5,604,507 Members 46,616 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Can't Boot Into Recovery

Tip us?
 
madflava54
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 151
Join Date: Jun 2010
Default Can't Boot Into Recovery

Whenever I try to boot into recovery to install a ROM, it automatically does the HBoot. I don't have the option to go to Recovery. What did I do wrong?
 
chazglenn3
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 55
Posts: 660
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Tacoma, WA, USA
Sounds like you need to press the other volume button when you boot into recovery. I can't remember which one is correct...volume up or volume down...try the opposite of what you are doing now.
 
madflava54
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 151
Join Date: Jun 2010
Can I delete the PC36IMG.zip file? I feel like that is the culprit.
 
chazglenn3
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 55
Posts: 660
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Tacoma, WA, USA
Yes. I renamed mine, but you can delete it.
 
chuckhriczko
Old
#5  
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 41
Posts: 1,083
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Walnutport, PA

 
DONATE TO ME
Yeah basically the bootloader will look for PC36IMG.zip every time you enter it so if it's there it will go through that process all over again. Either rename it or delete it and your problem will be solved.
 
GumboChief
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 216
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Chicago
I have flashed clockworkmod, but also dont see how to directly boot into it.

When I power-on, if I press down, it goes to hboot. It I press up, I think it goes to fastboot.


The only way I can get into it, is to use rom manager, or go hboot and then choose the recovery option.

Can someone tell me what the official buttons are?
 
Stunna4life888
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 189
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Waynesville, NC
You need to take the pc36img off your sd card or rename it. Then press volume down to recovery then power button. Will then boot to a black screen with a red triangle and a EVO in the background. Then run your batch file as admin from your Evo-Recovery file. You should now been in your Recovery Mode
 
webs05
Old
#8  
webs05's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 32
Posts: 485
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quad Cities
Yes from HBoot you need to choose recovery (assuming you renamed pc36img). That is how I did it. Once you have a custom ROM installed on the phone, download ROM manager and flash the recovery from the app. Then use quickboot to boot to recovery if you need to. But installing custom ROMs from Rom Manager is easiest.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

SideControl Gains New Powers through Xposed

You may recall that a little overa month ago, we first talked about SideCutsby XDA Forum … more

Leak Points to Windows Start Menu’s Return as Soon as August

About a month ago at this year’s Build conference, Microsoft … more

Wearables Walkthrough: Tasker on the Samsung Galaxy Gear – XDA Developer TV

The future certainly looks like it is full of wearables. … more

WinDroid HTC Toolkit Lets You Root, Unlock, and Flash ROMs on Various HTC Devices

Plenty of users nowadays have more than one mobile device. … more