Android 5.0.2 and New Factory Images For Nexus 7 (Wi-Fi) Available

Android 5.0 is has been publicly available since early November, and the … more

Github Tutorial App Shows You How to Use… Github

Github can get pretty complicated and using it can become quite daunting, especially … more

Google Glass-like Clip-On For Regular Glasses Developed by Sony

For the price of $2,000, a pair of glasses that can run apps, take pictures, … more

Micromax Takes OnePlus to Court! Android Wear Receives Lollipop – XDA TV

Android 5.0 Lollipop is available officially for the Moto 360! … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

offline GPS navigation

OP _PeTiT_

9th June 2010, 10:42 AM   |  #1  
_PeTiT_'s Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Padova
Thanks Meter: 10
 
124 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
More
hello mates,

anybody know if is possible (and how) to use googleMaps or googleNavigator in OFFLINE mode without internet connection?

Is possible (and how) pre-download full-area-maps or personal routes?



thanks in advance.


(my config is : nexusOne with unlocked bootloader + root permissions ON + cyanogen 5.0.7.1)
9th June 2010, 01:23 PM   |  #2  
johnnie93's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kuwait
Thanks Meter: 72
 
399 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
Probably.. NO
9th June 2010, 01:47 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Flag Bergen
Thanks Meter: 19
 
506 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
More
This is possible. You can use Mobile Atlas Creator :http://mobac.dnsalias.org/

and one of the supported map programs. Personally I use Maverick for this. You can choose from a wide array of different maps, including Google's. It willl only work on normal maps though, you can't do this with the turn by turn navigation that Google provides.
9th June 2010, 01:51 PM   |  #4  
_PeTiT_'s Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Padova
Thanks Meter: 10
 
124 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
More
nothing "standard" to be used simply with GMaps or GNavigator?
9th June 2010, 01:56 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag Bergen
Thanks Meter: 19
 
506 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by _PeTiT_

nothing "standard" to be used simply with GMaps or GNavigator?

I'm afraid not, you do get exactly the same maps though. There is a reason though Google doesn't support this; even a small country would take several GBs worth of data if you included the nearest zoom levels. You could easily fill up a 32GB microSD card, so I guess that's why it's not included as standard.
9th June 2010, 01:59 PM   |  #6  
_PeTiT_'s Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Padova
Thanks Meter: 10
 
124 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
More
ok.... understood.... let me cry....
10th June 2010, 02:19 AM   |  #7  
MaximReapage's Avatar
Senior Member
Anchorage, AK
Thanks Meter: 2
 
300 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
More
Re: offline GPS navigation
Yes and no. any route you set up to navigate will cache all street information, but not for other reason

-------------------------------------
Sent via the XDA Tapatalk App
10th June 2010, 05:35 PM   |  #8  
SiNJiN76's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 221
 
2,841 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
More
Yeah, data is only need to get the route, Navigation will still work after that without data as long as you stay within the Nav's route.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes