FORUMS

Introducing Voices of XDA: Have Your Ideas Heard

By far the greatest assets we have at XDA-Developers are you, the developers, the eager … more

Unofficial Xposed For Lollipop Touchwiz With Flashable Zip

XDA Recognized Developer arter97 has released an unofficial build … more

YotaPhone 2 Pre-Order, Xperia Z1 Price Cut – XDA TV

Android Wear 5.1.1 OTA downloads are now available. That and much more news is … more

[FTF] Sony Xperia Z Lollipop Release

Sony rolled out a Lollipop update for Xperia Z just yesterday. If you still haven’t gotten … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Debian on the X10

30th June 2010, 06:18 AM |#11  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ddewbofh

And I assume you're either running the script or doing those commands manually? Including the mknod part?

i run the script and found no luck, so i type in both adb and console, of coz mknod is done, either mkdir /data/local/mnt is done or not gives the same result, tried also mounting without loop,noatime and gives
Code:
mount: Block device required
would it be rooting problem or mount problem?

also tried losetup -d /dev/loop0, no luck
Code:
losetup: /dev/loop0: Device or resource busy
Last edited by aget1; 30th June 2010 at 06:31 AM.
 
 
30th June 2010, 06:23 AM |#12  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keegan_P

This may sound kind of noobish, but would this be a dual-boot (I.e. running both android and debian on different boots of the phone, or would this be debian, until you reset the phone to be android again.

Sent from my X10a using XDA App

i see this to be a remounting of debian system on your phone, no modification on your phone so no, no dual boot
30th June 2010, 10:36 AM |#13  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
anybody can post a video tutorial please?
and the debian and android works together or just debian?

thx
30th June 2010, 03:52 PM |#14  
Keegan_P's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Calgary
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
A video tutorial would be amazing.

Sent from my X10a using XDA App
30th June 2010, 07:04 PM |#15  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
I will upload a video tutorial asap but at the moment I am having to use a 3G dongle for my internet (just moved out, am poor.. all donations to team@net-aware.co.uk on paypal ;)) also this runs along side (or on top of) android so you'll still be able to get your texts and calls.. finally there are already a lot of debian apps compiled for ARM systems so have a look to see if the app you want is on apt (make sure you've run apt-get update first) please pm me if you have any problems :)
Thanks,
Sam Aldis
1st July 2010, 08:52 AM |#16  
Senior Member
Flag Lille
Thanks Meter: 107
 
More
I tried to run it on the latest firmware and it seems loop device kernel module is not available in it.

Also the script is not fully functional :
you need to 'mkdir /data/local/mnt/'
also it's '/data/local' instead of 'data/local'

I haven't spend much time on this, so it's not working for now on my phone.
So help is welcome
1st July 2010, 08:55 AM |#17  
Senior Member
Flag Göteborg
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quick question:

Has anyone at all gotten this to work?
1st July 2010, 10:47 AM |#18  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
nope. I doubt it.
1st July 2010, 04:27 PM |#19  
Senior Member
Flag Lille
Thanks Meter: 107
 
More
mod edit:..
Last edited by cvchetan; 1st July 2010 at 07:22 PM.
2nd July 2010, 02:44 AM |#20  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
sorry for stupid me, i don't know i can create loop device more than loop 0
i create loop0,loop1,loop2,loop7 and try mounting again, it success this time
so here is my script:
Code:
#!/system/bin/bash
export PATH=/data/local/bin:/usr/bin:/usr/sbin:/bin:$PATH
if [ ! -d /data/local/mnt ]
  then
	mkdir /data/local/mnt
fi

if [ ! -b /dev/loop2 ]
  then
  	mknod /dev/loop0 b 7 0
	mknod /dev/loop1 b 7 0
	mknod /dev/loop2 b 7 0
	mknod /dev/loop7 b 7 0
fi

if [ ! -d /data/local/mnt/bin ]
  then
	mount -o loop,noatime /sdcard/debian.img /data/local/mnt
fi
echo "nameserver 4.2.2.2" >data/local/mnt/etc/resolv.conf
chroot /data/local/mnt
mount -t devpts devpts /dev/pts
mount -t proc proc /proc
mount -t sysfs sysfs /sys
rm -f /etc/mtab
ln -s /proc/mounts /etc/mtab
Edited:
I just brick my device after some more work, every command even ls do no output, reboot machine freezes at sony ericsson logo, now i am re rooting the device......

Edited 2:
Should be not the problem of debian, seems working fine.
Last edited by aget1; 2nd July 2010 at 06:26 AM.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
android, debian, linux installer, x10
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes