Gmail 5.0: Material Design and Multiple Account Support

Google started to materialize many of its applications right after announcing the … more

Some of Our Favorite Features in Android 5.0 Lollipop

Android 5.0 Lollipop is the latest major revision to Google’s mobile operating … more

Sony SmartEyeglass SDK Developer Preview Released

A little over a month ago in Tokyo, Japan, Sony unveiled its new SmartEyeglasstechnology. … more

XDA and Leaseweb: Server Trial/Moto 360 Contest (Winners!)

About a month ago, we held a contest along with XDA’s host, Leaseweb, to … more
Post Reply

QuickDesk Beta

OP x.v_

21st June 2010, 11:45 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
170 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
This is probably one of the best apps I have seen in a long time!

1. Get it on the market
2. Set as default home
3. Set the home you were using before in settings
4. Double tap home anywhere and see a mini homescreen!

It's VERY similar to Apple's overlay feature on Macs (middle button) which lets you put widgets and access them at any time.

Try it out!

http://www.droid-life.com/2010/06/21...ndroid-market/
^some pictures and a little more info
22nd June 2010, 01:10 AM   |  #2  
nfcrockett's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Indianapolis
Thanks Meter: 4
 
143 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
More
YES! Exactly what I need when I walk outside and bam the sunlight hits the screen, press home twice to access the power control widget and turn the brightness up, never even leaving the app I was in! I love Faruq Rasid's work, first the HelixLaunchers and now QuickDesk!
22nd June 2010, 02:05 AM   |  #3  
Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
98 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
This is pretty slick.

Nice job!
22nd June 2010, 02:16 AM   |  #4  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
170 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by nightfishing

This is pretty slick.

Nice job!

I didn't make it or anything, if that was directed to me. Just sharing! :P

Quote:
Originally Posted by nfcrockett

YES! Exactly what I need when I walk outside and bam the sunlight hits the screen, press home twice to access the power control widget and turn the brightness up, never even leaving the app I was in! I love Faruq Rasid's work, first the HelixLaunchers and now QuickDesk!

Same here! It's perfect!
22nd June 2010, 04:41 AM   |  #5  
xvenom89's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ohio
Thanks Meter: 1
 
306 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
More
I've used this since it was in Alpha.\ and I absolutely love it! Everyone should use this.
22nd June 2010, 08:59 PM   |  #6  
krelvinaz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mesa AZ
Thanks Meter: 556
 
2,314 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
More
If you didn't set it up properly, it says you can clear defaults in your Android applications settings if the popup doesn't appear.

Where exactly is that. I don't want to end up clearing the wrong stuff.
22nd June 2010, 09:13 PM   |  #7  
nfcrockett's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Indianapolis
Thanks Meter: 4
 
143 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
More
Manage apps in settings menu, choose app, and then choose clear defaults.
22nd June 2010, 11:22 PM   |  #8  
techferret's Avatar
Member
Flag Ontario, CA
Thanks Meter: 15
 
73 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
More
Thumbs up
Sweet app....very useful as I need Lamppu while under a desk while using pinout so thanks!
22nd June 2010, 11:42 PM   |  #9  
krelvinaz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mesa AZ
Thanks Meter: 556
 
2,314 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nfcrockett

Manage apps in settings menu, choose app, and then choose clear defaults.

Thanks... wasn't sure which app I was clearing the default for.

Menu -> Applications -> Manage Applications -> HTC Sense -> Clear Defaults
23rd June 2010, 03:42 AM   |  #10  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
170 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by krelvinaz

Thanks... wasn't sure which app I was clearing the default for.

Menu -> Applications -> Manage Applications -> HTC Sense -> Clear Defaults

It's not a one-size-fits-all kind of thing.

Menu -> Applications -> Manage Applications -> Your default home app -> Clear Defaults

:P

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes