Sony to Extend its AOSP Program to Other Devices

Sony will be offering its users the possibility to use AOSP ROMs as an alternative to the … more

Project Ara Smartphone Will Run Modified Android L with Hot Swapping

Project Ara is a very exciting topic–both for hardware and … more

Streamline Android Theme Customization with Graphic Porter

I dont have a custom theme on my Android phone, and the reason for this is because … more

Boost the Brightness of Your Sony Xperia Z1’s LED

I think the last time anyone has ever used a physical torch to find their earphones, … more
Thread Closed

[HOW-TO] Enabling Wireless N on Evo- Android Eclair 2.1

21st June 2010, 01:57 PM   |  #1  
OP Recognized Developer
Flag Walnutport, PA
Thanks Meter: 41
 
1,086 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
Donate to Me
More
THIS IS FOR ECLAIR 2.1 DO NOT USE THIS IN A FROYO 2.2 ROM. SINCE THE 2.2 UPDATE WIRELESS N IS SUPPORTED OUT THE BOX. NO NEED FOR THIS HACK IN FROYO 2.2

edited by toastcfh to avoid mishaps

Update: Thanks to Calkulin there are now flashable zips on my blog post as well as just the driver. Just flash them like any other update.zip file.

So the Evo's WiFi chip supports Wireless N technology, which allows for faster throughput on your WiFi connection. To use this you obviously need a Wireless N capable AP or router. Basically, for some reason (I am going to assume battery life?), HTC decided to disable the wireless n capability of this chip but this can be fixed. Since we don't have the source for the driver we need to use a hex editor. Note, if using AOSP wireless n will already be enabled using the AOSP driver. But if you are using a Sense rom then you will need to do the following. Also I am including a download link with the driver that you can just push if you don't want to get dirty with a hex editor. Anyway, here we go:

1. Download a hex editor (I just googled hex editor and downloaded this one: http://www.chmaas.handshake.de/delph...vi32/xvi32.htm)
2. Go into a command prompt or shell and perform:
Code:
adb pull /system/lib/modules/bcm4329.ko ./bcm4329.ko.old
adb pull /system/lib/modules/bcm4329.ko ./bcm4329.ko
This will pull the file and make a backup in case you need to replace the backup.
3. In your hex editor open the file you just pulled. Now, in two spots HTC added 'nmode' in here to disable Wireless N. All we have to do is modify this string to be any other 5 character string and wireless N will be enabled. I did a search and replace and replaced 'nmode' with '-----' (Note: Do not include the single quotes).
4. Save the file.
5. Perform the following in a command prompt or shell:
Code:
mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system
adb push bcm4329.ko /system/lib/modules/bcm4329.ko
Now wireless N should be enabled on your device. If not, restart it and try. If you ever want to restore your original just perform the following:
Code:
mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system
adb push bcm4329.ko.old /system/lib/modules/bcm4329.ko
.

Below is the download link for the already modified wireless driver.
http://objectunoriented.com/android/?p=35
Last edited by toastcfh; 17th August 2010 at 05:49 PM.
21st June 2010, 02:08 PM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
I downloaded the file and pushed it to my phone. I restarted the phone and once it came back up it connected on 802.11n. So far been working perfectly.
21st June 2010, 02:08 PM   |  #3  
liquidhaste's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Lakeland
Thanks Meter: 9
 
101 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
Donate to Me
More
Sounds good, will try when I get home. But I have to say I was expecting this after I heard that the incredible is getting a patch to enable wireless n.
21st June 2010, 02:08 PM   |  #4  
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 1,264
 
1,931 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
wow. clever little patch. im excited to try this! hopefully will at least allow better throughput if not also better signal with wireless n! thanks!!

on a technical side note, any reason why your /system is mtdblock3 while mine is mtdblock4?
21st June 2010, 02:12 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag Jax and The DMV
Thanks Meter: 613
 
3,129 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
Donate to Me
More
cant wait to try this.... thanks
21st June 2010, 02:15 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag Minneapolis, MN
Thanks Meter: 0
 
107 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
good stuff! gonna try this.
21st June 2010, 02:21 PM   |  #7  
OP Recognized Developer
Flag Walnutport, PA
Thanks Meter: 41
 
1,086 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by joeykrim

wow. clever little patch. im excited to try this! hopefully will at least allow better throughput if not also better signal with wireless n! thanks!!

on a technical side note, any reason why your /system is mtdblock3 while mine is mtdblock4?

That's just the command I used when I mounted the system directory as writeable when I had my Hero. Should it be 4 instead of 3?
21st June 2010, 02:22 PM   |  #8  
OP Recognized Developer
Flag Walnutport, PA
Thanks Meter: 41
 
1,086 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by liquidhaste

Sounds good, will try when I get home. But I have to say I was expecting this after I heard that the incredible is getting a patch to enable wireless n.

I have actually had this working for maybe a week now in my latest Superersonic rom but since I haven't had time to fix the root problem with that rom I just decided to post this seperately.
21st June 2010, 02:27 PM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
most of the power issues/concerns with wireless-n are targetted at the AP/Router i think... wondering if anyone has been seeing a drop in battery power though.
21st June 2010, 02:33 PM   |  #10  
OP Recognized Developer
Flag Walnutport, PA
Thanks Meter: 41
 
1,086 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by poporo

most of the power issues/concerns with wireless-n are targetted at the AP/Router i think... wondering if anyone has been seeing a drop in battery power though.

That was just an assumption. I had nothing to back that up lol

Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes