Mozilla Ditches Google, Makes Yahoo Default Search Engine

Mozilla and Google have had a long-standing relationship of about 10 years. Google … more

Learn More About Linux with Linux Man Pages

Linux is quite a powerful and very configurable operating system. Thanks to some user-friendly … more

Detect, Avoid IMSI-Catcher Attacks with Android IMSI-Catcher Detector

Privacy is always an important topic, as well as a delicate one to … more

Materialized LeanDroid Fights Your Poor Battery Life

Battery life has always been one of the biggest problems facing most Android devices. … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[APP] [1.0] CPUStatusLED (Charging LED as CPU status indicator) [Gingerbread too]

OP britoso

19th June 2010, 08:20 AM   |  #1  
britoso's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Orlando
Thanks Meter: 285
 
2,739 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
Donate to Me
More
What is this:
An app that uses the charging LED to show the current CPU load.
Source is up here




Video (outdated now):


Here are the colors, and the default order in which they are used: (colors may vary depending on the device)
The order of colors and threshold is configurable.
Code:
CPU%  -  COLOR
<3     -  Off
3-15   -  blue
16-40  -  green
41-75  -  amber
>=76   -  red
Works On: Should work on all. Root is needed for some models.
The logcat will tell you which LEDs were found and if root is needed.


Instructions:
Download the apk and install it. The app runs as a service in the background.
On Froyo you can email it to your gmail address, Gmail will show you an "install" option.
Otherwise:
Quote:

adb install -r CPUStatusLED.apk

ChangeLog: http://code.google.com/p/netmeterled/source/list

Todos, & Known 'bugs'
  • The Red LED does not stay lit on the N1, It always blinks by design.

Credits:
-Props to Bernhard.R.Suter creator of NetMeter, on which this was built upon. [project page]
-The awesome aChartEngine graphing API.


Download:
It is now (4/13/11) on the Market: https://market.android.com/details?i...o.cpustatusled
If you cannot access the market, get it from the project site: http://code.google.com/p/netmeterled/downloads/list
The signing key may have changed, so if you have any errors updating please uninstall the old first.
Remove NetMeter+LED or NetmeterPlus before installing CPUStatusLED or they will both set the LEDs and cause confusion.
Last edited by britoso; 11th October 2011 at 07:28 AM.
19th June 2010, 08:31 AM   |  #2  
G1-evolve's Avatar
Senior Member
Chicago
Thanks Meter: 22
 
992 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
More
Installed, nice work!
19th June 2010, 12:39 PM   |  #3  
rori~'s Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Vienna
Thanks Meter: 706
 
3,942 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
Donate to Me
wow,nice work!!!!!
19th June 2010, 12:46 PM   |  #4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
90 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Interesting stuff.. source plz?)
19th June 2010, 01:01 PM   |  #5  
commodoor's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Venlo
Thanks Meter: 66
 
911 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
More
Wow really nice one

Maybe if you can post a movie clip to show the working of it?
19th June 2010, 04:42 PM   |  #6  
britoso's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Orlando
Thanks Meter: 285
 
2,739 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by commodoor

Maybe if you can post a movie clip to show the working of it?

Added an existing video from the other thread, it shows the LED blinking. Just imagine that the blinking is off and there are 5 states (off>blue>green>amber(orange)>red). Updated OP.
19th June 2010, 04:49 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Flag Lüneburg
Thanks Meter: 33
 
1,069 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
Donate to Me
More
Will give it a try if you fix the red LED

Edit // Well, I tried it and it seems to work but it always auto closes my AppDrawer and makes the Homescreens buggy.. uninstalled since I can't use it like that :\
Last edited by pzumk; 19th June 2010 at 04:56 PM.
19th June 2010, 04:53 PM   |  #8  
britoso's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Orlando
Thanks Meter: 285
 
2,739 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by xPatriicK

Will give it a try if you fix the red LED

That will involve fixing code in /system/lib/hw/lights.qsd8k.so
A binary patch wont do it, needs to be rebuilt.

Quote:

QCT MSM7K lights Module, Google, Inc.

Update:
Interesting, only the RED LED has a frequency file associated with it. Cant find the files for "grpfreq" and "grppwm" (power status colors?) though
RED_FREQ_FILE -> /sys/class/leds/red/device/grpfreq
RED_PWM_FILE -> /sys/class/leds/red/device/grppwm
Code:
# pwd
pwd
/sys/devices/i2c-0/0-0066/leds/red

# ls -l
ls -l
-rw-r--r-- root     root         4096 2010-06-19 10:04 uevent
lrwxrwxrwx root     root              2010-06-19 10:04 subsystem -> ../../../../../class/leds
lrwxrwxrwx root     root              2010-06-19 10:03 device -> ../../../0-0066
-rw-r--r-- system   system       4096 2010-06-19 10:04 brightness
-rw-r--r-- root     root         4096 2010-06-19 10:04 max_brightness
-rw-r--r-- root     root         4096 2010-06-19 10:04 trigger
drwxr-xr-x root     root              2010-06-19 10:04 power
-rw-r--r-- system   system       4096 2010-06-18 06:20 blink
-rw-r--r-- root     root         4096 2010-06-19 10:04 off_timer

# cd /
cd /
# find . -name "grpfreq"
find . -name "grpfreq"
(no results)
Last edited by britoso; 19th June 2010 at 05:12 PM.
19th June 2010, 05:08 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
113 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
great work , mate !!!!!!!
19th June 2010, 05:13 PM   |  #10  
3Shirts's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bedford
Thanks Meter: 307
 
1,462 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
Great idea. I'll hold off until the source is available and some more progress has been made but it's a fantastic start

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes