Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Garminfone

OP Tim2246

13th June 2010, 11:15 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
64 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2006
More
I have my new garmin asus its called the Garminfone and it is through tmobile I love it. Now how to get root? I want to be able to do wifi tether as the speeds achieved through mine usb tethered is awesome. Anyone considering trying to get root on this just released doll?
20th June 2010, 11:25 PM   |  #2  
b0ricuaguerrero's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag brooklyn, N.Y
Thanks Meter: 161
 
484 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007
Donate to Me
More
i would like to know if this phone is rooted already or being worked on?
21st June 2010, 01:24 AM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
64 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2006
More
Rooting
No its not rooted.
Thats the problem ive rooted many g1's but i cant even figure how to get this into the recovery screen. Tried hold power and camera button. tried volume down and power button nothing. Help .
I want to root this phone so bad.
**** i dont even know how to do a dump.
I do have a terminal program which lets me see the files system on the phone by typing ls at the command prompt is pretty much all i know.. Soo all the help i can get would be great.
25th July 2010, 04:40 AM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
New font
Yeah I just recently got the phone, and was very, very disappointed that Android won't let me install new fonts (for other language) without "root"ing the fone.

I know Android 2.2 comes out with more support on Asian languages, but it doesn't seem Garmin would update their phone soon.

Therefore I am looking for a way to root the phone too.

obsidian - looks like you are one step closer. Hope you can get it soon.
12th August 2010, 08:49 PM   |  #5  
NotATreoFan's Avatar
Moderator Committee Developer Committee
Flag Eastern Seaboard
Thanks Meter: 4,768
 
14,790 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2006
More
This post shall serve as the first and only warning regarding the Garmin application and maps. Anybody who shares them or asks for them to be shared will be banned.
22nd August 2010, 06:12 PM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
19 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
Thumbs down
Quote:
Originally Posted by NotATreoFan

This post shall serve as the first and only warning regarding the Garmin application and maps. Anybody who shares them or asks for them to be shared will be banned.

There are tons of closed topics about sharing garmin navi or dump - the "garmin people" can effectively scare moderators, so not a single work on extracting the app can be discussed, but where are the "garmin people" when it's about answering e-mails or quotes on their official forums? Why they don't want to answer if the garmin app will be available for android phones and when?
Maybe mods should ignore their requests untill they answer our questions - we do not want any warez, we just want a quality, working offline navigation app!

//Sorry for off topic, every other topic I tried was already closed//
22nd August 2010, 06:36 PM   |  #7  
NotATreoFan's Avatar
Moderator Committee Developer Committee
Flag Eastern Seaboard
Thanks Meter: 4,768
 
14,790 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by klon000

There are tons of closed topics about sharing garmin navi or dump - the "garmin people" can effectively scare moderators, so not a single work on extracting the app can be discussed, but where are the "garmin people" when it's about answering e-mails or quotes on their official forums? Why they don't want to answer if the garmin app will be available for android phones and when?
Maybe mods should ignore their requests untill they answer our questions - we do not want any warez, we just want a quality, working offline navigation app!

//Sorry for off topic, every other topic I tried was already closed//

To my knowledge, we have not received complaints from Garmin about this thread. However, saying that Garmin will not answer your questions on their official forum does not permit the discussion of how to rip the maps out of their product here.
23rd August 2010, 02:36 AM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
144 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
I am new to the forum and hacking Android.

I am not interested in ripping Garmin Maps out of my phone.

I have a T-Mobile Garminfone here in Canada.

Here's the question: the Nuvifone A50 (Garminfone in USA) has different specs than then USA release. Namely the HSDPA frequencies.

hxxps://buy.garmin.com/shop/shop.do?pID=52024#specsTab

that's the Europe A50: "Networks: HSDPA Cat 8 7.2Mbps, HSPA / WCDMA 850 / 900 / 1700 / 1900 / 21001, GSM 850 / 900 / 1800 / 1900, GPRS EDGE Class 12"

From T-Mobile USA: Networks: GSM 850 / 900 / 1800 / 1900, GPRS EDGE Class 12, UMTS HSPA 2100/1700, HSDPA Cat 8, 7.2 Mbps.

Looks to me as though the European A50 supports HSDPA 850/900/1900 where the T-mobile USA one does not.


So, will rooting permit the T-Mobile phone to use the full spectrum of frequencies as the A50 does in Europe?

I tried to post links, but as a new user the system prohibits it to avoid spam.

It's got a Qualcomm MSM7227 CPU.

I suspect ASUS has locked these frequencies down via firmware somehow rather than build 2 differnt versions of the same phone.
Last edited by Spazmogen; 1st September 2010 at 02:54 AM.
24th August 2010, 02:11 AM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
144 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
OK. I've been able to root the Garminfone. At least according to Universal Androot 1.6. But Titanium Backup says its NOT rooted as I have to transfer SuperUser files from SD card to phone.

How do I make a dump of the ROM?

I tried to link to a picture as proof, but that is still locked down as I am a new user.

I guess the last few lines of the log file should suffice:

getprop ro.product.model
Garminfone
getprop ro.product.brand
garmin-asus
getprop ro.product.name
a50
getprop ro.product.manufacturer
garmin-asus
getprop ro.build.product
a50
Install rootkit: true
Exploit delete success
Last edited by Spazmogen; 24th August 2010 at 06:19 PM.
31st August 2010, 11:40 PM   |  #10  
jdedeaux's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
139 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
in most cases xda would be the first stop for any of my mobile phone remedies, but in this case, the guys over on the TMO forums have this one on the right track, rather than having threads mod locked for odd reasons.

http://forums.t-mobile.com/t5/Operat...ES/td-p/454860

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes