Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[APP/DRIVER][9Jul] Pinch to zoom ON ANY DEVICE IN OPERA! TOTALLY NEW VER!

OP OndraSter

10th June 2010, 08:30 PM   |  #1  
OndraSter's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag Prague
Thanks Meter: 277
 
2,082 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
Donate to Me
More
Hi ladies and guys,
Iíve finally managed to do what I was trying to do since about 4 months ago. Pinch to zoom on your device in browser/Album/more.
First, I want to thank to many people, from what I remember it is l5v3y (C, Windows, ...), Chainfire (reverse engineering within IDA), Da_G, thx1200 (ZoomBar mod), supbro (GreenButton app), Twopumpchump (psychic support) and from what I donít remember, many more.

So, this new version practically SIMULATES PINCH TO ZOOM FROM HTC HD2, so IT IS FLUID and BOUNCY
Just as I wrote earlier, THIS VERSION 2 IS WORKING ONLY IN OPERA! GMAPS AND ALBUM ARE BROKEN BECAUSE OF THIS NEW WAY FOR NOW!!


CURRENT DEVELOPMENT STATUS AND INFO HERE

9th July Update - spent another many hours on new algorithm, borrowing HD2, working, testing, swearing etc.
14th June Update #2 - use FIXED version, the normal one breaks GoogleMaps!
14th June Update - fixing many stuff, now Opera and GMaps work way better!



Original pre-published videos:
1st http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aqYNHq9qQEs
2nd http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gPku_Jt3_8c
3rd http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LmLC5CkRwjs

Please, don't reupload these three, thanks. If you want to make one as a review or anything, sure you can do


Download stats:
alpha - 2286
alpha2 - 60
alpha2fixed - 3105



Downloading and running howto:
Download this attachment and install the cab on your device. Now you will have in Start new folder named Pinch To Zoom with two links - Enable and Disable.

Don't try running ResistiveSystemPinch.exe file twice (or more times!), otherwise it may crash your gwes (not sure why, I close everything)!

For those with problems running it in Opera, try this (thanks to kain144000!) http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=237
Try downloading compatible Opera (thanks to NorcoFox)

Also note, that if you just launched PTZ, it reacts AFTER you first change your topmost window, so try going to eg home and then back to Opera!


ENJOY!


to keep me working (I spent many, MANY hours on this)

Donated:
- $12.5 - Scrufboy
Any $ is appreciated and will receive betas (if there will be any, there is not much to betatest)!
Attached Files
File Type: cab PTZ_2.cab - [Click for QR Code] (41.6 KB, 6927 views)
Last edited by OndraSter; 13th July 2010 at 07:00 PM.
10th June 2010, 08:31 PM   |  #2  
OndraSter's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag Prague
Thanks Meter: 277
 
2,082 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
Donate to Me
More
Compatibility list
  • Opera 9.5 - tested, works (on some builds) - with v2 it's broken!
  • Opera 9.7 - tested, works (on some builds)
  • Google Maps - tested, works - with v2 it's broken!
  • Opera 10 - doesn't support this type of stuff or I'm not aware of that
  • HTC Album - working on supporting it


Frequently asked questions:
  1. Will it work on WinMo 6 or 6.1? YES
  2. Will it work on QVGA, VGA, WVGA, HVGA, ..? YES
  3. How does it work? Magic...
  4. Can you add support for application XYZ? If it is doable then later yes, but not right now.
  5. I noticed you keep one finger still, do I have to? Since resistive touchscreens report only one finger, I detect movement between those two fingers. If you move both, it won't detect any change and it will fail to work! So yes, one finger must be still.
  6. It doesn't work for me!? I'm sorry, I can't do much without getting access to that device. I guess it must be some kind of uncompatibility between Opera version you have. GoogleMaps should work for everybody though.
  7. Can you give me source code? Yes, I can.
  8. And will you give to me? No, I won't. I'm too greedy! :P
  9. Can you make this for Android/Symbian too? No, I can't.


Tested devices:
  • HTC Touch Pro 2 -- WVGA, really good user experience


Known problems and their solution:
  • All except "it doesn't work for me" are gone?
Last edited by OndraSter; 4th September 2010 at 10:42 PM.
10th June 2010, 08:44 PM   |  #3  
chrisnash's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 4
 
291 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2006
More
Nice one -I'm impressed! look forward to trying it out.
10th June 2010, 08:45 PM   |  #4  
stathis95194's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Nicosia
Thanks Meter: 369
 
1,340 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
Donate to Me
More
looks great. I'm waiting to try it on my Blackstone
10th June 2010, 08:46 PM   |  #5  
M_T_M's Avatar
SeŮor Moderator - uoy llort ot tnaem si eltit sihT
Flag Texas
Thanks Meter: 5,583
 
17,917 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
Thumbs up
I'm salivating already! can't wait to test it
10th June 2010, 09:00 PM   |  #6  
majorassface's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 32
 
387 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
More
Amazing work!! Can't wait to try it out!!
10th June 2010, 09:03 PM   |  #7  
Retired Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 686
 
875 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by M_T_M

I'm salivating already! can't wait to test it

+1 I m gonna check this thread everyday waiting for a download link!!!
10th June 2010, 09:25 PM   |  #8  
OndraSter's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag Prague
Thanks Meter: 277
 
2,082 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
Donate to Me
More
Oh I should notice, that for best experience (hate this world after MWC ) is required WVGA screen because of digitizer resolution, but it will work on any screen (resistive)

And yes, one of the other testing devices will be hopefully soon friends' HTC HD and mine Kaiser once I turn it on.
10th June 2010, 09:28 PM   |  #9  
zinconnu's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
332 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
Will work on WinMo 6.1 devices?
10th June 2010, 09:54 PM   |  #10  
OndraSter's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag Prague
Thanks Meter: 277
 
2,082 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
Donate to Me
More
Sure, WM6.1 will even work better, because it doesn't have that f...ing gestures

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes