ZArchive Manages Your File Archives

Today smartphones are quite powerful devices that can handle multiple processes at once. In fact, some of … more

Regain Double Tap to Wake Functionality on the Nexus 6

A few months ago, Google announced its newest flagship device, the Nexus 6, alongside … more

Clean Your Recent Apps – XDA Xposed Tuesday

In this day and age, you have quite a few apps installed and running on your Android … more

Android Studio Reaches Release Candidate Status

Android app developers have a few options when comes to Android IDEs. One of the most … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Buy the app again from Market?

OP harisled

25th June 2010, 10:28 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Flag Athens
Thanks Meter: 6
 
86 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Hello, yesterday I flashed a new rom on my desire, and when i tried to download some apps that i have bought before, the market shows me the payment screen again.
Do you know why is this happening and how can i fix it??

Thanks
25th June 2010, 10:42 AM   |  #2  
dnlgee's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Newcastle
Thanks Meter: 83
 
987 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Donate to Me
More
Have you recently changed your googlemail to gmail?

Sent from my HTC Desire using Tapatalk
25th June 2010, 11:33 AM   |  #3  
OP Member
Flag Athens
Thanks Meter: 6
 
86 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
no, but i use my google apps username often(for the same google account), you think that is the case??
25th June 2010, 11:51 AM   |  #4  
dnlgee's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Newcastle
Thanks Meter: 83
 
987 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by harisled

no, but i use my google apps username often(for the same google account), you think that is the case??

Quite possibly.. if you keep changing it might just need a few hours to re-sync.

Sent from my HTC Desire using Tapatalk
25th June 2010, 06:34 PM   |  #5  
OP Member
Flag Athens
Thanks Meter: 6
 
86 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Here is what i have done:
I have been using my Google Apps username (XXX@XXX.com) which can be used to redirect to the Google Account that i have on the Gmail (XXX@gmail.com) for the Google services that aren't provided for hosted domains.

The previous orders have been charged on the Gmail Account (XXX@gmail.com) since there can't be a Google Checkout Account on a Google Apps domain.

Yesterday when i set up the phone i used the Gmail username, and after searching those apps it asked for payment.

So, what is wrong with all this? Since the apps are bought in the XXX@gmail.com email, what is the problem with Android Market?

I also have to say that i use market enabler since i live in a non-supported country and faked to the US carrier.

This is really troubling :S

I contacted the support of one of the apps and they advised to buy again and they will refund the previous charge.

Unfortunately this is not a good solution even though it is fair :|
26th June 2010, 11:41 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag Ealing
Thanks Meter: 311
 
3,858 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by harisled

Here is what i have done:
I have been using my Google Apps username (XXX@XXX.com) which can be used to redirect to the Google Account that i have on the Gmail (XXX@gmail.com) for the Google services that aren't provided for hosted domains.

If I understand you correctly, when you original purchased your apps you used your XXX@XXX.com account which is a Google Apps for Domains account.

Since the Market doesn't allow Google Checkout with Apps for Domains accounts, when you purchased it would have asked you to use an alternate XXX@gmail.com account.

Assuming this is the case, your purchases are still linked to your original XXX@XXX.com account (which is fine), but you have now logged into your phone directly with your XXX@gmail.com account. It seems that the GMail account is only required to link with Google Checkout, and your apps are not linked to this account.

If you reset your phone and log back in again as XXX@XXX.com, you should be ok.

I also use an Apps for Domains account, and I can tell you that this works fine for me.

Regards,

DAve
26th June 2010, 11:47 AM   |  #7  
OP Member
Flag Athens
Thanks Meter: 6
 
86 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
I see..
Well I had changed to the gmail login for some reasons so I suppose I have to buy the apps again :|

Thanks for the reply though

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes