FORUMS

Android 5.1.1 Omni ROM For Motorola Xoom

Back in Feb 2011, the Motorola Xoom became the first device to be sold with Android 3.0 … more

CleanSlate Brings Fingerprint Scanner Mod to HTC One M9+

Work of XDA Recognized Developer tbalden, CleanSlate custom kernel for the HTC … more

Sunday Debate: Which Factors Caused HTC’s Woes?

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on HTC’s situation. Come with your … more

HTC’s New Ad Campaign And What It Really Means

HTC has just released three new blind test adverts comparing app loading … more

offline GPS navigation

126 posts
Thanks Meter: 10
 
By _PeTiT_, Senior Member on 9th June 2010, 09:42 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
hello mates,

anybody know if is possible (and how) to use googleMaps or googleNavigator in OFFLINE mode without internet connection?

Is possible (and how) pre-download full-area-maps or personal routes?



thanks in advance.


(my config is : nexusOne with unlocked bootloader + root permissions ON + cyanogen 5.0.7.1)
 
 
9th June 2010, 12:23 PM |#2  
johnnie93's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kuwait
Thanks Meter: 72
 
More
Probably.. NO
9th June 2010, 12:47 PM |#3  
Senior Member
Flag Bergen
Thanks Meter: 19
 
More
This is possible. You can use Mobile Atlas Creator :http://mobac.dnsalias.org/

and one of the supported map programs. Personally I use Maverick for this. You can choose from a wide array of different maps, including Google's. It willl only work on normal maps though, you can't do this with the turn by turn navigation that Google provides.
9th June 2010, 12:51 PM |#4  
_PeTiT_'s Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Padova
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
nothing "standard" to be used simply with GMaps or GNavigator?
9th June 2010, 12:56 PM |#5  
Senior Member
Flag Bergen
Thanks Meter: 19
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by _PeTiT_

nothing "standard" to be used simply with GMaps or GNavigator?

I'm afraid not, you do get exactly the same maps though. There is a reason though Google doesn't support this; even a small country would take several GBs worth of data if you included the nearest zoom levels. You could easily fill up a 32GB microSD card, so I guess that's why it's not included as standard.
9th June 2010, 12:59 PM |#6  
_PeTiT_'s Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Padova
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
ok.... understood.... let me cry....
10th June 2010, 01:19 AM |#7  
MaximReapage's Avatar
Senior Member
Anchorage, AK
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Re: offline GPS navigation
Yes and no. any route you set up to navigate will cache all street information, but not for other reason

-------------------------------------
Sent via the XDA Tapatalk App
10th June 2010, 04:35 PM |#8  
SiNJiN76's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 435
 
More
Yeah, data is only need to get the route, Navigation will still work after that without data as long as you stay within the Nav's route.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes