FORUMS

Which Lockscreen Security Type Do You Use?

From pattern locks to the controversial face unlock, there are a number of different ways you … more

Xposed 3.0 Alpha 3 Released

A new alpha for the Xposed framework is out and brings several bug fixes. You’ll only need to flash … more

XDA Recap: This Week In Android (Apr 18 – 25)

Here in the digital XDA newsroom, we spend our days pouring over an average of … more

Sunday Debate: Custom ROMs vs. Modular Tweaks

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on Mods and ROMs. Come with your opinions and feel free to … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

offline GPS navigation

9th June 2010, 09:42 AM |#1  
_PeTiT_'s Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Padova
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
hello mates,

anybody know if is possible (and how) to use googleMaps or googleNavigator in OFFLINE mode without internet connection?

Is possible (and how) pre-download full-area-maps or personal routes?



thanks in advance.


(my config is : nexusOne with unlocked bootloader + root permissions ON + cyanogen 5.0.7.1)
 
 
9th June 2010, 12:23 PM |#2  
johnnie93's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kuwait
Thanks Meter: 72
 
More
Probably.. NO
9th June 2010, 12:47 PM |#3  
Senior Member
Flag Bergen
Thanks Meter: 19
 
More
This is possible. You can use Mobile Atlas Creator :http://mobac.dnsalias.org/

and one of the supported map programs. Personally I use Maverick for this. You can choose from a wide array of different maps, including Google's. It willl only work on normal maps though, you can't do this with the turn by turn navigation that Google provides.
9th June 2010, 12:51 PM |#4  
_PeTiT_'s Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Padova
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
nothing "standard" to be used simply with GMaps or GNavigator?
9th June 2010, 12:56 PM |#5  
Senior Member
Flag Bergen
Thanks Meter: 19
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by _PeTiT_

nothing "standard" to be used simply with GMaps or GNavigator?

I'm afraid not, you do get exactly the same maps though. There is a reason though Google doesn't support this; even a small country would take several GBs worth of data if you included the nearest zoom levels. You could easily fill up a 32GB microSD card, so I guess that's why it's not included as standard.
9th June 2010, 12:59 PM |#6  
_PeTiT_'s Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Padova
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
ok.... understood.... let me cry....
10th June 2010, 01:19 AM |#7  
MaximReapage's Avatar
Senior Member
Anchorage, AK
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Re: offline GPS navigation
Yes and no. any route you set up to navigate will cache all street information, but not for other reason

-------------------------------------
Sent via the XDA Tapatalk App
10th June 2010, 04:35 PM |#8  
SiNJiN76's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 296
 
More
Yeah, data is only need to get the route, Navigation will still work after that without data as long as you stay within the Nav's route.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes