LG G4 Note Picture Leaked, Oxygen OS Delayed – XDA TV

The LG G4 Note has been leaked! That and much more news is covered by Jordan … more

Unofficial Android 5.1 for Samsung Galaxy Note 4

The Qualcomm edition of the Samsung Galaxy Note 4 is another device that received … more

Guide to Dual Boot Snapdragon Note 4

Dual Boot is one of the most desirable features for a flashaholic, and with this guide by XDA … more

Has ART Made a Noticeable Jump in App Performance?

We’ve received mixed reports about switching to ART but it seems that the … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Workaround for Fixing 'Unsupported Sources'

23rd June 2010, 02:07 AM   |  #1  
fluffyarmada's Avatar
OP Member
Flag St. Louis, MO
Thanks Meter: 0
 
33 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
http://forum.xda-developers.com/arch.../t-644769.html << I got my idea from there.

If you update the
Code:
/data/data/com.android.providers.settings/databases/settings.db
file so that "install_non_market_apps" = 1 instead of 0, you will be able to install non-market apps off of your sdcard or wherever.

This works for me at least, but you'll have to root first.

I ended up editing the file with the SQLite Manager firefox add-on.

But, since that took me a really long time, I'll just upload the edited settings.db for you. (don't forget to make the extention .db instead of .db.txt)

Now, as far as I know, this won't mess anything up... BUT, I'd feel a lot better if someone who knows more about Android would provide some feedback before anyone else tries this. [It works for me, but I'm not sure if any other user-specific settings are kept in that file that I don't know about!]

But, at least for me, I no longer need to use adb to install apks that aren't from the Android Market.

I hope this is useful to someone...

EDIT::

You will lose your settings if you use the attached settings.db.txt file. Your best bet is to pull the file off your phone, edit it with something that understands sqlite3's database format, and then push it back. It's just better that way.

Further EDIT:: As someone pointed out later in this thread, this file unbeknownst to me when I shared it, actually has a unique ID by which phones can be identified on the android market, etc. While this isn't a huge deal, it can lead to some rather strange behavior... my phone for example has started attempting to download apps from the android market all by itself.

So--- if you want to side-load apps, change the variable in the database like I explained above.
Last edited by fluffyarmada; 30th June 2010 at 10:47 AM.
23rd June 2010, 04:16 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
269 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
More
Sorry, completely new to android but where would you put this file so it would allow side-loading?
23rd June 2010, 04:27 AM   |  #3  
fluffyarmada's Avatar
OP Member
Flag St. Louis, MO
Thanks Meter: 0
 
33 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
You'd have to replace
Code:
/data/data/com.android.providers.settings/databases/settings.db
with it. You'll have to have your phone rooted first though. Then you'll have to transfer the file to your phone with adb, and you'll then copy it over the existing settings.db file.


Honestly, it might not even be worth the trouble now that attn1 is just doing the whole ROMs.

But make sure you take off the .txt.
23rd June 2010, 08:05 AM   |  #4  
attn1's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 1,808
 
2,548 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
More
This works. Thanks.
24th June 2010, 03:09 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
19 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
For some reason, i'm getting a permissons error regardless that i successfuly rooted my phone...o_o
24th June 2010, 03:17 PM   |  #6  
attn1's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 1,808
 
2,548 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by justince

For some reason, i'm getting a permissons error regardless that i successfuly rooted my phone...o_o

did you boot the phone and do adb remount with debugging enabled?
24th June 2010, 03:21 PM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
19 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
USB debugging? Yeah.
What i did was i used the other method to sideload root explorer, took the settings.db.txt, deleted the .txt part and replaced it via root explorer, and now i can sideload whenever...however, when i try to delete any of the att bloatware, its read only o_o fawking att
Can anyone confirm any other way to remove bloatware without flashing the rom?
Last edited by justince; 24th June 2010 at 03:28 PM.
24th June 2010, 03:32 PM   |  #8  
attn1's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 1,808
 
2,548 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by justince

USB debugging? Yeah.
What i did was i used the other method to sideload root explorer, took the settings.db.txt, deleted the .txt part and replaced it via root explorer, and now i can sideload whenever...however, when i try to delete any of the att bloatware, its read only o_o fawking att
Can anyone confirm any other way to remove bloatware without flashing the rom?

That's why made the ROM without all that -er- stuff.
24th June 2010, 11:43 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
173 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by attn1

That's why made the ROM without all that -er- stuff.

Attn's Rom is ****ing great. many thanks btw
27th June 2010, 05:52 PM   |  #10  
judicious's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bay Area, CA
Thanks Meter: 4
 
437 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
More
a little help please
a bit confused..

how do i type in this code "/data/data/com.android.providers.settings/databases/settings.db"?

adb /data/data/com.android.providers.settings/databases/settings.db

or something else because that doesnt work.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes