An Android Enthusiast’s Apple iPhone 6 Challenge – XDA TV

The media has gone batty again over Apple “revolutionizing” … more

Sony to Extend its AOSP Program to Other Devices

Sony will be offering its users the possibility to use AOSP ROMs as an alternative to the … more

Project Ara Smartphone Will Run Modified Android L with Hot Swapping

Project Ara is a very exciting topic–both for hardware and … more

Streamline Android Theme Customization with Graphic Porter

I dont have a custom theme on my Android phone, and the reason for this is because … more
Post Reply

[How to] Install android_winusb.inf, create adb shell loop, and root your phone

12th June 2010, 10:17 PM   |  #1  
tdavis42's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Orange County, CA
Thanks Meter: 12
 
501 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
More
First off you need to have Android-SDK installed on your computer. I will not go into details about that process but here is the link to Google's official install page. Navigate to the folder you placed Android-SDK and run the SDK Setup.exe and make sure that you download the usb 3.0 driver software from the sdk updater window. I recommend erasing any HTC Sync software or drivers so that you can start from a clean point then reinstalling them.

Once you get the SDK installed from Google you need to go in a modify the USB 3.0 .inf file. Navigate to the folder you placed the Android-SDK and one step down you will see a folder that is named usb driver. Open the usb driver folder and then open the android_winusb.inf file in notepad. It should default into notepad when you click it. Next you need to copy and paste this text into notepad.

Find the section labeled [Google.NTx86]. At the end of that section, add the following lines.

;
;HTC Incredible
%SingleAdbInterface% = USB_Install, USB\VID_0BB4&PID_0C9E
%CompositeAdbInterface% = USB_Install, USB\VID_0BB4&PID_0C9E&MI_01

Then find the section [Google.NTamd64]. At the end of that section, add the following lines.

;
;HTC Incredible
%SingleAdbInterface% = USB_Install, USB\VID_0BB4&PID_0C9E
%CompositeAdbInterface% = USB_Install, USB\VID_0BB4&PID_0C9E&MI_01

Again just copy and paste. I have attached pictures to show where these need to go.

So now we have the USB driver on the computer and ready to be installed once you plug-in your Incredible.

On your Incredible press->Menu->Settings->Applications->Development->(check)USB debugging. Plug in your Incredible and you should get the found new hardware notification, select the No, not this time radio button, Install from a specific location(Advanced), Don't search, I will chose the driver to install. You should now have "Android Composite USB Device" in the white field selection box, click have disk and browse to the location of the android_winusb.inf file and click ok. Click next and it should install the USB driver you need for ADB to work properly.

Now if you click Start->(right click)My Computer->Properties->Hardware(tab)->Device Manager, you should see Android Phone at the top then when you open the tree you should see Android Composite USB Interface.
This will enable you to use the Android SDK from a command prompt to access your Incredible.

Once that is done open a command prompt by clicking Start->Run(XP) or the search box in W7 and type CMD(in W7 you need to right click command prompt and run as admin.). Then in the command prompt window type; cd (your file path to Android-sdk). now to test it type adb shell and press enter then reboot recovery and press enter. This should reboot your Incredible into recovery. (You can also type reboot bootloader to get to that screen.)

Once you make sure that is working press vol. up and power, then select reboot with the power button. GO back into Settings and deslect the USB debugging check box. Now we need to get adb shell to loop so that it can catch the Incredible in its flawed sequence that allows us to access the phone in recovery. Navigate your command prompt box to your tools folder and then follow these directions courtesy of prerunnerseth over at AndroidForums.com

type edit loop.bat

in edit enter the following

Code:
@echo off
:TOP
adb shell
GOTO TOP
press alt-f then x

hit enter for yes

Here is a link to Androidforums.com with two different methods for gaining root access on your phone.

This is a great 10 min. video on how to root as well.

I hope this helps clear some confusion up for those that can't quite get the Android Composite USB interface going. This credited to all parties involved and is just a collection of info.
Last edited by tdavis42; 12th June 2010 at 10:40 PM.
12th June 2010, 10:42 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Knoxville
Thanks Meter: 110
 
470 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
More
So what you are saying is we need to take it off of debug mode before looping the shell command?
12th June 2010, 11:23 PM   |  #3  
SeanRinVA's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
114 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
Hmmm...I had mine in Debug mode every time (failed every time, too). Ok...headed to BB to get the PNY card and try again w/o debug mode on.
Last edited by SeanRinVA; 13th June 2010 at 03:05 AM.
12th June 2010, 11:29 PM   |  #4  
touchpro247's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 302
 
1,237 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
Donate to Me
Here's the android_winusb.inf file for the Incredible.

Switch this file out with the one that's inside your AndroidSDK/usb_driver folder.

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=S2H4R3QZ

Here's the adb shell loop for Windows.

I placed it inside my AndroidSDK/tools folder.

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=N0150VUI

I hope this helps!
Last edited by touchpro247; 12th June 2010 at 11:40 PM.
12th June 2010, 11:32 PM   |  #5  
touchpro247's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 302
 
1,237 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeanRinVA

Hmmm...I had mine in Debug mode every time. Ok...headed to BB to get the PNY card and try again w/o debug mode on.

I had mine on and it worked. Try, try, try you'll get it!

Good luck!!!
12th June 2010, 11:42 PM   |  #6  
rynosaur's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Dekalb
Thanks Meter: 28
 
765 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeanRinVA

Hmmm...I had mine in Debug mode every time. Ok...headed to BB to get the PNY card and try again w/o debug mode on.

Report back. Rooting the DI will only get simpler and more reliable the old fashioned way: a LEAK from HTC!! If we had something to flash from fastboot or recovery without first obtaining root, we would all have root except for those who didn't check their MD5's, in which case they'd brick. So this new (not you, OP, or you Unrevoked team, but this exploit in general), ****ty, hard way = relatively safe, totally unreliable. Old way = almost 100% reliable but little room for error.
13th June 2010, 03:46 AM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
126 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
jesus this is frustrating
when i click on android phone it says android adb interface am i doing something wrong??! also when i try to install sdk a black box flashes then leaves immediately
13th June 2010, 04:39 AM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Knoxville
Thanks Meter: 110
 
470 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sylent101

when i click on android phone it says android adb interface am i doing something wrong??! also when i try to install sdk a black box flashes then leaves immediately

It is supposed to say that... and you can't install the android sdk you can only open it... its is just a basic dos applicarion with a GUI front of it if I'm not mistaken so just try redownloading it
13th June 2010, 04:49 AM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Flag Central California
Thanks Meter: 6
 
755 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
Try following the 10 minute video exactly on a cpu that does not have the sdk already on it. I used the same exact sd card and could not get it on my pc that already had the sdk , sync , drivers on it. I followed the instructions on the 10 minute video using the sdk and htc sync from the video link on a machine that did not have them prior and it worked first try using the first (adb shell) method. I think it had something to do with the prior sdk install I had.
13th June 2010, 06:18 AM   |  #10  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
89 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
another let down, tried with the 10 mins video also, oh well

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes