MultiImagePicker Library for Multiple Image Selection

App developmentcan be done in more than a handful of ways. You can write every single … more

Shoot Troubles, Not Users w/ Alex Boag-Munroe – XDA:DevCon 2014

In presenting the various sessions from XDA:DevCon 2014, weve mainly … more

Oppo Releases ColorOS for the Find 5… Poorly

Almost every OEM has taken the liberty of creating its own incarnation of the Android OS. … more

XDA LG Development Challenge Winners

Almost 3months ago, we set out with LGto findtwo amazing apps that developers could put together … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Bootscreen] Black/White Quietly Brilliant

OP Zane Lee

10th June 2010, 12:04 PM   |  #1  
Zane Lee's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
77 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Donate to Me
More
Hi everyone, I've been searching around for the Quietly Brilliant bootscreen and it was relatively easy to find but as the Hero boots by default with the Hero logo (which cannot be easily replaced with another) in black background, the white bootscreen looks out of place.

Then, I found a black version made by watzone69. But, the green HTC logo really looked out of place, hence I decided to make my own version instead. At the same time, I've also recompiled the existing white version into the original format that the stock bootscreen was in (including boot2.gif).

I can't post previews because the forum is being a bitch:
"To prevent spam to the forums, new users are not permitted to post outside links in their messages. All new user accounts will be verified by moderators before this restriction is removed."

I have attached both versions with/without sounds. Do note that these are only compatible with Heros that are still running on cupcake. If anyone would like to convert them into 2.1 formats, please go ahead. This is because I'm still on MCR 3.2 and won't be updating to 2.1 until MCR 4.0 is completed.

Credits:
RaiderX303 for the original white bootscreen, justinisyoung for the not-so-loud bootsound and phaelox for his SignApk script!
Last edited by Zane Lee; 10th June 2010 at 12:15 PM.
24th June 2010, 12:52 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
146 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Thumbs up
Works on 2.1 - provided you follow the instructions in my post below (#4)
Last edited by filipharvey; 4th July 2010 at 12:39 PM.
4th July 2010, 10:39 AM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 16
 
156 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by filipharvey

Works on 2.1 (VillainROM 10)

On VillainROM 12 i get to install it, but it still shows the villainrom bootscreen. Any ideas how could I get it working? Thanks!!
4th July 2010, 11:58 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
146 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
In order to use boot screens from 1.5 on 2.1 ROMs, you need to remove the current bootanimation.zip from the phone.
(On Villain ROMs, it is located in /system/customize/resource/ - others may vary)

Then flash the downloaded file; this puts the folder 'bootscreen' into /system/media/

If you want the original one with the little Android hiding behind 'HERO' download and flash the attachment below this post.



Despite what others say, the old (1.5) format bootscreens do work in 2.1, however, I'm yet to get the bootsound working.
Attached Files
File Type: zip signed_original_1.5_bootscreen.zip - [Click for QR Code] (569.7 KB, 276 views)
Last edited by filipharvey; 4th July 2010 at 12:46 PM.
11th July 2010, 08:06 AM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Flag Costa Rica
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
Great work man, I love the 1.5 boot screen
19th September 2010, 03:31 PM   |  #6  
thetiger1401's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
350 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by filipharvey

In order to use boot screens from 1.5 on 2.1 ROMs, you need to remove the current bootanimation.zip from the phone.
(On Villain ROMs, it is located in /system/customize/resource/ - others may vary)

Then flash the downloaded file; this puts the folder 'bootscreen' into /system/media/

If you want the original one with the little Android hiding behind 'HERO' download and flash the attachment below this post.



Despite what others say, the old (1.5) format bootscreens do work in 2.1, however, I'm yet to get the bootsound working.



Unable to delete file
24th September 2010, 05:56 PM   |  #7  
MacaronyMax's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxford
Thanks Meter: 626
 
13,593 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
More
Quote:

(which cannot be easily replaced with another)

Can now check my thread

But yeah i agreee the Quietly bootscrren looks out of place So this should look realy great
25th September 2010, 04:03 AM   |  #8  
jeremy89632's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Singapore
Thanks Meter: 3
 
980 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
More
Not bad, pretty cool

I remembered I saw a orginal white bootscreen somewhere else.
11th November 2010, 10:59 PM   |  #9  
rdejager's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 357
 
1,091 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
More
Works awesome on the gratia port if you folow the instructions on post 4 its faster in boot, and the ugly boot animation is gone

Though the bootanimation.zip is not in the /system/resource part but in the /system/media folder, remove that and then flash the zip file

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes