
 
Neotelos_com
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 61
Posts: 317
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Seattle

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by coolbho3000 View Post
I posted a patch in a thread in the development forum that would enable full support, plus overclocking, but nobody seems to have noticed it.

I might have to buy an EVO just to compile and test kernels... Or, if anybody wants to help me, shoot me a PM.
Is it linked or built-in?
If it's linked I'd be more than happy to test!

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...