Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

VaniljEclair RLS11 - A fast & stable CM 5.0.8 for Vogue/Kaiser/Polaris [2010-08-19]

OP kallt_kaffe

14th June 2010, 07:03 AM   |  #31  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,170
 
1,483 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mnjm9b

two things I noticed with this build...
and maybe it's just me.

1. I am getting FC's with better terminal.
apk worked in all other eclair builds.

I tried and found out why. Try the attached update. It stopped the FC for me.

Quote:

2. just for fun I tried neocore to get a fps
neocore installs and loads up OK but it wont run.
this apk worked fine on most every other build
however, I did have problems running it with poly's 2.1g

Strange, I just ran it and got 20.4fps. Are you sure you have hw3d.version set to 1?
Attached Files
File Type: zip getprop_update.zip - [Click for QR Code] (43.2 KB, 29 views)
14th June 2010, 08:43 AM   |  #32  
pastaeter's Avatar
Member
Flag Fryslân
Thanks Meter: 0
 
31 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
More
Thumbs up
Quote:
Originally Posted by kallt_kaffe

I tried and found out why. Try the attached update. It stopped the FC for me.


Strange, I just ran it and got 20.4fps. Are you sure you have hw3d.version set to 1?

I've tried this ROM over the weekend and it's still the best Eclair I tried so far.

The only thing i've noticed that video won't play with meridian player. I believe the Myn Eclair Build has the player working.
Thus my question how is this possible, but seeing your above reaction, could it be that this hw3d is needed?
(if so, noob question, how to turn this on? )

Thanks again for the ROM.
14th June 2010, 08:49 AM   |  #33  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,170
 
1,483 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pastaeter

I've tried this ROM over the weekend and it's still the best Eclair I tried so far.

The only thing i've noticed that video won't play with meridian player. I believe the Myn Eclair Build has the player working.
Thus my question how is this possible, but seeing your above reaction, could it be that this hw3d is needed?
(if so, noob question, how to turn this on? )

Thanks again for the ROM.

By using an Eclair-enabled NBH (for NAND) or by having hw3d.version=1 in your default.txt (or startup.txt) if you are HaRET booting. But you propably allready have that setup.
14th June 2010, 09:05 AM   |  #34  
pastaeter's Avatar
Member
Flag Fryslân
Thanks Meter: 0
 
31 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kallt_kaffe

By using an Eclair-enabled NBH (for NAND) or by having hw3d.version=1 in your default.txt (or startup.txt) if you are HaRET booting. But you propably allready have that setup.

I'm running from NAND, but I've changed between Donut and Eclair so many times, I probably don't have the Eclair-enabled NBH (don't know).
I'll try this.
Thanks for the help.
14th June 2010, 09:08 AM   |  #35  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,170
 
1,483 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pastaeter

I'm running from NAND, but I've changed between Donut and Eclair so many times, I probably don't have the Eclair-enabled NBH (don't know).
I'll try this.
Thanks for the help.

Let me know if it helped.
14th June 2010, 10:44 AM   |  #36  
pastaeter's Avatar
Member
Flag Fryslân
Thanks Meter: 0
 
31 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
More
Wink
Quote:
Originally Posted by kallt_kaffe

Let me know if it helped.

Using the how-to thread (http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=621001) I got the latest Eclair NBH from here:
http://sourceforge.net/projects/androidhtc/files/
Dated 2010-02-20

After flashing, booting was extremely slow and did not get all the way through.
I pulled the battery and rebooted witch went fast as usual and booted like normal.

However the video was still not working.
Within Meridian I can scroll through a video, but it will not continue to play.
As said, I believe it did work on other (eclair) builds so I don't think it's the Meridian that's causing the trouble, and I also think the ROM is just fine, I'm just missing a small part to make it work.


You said that with Haret a extra line of code could do the trick. With NAND, can I add the same line using terminal? If so.. how

Update: Since the update my Wifi didn't work anymore so I had to go back to another NBH (probably non-eclair).
Last edited by pastaeter; 14th June 2010 at 11:43 AM. Reason: Additional info
14th June 2010, 03:25 PM   |  #37  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,170
 
1,483 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pastaeter

Using the how-to thread (http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=621001) I got the latest Eclair NBH from here:
http://sourceforge.net/projects/androidhtc/files/
Dated 2010-02-20

Now, that's a really old kernel...

Get this one: http://it029000.massey.ac.nz/vogue/f...r-12-06-10.nbh from DZO's archive

Then use Loserskaters NBH Editor from here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=689812

Use the NBH editor to convert the Vogue NBH into a Kaiser NBH.

Quote:

You said that with Haret a extra line of code could do the trick. With NAND, can I add the same line using terminal? If so.. how

No, however you can convert a Donut NBH into an Eclair NBH with either a HEX editor or the NBH Edtior.

Quote:

Update: Since the update my Wifi didn't work anymore so I had to go back to another NBH (probably non-eclair).

Yes, that's because the wlan.ko we use nowadays won't work with the old kernel you used.
14th June 2010, 04:14 PM   |  #38  
mnjm9b's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 151
 
919 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by kallt_kaffe

I tried and found out why. Try the attached update. It stopped the FC for me.


Strange, I just ran it and got 20.4fps. Are you sure you have hw3d.version set to 1?

getprop worked great...ty

although I am still getting a blank screen on neocore.
I am using nbh from my nbhcreator. using dzo's 6-12 zImage.

I am going to try your latest nbh and see if that is the issue.
I am also having funny led issues.

...back in a few...
14th June 2010, 04:30 PM   |  #39  
mnjm9b's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 151
 
919 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
OK... your nbh works the exact same as the one from my nbhcreator.
I still get a blank screen when clicking 'run' on neocore.
I am sure I have a bad apk. I will download a new one later to verify.

I am concerned about the weird led issue. I don't get a charge light at all. even while device is ON. and when I do things like copy a file, it blinks blue forever. I think this may be a kernel issue but I haven't seen anyone else complain about it.
14th June 2010, 05:57 PM   |  #40  
sakkeus11's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
89 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
Livewallpaper
Also livewallpaper seems to crash after back to hibernate.
Thanks for good work and yor time!!!!!!!

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes