Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,736,513 Members 51,316 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

HELP -I Locked myself out of my phone!

Tip us?
 
adeyo
Old
#1  
adeyo's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 369
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Lynchburg, VA
Question HELP -I Locked myself out of my phone!

ok, so my work requires me to use a password to lock my phone in order to enable my microsoft exchange (push email) on my phone. I recently installed and tested voice texting. Only problem is, when my phone went to sleep and i tried unlock it, the voice texting program was set as the input method. But it runs as a program so my lock is preventing it from running and thereby preventing me from entering any numbers/letters to unlock my phone!! when i longpress on the input field it won't allow me to change to another keyboard. WHAT CAN I DO?? Please help.

Thanks!
 
MrDSL
Old
#2  
MrDSL's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Thanks Meter 2509
Posts: 7,057
Join Date: Nov 2006

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by adeyo View Post
ok, so my work requires me to use a password to lock my phone in order to enable my microsoft exchange (push email) on my phone. I recently installed and tested voice texting. Only problem is, when my phone went to sleep and i tried unlock it, the voice texting program was set as the input method. But it runs as a program so my lock is preventing it from running and thereby preventing me from entering any numbers/letters to unlock my phone!! when i longpress on the input field it won't allow me to change to another keyboard. WHAT CAN I DO?? Please help.

Thanks!
I suppose a complete wipe would work. I'm sure you have a backup right?
Phone: Optimus G Pro
ROM: CM10
Kernel
Theme: Mixer
Radio: BM9615A

Follow me on Twitter @Mr_DSL

 
danknee
Old
#3  
danknee's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 894
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Las Vegas
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrDSL View Post
I suppose a complete wipe would work. I'm sure you have a backup right?
+1
Seems like the most up front way.
adb reboot recovery >> boot recovery console >> restore nandroid backup
 
adeyo
Old
#4  
adeyo's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 369
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Lynchburg, VA
Unhappy thanks, but now what?

Quote:
Originally Posted by danknee View Post
+1
Seems like the most up front way.
adb reboot recovery >> boot recovery console >> restore nandroid backup
well... no backup yet...i haven't rooted yet b/c my confidence isn't there yet either. Hard reset?? Ok, so if i want to do it right, how would i backup my entire phone -what do you recommend. I guess now that i will have to hard reset it i might as well figure out how to do a complete backup. (also, not really familiar with adb, but i can read -any pointers??)
 
danknee
Old
#5  
danknee's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 894
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Las Vegas
Personally, I would just follow toast's rooting guide. When you flash the PC36IMG.zip your problem will go away and your phone will essentially be restored to stock anyway. If you are looking for a great ROM, I am particular to Flipz.
 
TheBiles
Old
#6  
TheBiles's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 156
Posts: 3,423
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Pensacola, FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by adeyo View Post
well... no backup yet...i haven't rooted yet b/c my confidence isn't there yet either. Hard reset?? Ok, so if i want to do it right, how would i backup my entire phone -what do you recommend. I guess now that i will have to hard reset it i might as well figure out how to do a complete backup. (also, not really familiar with adb, but i can read -any pointers??)
You have no excuse not to root!

 
adeyo
Old
(Last edited by adeyo; 13th June 2010 at 12:01 AM.)
#7  
adeyo's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 369
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Lynchburg, VA
Question thanks!

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrDSL View Post
I suppose a complete wipe would work. I'm sure you have a backup right?
so, i did a hard reset. any backup program (apps2sd, mobile defense, etc that you recommend?...or just a nandroid backup?) I don't really know what is best and easiest to restore.

Now that i see my need to root/backup...
@ danknee -thanks! looks like flipz rom is one i would like.
@ TheBiles -you are right -no excuse anymore! that is awesome and simple enough for even me!!
***by the way, swype is awesome!!! thanks for posting that. i never would have thought it could have been that much faster!

Thanks again you guys for responding!!

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Get Your Cargo to its Destination in 4×4 Military Operations Reborn

Racing games have evolved quite a bit since the days of Pole … more

Automate Your Device with Sfen

Changing the profile of yourdevice manually is now long forgotten. Since the advent of Android automation … more

Galaxy Photo Screen Lock Displays a Photo Slideshow on Your Lock Screen

Being the most often looked at part of our devices UI, the lock … more