Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,729,690 Members 47,073 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

offline GPS navigation

Tip us?
 
_PeTiT_
Old
#1  
_PeTiT_'s Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 124
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Padova
Question offline GPS navigation

hello mates,

anybody know if is possible (and how) to use googleMaps or googleNavigator in OFFLINE mode without internet connection?

Is possible (and how) pre-download full-area-maps or personal routes?



thanks in advance.


(my config is : nexusOne with unlocked bootloader + root permissions ON + cyanogen 5.0.7.1)
 
johnnie93
Old
#2  
johnnie93's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 72
Posts: 399
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Kuwait
Probably.. NO
(((NEW)))
Phone: HTC desire Z
SDCard: 16GB class 2
Rom Build: CM7
(((Sold)))
Phone: Samsung Galaxy S
SDCard: 16GB Class 2
(((DEV PHONE)))
Phone: Google Nexus One
SDCard: 8GB class 6
Rom Build: CM7
(((OLD)))
Phone: T-Mobile G1 - Black
ROM Build: changing too much
Radio: 2.22.19.26I
SPL: Haykuro's SPL
SDCard: 8GB class 6
 
SBS_
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 19
Posts: 506
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Bergen
This is possible. You can use Mobile Atlas Creator :http://mobac.dnsalias.org/

and one of the supported map programs. Personally I use Maverick for this. You can choose from a wide array of different maps, including Google's. It willl only work on normal maps though, you can't do this with the turn by turn navigation that Google provides.
 
_PeTiT_
Old
#4  
_PeTiT_'s Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 124
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Padova
nothing "standard" to be used simply with GMaps or GNavigator?
 
SBS_
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 19
Posts: 506
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Bergen
Quote:
Originally Posted by _PeTiT_ View Post
nothing "standard" to be used simply with GMaps or GNavigator?
I'm afraid not, you do get exactly the same maps though. There is a reason though Google doesn't support this; even a small country would take several GBs worth of data if you included the nearest zoom levels. You could easily fill up a 32GB microSD card, so I guess that's why it's not included as standard.
 
_PeTiT_
Old
#6  
_PeTiT_'s Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 124
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Padova
ok.... understood.... let me cry....
 
MaximReapage
Old
#7  
MaximReapage's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 300
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Anchorage, AK
Default Re: offline GPS navigation

Yes and no. any route you set up to navigate will cache all street information, but not for other reason

-------------------------------------
Sent via the XDA Tapatalk App
 
SiNJiN76
Old
#8  
SiNJiN76's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 196
Posts: 2,701
Join Date: Sep 2009
Yeah, data is only need to get the route, Navigation will still work after that without data as long as you stay within the Nav's route.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...