5,600,612 Members 34,064 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[TOOL/KITCHEN] - Android Builder v.5 (Dead)

Tip us?
 
gnarlyc
Old
#11  
gnarlyc's Avatar
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 55
Posts: 441
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Raleigh, NC
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sjflowerhorn View Post
k thanks i think it worked the same even with the error but got it =)
Good deal. Let me know how it goes.
 
dsixda
Old
#12  
dsixda's Avatar
Recognized Developer / Retired Senior Moderator
Thanks Meter 4773
Posts: 9,567
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Ottawa
gnarlyc --

Have you thought of making this into a .plugin file that can be placed in the scripts/plugins folder of the HTC Android Kitchen? Then that way you won't need to update your scripts each time I update my kitchen :)

In my thread I could provide a link to your tool, so that people can add that plugin if they want.
 
gnarlyc
Old
#13  
gnarlyc's Avatar
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 55
Posts: 441
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Raleigh, NC
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsixda View Post
gnarlyc --

Have you thought of making this into a .plugin file that can be placed in the scripts/plugins folder of the HTC Android Kitchen? Then that way you won't need to update your scripts each time I update my kitchen :)

In my thread I could provide a link to your tool, so that people can add that plugin if they want.
The thought has occurred to me.

Give me a bit. A link in your thread would be great. It might even motivate me to add more devices. Getting stuck on adding Eris proprietary bits has lead me down the road of making a ROM (http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=725447) and documenting the process. I'll get back to Android Builder soon though.

Ok, so...

TO-DO
-------
1) rewrite AB as a plugin to dsixda's HTC Android Kitchen
2) add proprietary bits for Eris
3) add more devices
4) add CM repos
5) add Gingerbread repo
6) add compatibility with more distros
 
lord194409
Old
#14  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Jun 2010
i am getting line 28: update-java-alernatives: command not found?
 
gnarlyc
Old
#15  
gnarlyc's Avatar
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 55
Posts: 441
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Raleigh, NC
Quote:
Originally Posted by lord194409 View Post
i am getting line 28: update-java-alernatives: command not found?
Interesting... I've tested from a freshly installed Ubuntu installation several times. It should install everything you need.

You could try 'update-alternatives --config java' and let me know what it says. You could also look for a file called 'setup_ran' in the root of the Kitchen, and delete it. Start './abmenu' after that and try again.
 
lord194409
Old
#16  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Jun 2010
thanks for answering. Could the problem be that i installed it on cygwin.
 
gnarlyc
Old
#17  
gnarlyc's Avatar
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 55
Posts: 441
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Raleigh, NC
Quote:
Originally Posted by lord194409 View Post
thanks for answering. Could the problem be that i installed it on cygwin.
Yes. Android Builder will not work under cygwin. I don't know that it ever will. That's on the TO-DO list, but it's so far down that it's not on the posted TO-DO list.

I've only tested under Xubuntu 10.04 and minimal Ubuntu 10.04.

If you happen to work it out on cygwin, let me know! I'm sure others would be happy to have the option. Heck, I might even be. I'm mainly using Ubuntu because of AB anyway. (Although, it is kind of growing on me.)
 
lord194409
Old
#18  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Jun 2010
thanks i will look in to it.


Sent from my Eris using XDA App
 
Geo411m
Old
#19  
Geo411m's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 532
Posts: 935
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Newington CT

 
DONATE TO ME
just wanted to let you know that it didn't work for me. It runs, gives some errors and outputs a update.zip called AOSPbase but the file is only 1.1kb in size.
[Status] Rooted
[Recovery] Clockworkmod Recovery 6.0.1.9
[ROM] Custom JOP40D JellyBean
[Kernel] Stock
[Launcher] Stock

If you like my work, you can always buy me a soda.
Dropbox Invite. We both receive free extra storage.
 
tenzomonk
Old
#20  
tenzomonk's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 29
Posts: 828
Join Date: May 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geo411m View Post
just wanted to let you know that it didn't work for me. It runs, gives some errors and outputs a update.zip called AOSPbase but the file is only 1.1kb in size.
make sure you have java5 and java6 jre/jdk installed. it should work then. i had a similar issue the first time through... took it literally 10hours plus, then output was the 1.1k AOSPBase.zip file.

manually installed all java components, and everything worked perfectly then (and took half the time)
Twitter - http://twitter.com/tenzomonk
YouTube - http://www.youtube.com/user/TenzoMonk
-------------------
Got Taint? / Got Vanilla? / Got Stock? / Got Mix?
-------------------

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

TasGear: A Tasker Extension for the Samsung Galaxy Gear

With wearable technology taking center stage this year, one can only expect more … more

Intelligently Place Contacts on Your Home Screen with CallWho Widget

There are plenty of ways to get your contacts to show up on your … more

Control TWRP from within Android with TWRP Coordinator

You may recall that back when TWRP2 introduced a couple of years ago, it brought with … more

Keep Track of Everything Your Device Does with Event Logger

Regardless of their OS choice, computing power users generally share one common … more