Now Gesture Tweaks Replaces Google Now with Custom Action

On most modern Android devices with software navigation keys, swiping up from the … more

ToqAN Fixes Android 5.0 Notification Bug on Qualcomm Toq

The Qualcomm Toq is probably one of the lesser known smartwatches on the market … more

How to Root and Unlock the Google Nexus 6 on a Mac – XDA TV

In the past, XDA Developer TV Producer droidmodd3rx has shown you how to … more

Set Up Your MediaTek Device with Comprehensive Beginner’s Guide

As can be seen with the use of MediaTek chips in Android One devices … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Evo capping all graphics to 30FPS [OFFICIAL FIX!]

OP EliWay

10th June 2010, 12:57 PM   |  #1  
EliWay's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Boston, MA
Thanks Meter: 67
 
616 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2006
Update 9/22/10: Our 30FPS Saga has finally come to an end. HTC has released an OTA that officially uncaps the evo! HOORAY! To all of you who have contacted Sprint and HTC: THANK YOU! It made a difference.

If you are unrooted, simply go look for the update under your phone's settings.
If you are rooted and want to keep root, head over to developer section and download one of the many ROMs available with the latest OTA 3.29.651.5 .

-------------

BREAKING Update 9/21/10: So after almost 4 months, it seems like HTC is finally set to release an update that will officially uncap our EVOs!

Quote:

Can't reveal source - but here you go. Was sent to me a little bit ago.


Software Version: HTC - EVO 4G (A9292) - 3.29.651.5
Release Date: 9/22/2010
Update Method: Available OTA + Retail

Version History:
Calendar Event Edit Issue
Multiple Gmail Account Sync
30 FPS uncapped
GPS Reboot

The update will supposedly be released tomorrow. Will update this post when/if it happens.


Sources: SDX-Developers, PPCGeeks


-------------------------------

Update 6/14/10: Got a call from Dan Hesse's Office(CEO). Here's what happened:

1. Sprint has reached out to HTC about this issue. They acknowledge the problem and said they are working on a Firmware update that will address this. However, they could not give us an exact time frame.

2. The engineer at HTC encouraged us to go to HTC support and send emails to them about this issue so it gets more attention internally, and hopefully speed things up.

Also, I asked her to relay a message to Dan Hesse, Saying that this might not seem like a big deal at first, but it is in fact a huge one. Customers, especially those coming from an iPhone, expect their phones to "just work", and even if they don't notice it at first, that 30fps cap will get them frustrated at some point, and they will erroneously attribute it to developer, the phone or Sprint, hurting everyone in the process.

She also said Sprint wants this resolved, but they are pretty much at HTC's mercy right now.

Alright boys and girls, it's time to bother HTC!
Visit HTC support here:
http://www.htc.com/us/support/e-mail
and send your Email to them.

At this time I would advise against sending "template" emails because once they start receiving several of the same they can just filter them out. Remember, they are a huge company, they have the tools. Speak with your heart this time.


=====================
Update 6/12/10: Check out the end of this post. Help us contact HTC and Sprint about this issue. Even if you don't own an Evo. HTC got away with it twice already. Let's at least make sure this issue is well known. Like a developer said:

Quote:

This is like buying a brand new corvette and finding out it has a governor on it limiting it to 100 horsepower. If a car manufacturer did this, there would be a class action lawsuit instantaneously. Don't be shy guys, let the world know how you feel!

Update 6/11/10: I got a response from one of Sprint's executive team. He has asked the product team to investigate and will follow up with me afterwards. Will keep you guys posted.

HTC is capping all graphics , 2D AND 3D, at only 30fps max. This is having a negative impact on the responsiveness of the system in general, and for developers that rely on real time game development.

See this:
http://groups.google.com/group/andro...0bd2cccc047ac3

And this:
http://code.google.com/p/android/issues/detail?id=8942 Please star the issue on that page so more people, and hopefully htc, will be aware of the problem.

I have also tested this app:
http://www.typhon4android.org/androi...roid2dtest-21/

When I run the app, "Clock FPS" is trying to push 60fps but it is limited by the display at 30hz, only to show 30fps max.

This also explains why the evo 4g is consistently getting terrible graphics benchmark scores. The Nexus One, despite having the same processor and gpu, is not affected by this problem.

Is this ever going to be fixed?

============================================
CONTACT SPRINT AND HTC:

Star this issue at Google Code: http://code.google.com/p/android/iss...ummary%20Stars
---------
HTC
Phone number: 1-866-449-8358 7 days a week 6am - 1am EST
Support: http://www.htc.com/www/CS_Mail.aspx
Twitter: @htc
Facebook: www.facebook.com/htc
----------
Sprint
Dan Hesse's Office (CEO): dan@sprint.com
Sprint Cares: sprintcares@sprint.com
Twitter: @Sprint
@sprincare
Last edited by EliWay; 23rd September 2010 at 09:23 PM.
10th June 2010, 01:03 PM   |  #2  
mrono's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
1,558 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by zeuzinn

HTC is capping all graphics , 2D AND 3D, at only 30fps max. This is having a negative impact on the responsiveness of the system in general, and for developers that rely on real time game development.

See this:
http://groups.google.com/group/andro...0bd2cccc047ac3

And this:
http://code.google.com/p/android/issues/detail?id=8942

I have also tested this app:
http://www.typhon4android.org/androi...roid2dtest-21/

When I run the app, "Clock FPS" is trying to push 60fps but it is limited by the display at 30hz, only to show 30fps max.

This also explains why the evo 4g is consistently getting terrible graphics benchmark scores. The Nexus One, despite having the same processor and gpu, is not affected by this problem.

Is this ever going to be fixed?

wow..... I should toss that app on froyo and try it.
10th June 2010, 03:45 PM   |  #3  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
95 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
No change with froyo... that's not good.
10th June 2010, 04:04 PM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
19 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
You say HTC is capping the framerate.. Is this a hardware cap, then? Meaning, do you see this on a rooted / custom rom? I'm using unrevoked for root, so I can't test..
Last edited by slackjawedhippy; 10th June 2010 at 04:09 PM. Reason: added clarification
10th June 2010, 04:07 PM   |  #5  
gman8966's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
281 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
Oh no. This is like the HTC tilt all over again with the graphics not living up to their potential.

Sent from my HTC Evo using tapatalk.
10th June 2010, 04:11 PM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
Could it have anything to do with the HDMI out? Maybe they're trying to sync to a framerate that their HDMI implementation can handle. Just guessing.
10th June 2010, 04:13 PM   |  #7  
BrianDigital's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Thanks Meter: 322
 
2,825 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
Donate to Me
More
Well how fast can the screen refresh that's what the fps should be locked to
10th June 2010, 04:53 PM   |  #8  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
95 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Re: Evo capping all graphics to 30FPS:The reason why graphics performance sucks
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrianDigital

Well how fast can the screen refresh that's what the fps should be locked to

Never heard of a lcd screen that can only do 30 fps


Sent from my PC36100 using Tapatalk
10th June 2010, 05:27 PM   |  #9  
BrianDigital's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Thanks Meter: 322
 
2,825 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by npace

Never heard of a lcd screen that can only do 30 fps


Sent from my PC36100 using Tapatalk

yeah me either but I have never bought a 4.3 inch lcd for my gaming rig
10th June 2010, 05:29 PM   |  #10  
Shidell's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 65
 
527 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by npace

No change with froyo... that's not good.

Ack. Guess that means it's hardware-limited?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
30 fps cap sucks, htc is fail
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes