FaceTime on Android?

OP RanEnRui

24th June 2010, 11:43 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Flag Charlotte, NC
Thanks Meter: 0

32 posts
More
Well, I'm sure I'm not the only one thinking this. As you guys can imagine, FaceTime is going to be the new craze among iPhone 4 users. As much as I hate to say it, Apple will be the ones to make voice calling finally take off.

Qik is meh, and Skype video chat is still up in the air (no pun intended).

So that begs the question, would it be possible to make a device such as the Evo emulate FaceTime (with an iPhone 4 caller). Considering it's over WiFi, I don't see how it couldn't be possible.

They claim FaceTime is supposed to be an "open" standard, though I am a bit dubious to this considering H.264/AAC is involved.

Anyhow, all licensing and networking aside, I think we can agree that it is somewhat remotely possible and also really neat of an idea.

I know it's a bit early, but are there any teams talking about/working on this? I'm a developer (and learning the Android ropes at the moment) and would love to help contribute to something like this.

Comments, thoughts, and suggestions all welcome!
24th June 2010, 11:48 PM   |  #2  
Flag Austin, TX
Thanks Meter: 4

167 posts
More
Yup, we'll see it eventually. As you said, FaceTime is an open standard and will probably be adopted on many different platforms. H.264 and AAC encoding's wont cause a problem, and will actually be beneficial due to it's compression versus quality ratio. Couple that together with the fact that the Evo already supports them out of the box, it's a no-brainer!
24th June 2010, 11:48 PM   |  #3  
Flag Columbus
Thanks Meter: 1

282 posts
More
Eventually most likely all devices will connect somehow. This is a question though and would be more fit for the Q&A forum
24th June 2010, 11:56 PM   |  #4  
Thanks Meter: 37

247 posts
The cool thing will be that we will likely be able to connect to FaceTime via 3G/4G and they will need Wifi because of Apple/ATT's control.