Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,732,206 Members 44,174 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Debian on the X10

Tip us?
 
aget1
Old
(Last edited by aget1; 30th June 2010 at 06:31 AM.)
#11  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 20
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by ddewbofh View Post
And I assume you're either running the script or doing those commands manually? Including the mknod part?
i run the script and found no luck, so i type in both adb and console, of coz mknod is done, either mkdir /data/local/mnt is done or not gives the same result, tried also mounting without loop,noatime and gives
Code:
mount: Block device required
would it be rooting problem or mount problem?

also tried losetup -d /dev/loop0, no luck
Code:
losetup: /dev/loop0: Device or resource busy
 
aget1
Old
#12  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 20
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keegan_P View Post
This may sound kind of noobish, but would this be a dual-boot (I.e. running both android and debian on different boots of the phone, or would this be debian, until you reset the phone to be android again.

Sent from my X10a using XDA App
i see this to be a remounting of debian system on your phone, no modification on your phone so no, no dual boot
 
MrPappy86
Old
#13  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 219
Join Date: Dec 2008
anybody can post a video tutorial please?
and the debian and android works together or just debian?

thx
For all ROM developers in this forum:
http://www.funpic.hu/swf/thks.html

Samsung Omnia 7

Windows Phone 7.8 User (7.10.8835.35)
[OM7] mi7Rom WP7.8 Edition Nokia Mod v2
 
Keegan_P
Old
#14  
Keegan_P's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 140
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Calgary
A video tutorial would be amazing.

Sent from my X10a using XDA App
 
samaldis
Old
#15  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 8
Join Date: Apr 2009
I will upload a video tutorial asap but at the moment I am having to use a 3G dongle for my internet (just moved out, am poor.. all donations to team@net-aware.co.uk on paypal ;)) also this runs along side (or on top of) android so you'll still be able to get your texts and calls.. finally there are already a lot of debian apps compiled for ARM systems so have a look to see if the app you want is on apt (make sure you've run apt-get update first) please pm me if you have any problems :)
Thanks,
Sam Aldis
 
alx5962
Old
#16  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 104
Posts: 246
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lille
I tried to run it on the latest firmware and it seems loop device kernel module is not available in it.

Also the script is not fully functional :
you need to 'mkdir /data/local/mnt/'
also it's '/data/local' instead of 'data/local'

I haven't spend much time on this, so it's not working for now on my phone.
So help is welcome
Samsung Note II
Nexus 5
Nexus 7

I don't ask for donation, but at least fill my thanks meter
 
ddewbofh
Old
#17  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 605
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Göteborg
Quick question:

Has anyone at all gotten this to work?
 
zephyrix
Old
#18  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 256
Join Date: Apr 2010
nope. I doubt it.
 
alx5962
Old
(Last edited by cvchetan; 1st July 2010 at 07:22 PM.)
#19  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 104
Posts: 246
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lille
mod edit:..
Samsung Note II
Nexus 5
Nexus 7

I don't ask for donation, but at least fill my thanks meter
 
aget1
Old
(Last edited by aget1; 2nd July 2010 at 06:26 AM.)
#20  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 20
Join Date: Jul 2008
sorry for stupid me, i don't know i can create loop device more than loop 0
i create loop0,loop1,loop2,loop7 and try mounting again, it success this time
so here is my script:
Code:
#!/system/bin/bash
export PATH=/data/local/bin:/usr/bin:/usr/sbin:/bin:$PATH
if [ ! -d /data/local/mnt ]
  then
	mkdir /data/local/mnt
fi

if [ ! -b /dev/loop2 ]
  then
  	mknod /dev/loop0 b 7 0
	mknod /dev/loop1 b 7 0
	mknod /dev/loop2 b 7 0
	mknod /dev/loop7 b 7 0
fi

if [ ! -d /data/local/mnt/bin ]
  then
	mount -o loop,noatime /sdcard/debian.img /data/local/mnt
fi
echo "nameserver 4.2.2.2" >data/local/mnt/etc/resolv.conf
chroot /data/local/mnt
mount -t devpts devpts /dev/pts
mount -t proc proc /proc
mount -t sysfs sysfs /sys
rm -f /etc/mtab
ln -s /proc/mounts /etc/mtab
Edited:
I just brick my device after some more work, every command even ls do no output, reboot machine freezes at sony ericsson logo, now i am re rooting the device......

Edited 2:
Should be not the problem of debian, seems working fine.

Tags
android, debian, linux installer, x10
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Run, Jump, and Shoot in Tales of Ciaxia

There are certain types of games that have become paramount of the portable gaming world. As we have … more

Samsung Gear Live Stock Firmware Image Pulled, Temp Root

Just yesterday,XDA Recognized Developer and TV ProducerAdamOutlertore apart … more

Draw a Line and Let Your Device Do the Rest with LineitApp

Over the years, since evenbefore Android entered the scene, we have striven to … more

[APK] Chrome Beta 37 Brings First Traces of Material Design

With Android L on the horizon, it’s no surprise that Google’s … more