Zooper Widget! Create Anything
Post Reply

Setcpu

OP tkrechel

8th June 2010, 12:49 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
161 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
Is anyone using setcpu? I bought it back when I had the hero but I'm not sure if it will work now on this phone. I'm rooted using toast's method if that even matters for something like this. thanks in advance!
8th June 2010, 12:56 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Chicago Suburbs
Thanks Meter: 10
 
335 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
More
It's the same CPU as the Nexus and it has settings for the Nexus, so in theory it should work. I had a Nexus before this phone and it worked fine.
8th June 2010, 01:03 AM   |  #3  
Recognized Developer
Flag Walnutport, PA
Thanks Meter: 41
 
1,088 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
Donate to Me
More
I believe, like the Hero, you need a kernel tweak to have true overclocking.
8th June 2010, 01:18 AM   |  #4  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
161 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
yeah I dont wanna overclock i just want to downclock when the screen is off to save battery. I tried using the nexus one settings but it didnt seem like it was working using on demand. The clock speeds it was showing were kind of goofy. Guess i should wait for the programmer to update it
8th June 2010, 01:19 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
354 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by tkrechel

yeah I dont wanna overclock i just want to downclock when the screen is off to save battery. I tried using the nexus one settings but it didnt seem like it was working using on demand. The clock speeds it was showing were kind of goofy. Guess i should wait for the programmer to update it

what?!? what do you mean u dont want to oc... theres always room for more speed!
8th June 2010, 01:22 AM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
161 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
true that but i have always been nervous about burning up the processor hehe
8th June 2010, 01:37 AM   |  #7  
TheBiles's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Corpus Christi, TX
Thanks Meter: 161
 
3,470 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
Overclocking would be nice, but I'd also like to save some battery with the on demand profile. Does anyone have it working?
8th June 2010, 03:41 AM   |  #8  
Senior Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 770
 
886 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
More
I posted a patch in a thread in the development forum that would enable full support, plus overclocking, but nobody seems to have noticed it.

I might have to buy an EVO just to compile and test kernels... Or, if anybody wants to help me, shoot me a PM.
8th June 2010, 03:49 AM   |  #9  
beerock's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
250 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
I used the unrevoked method to root and picked the N1 for the device in setcpu and it seems to be working great with the on demand setting. I have noticed a nice increase in battery life so far.
8th June 2010, 05:56 AM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 62
 
317 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by coolbho3000

I posted a patch in a thread in the development forum that would enable full support, plus overclocking, but nobody seems to have noticed it.

I might have to buy an EVO just to compile and test kernels... Or, if anybody wants to help me, shoot me a PM.

Is it linked or built-in?
If it's linked I'd be more than happy to test!

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes