Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,733,198 Members 41,486 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[How To] Fix md5 mismatch nandroid restore

Tip us?
 
kentoe
Old
(Last edited by kentoe; 20th July 2010 at 06:26 PM.)
#11  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 70
Posts: 340
Join Date: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by jinkzuk View Post
For n00bs could you elaborate on this post, i'm having the same problem.

"To fix this problem use the code below"

I know this is through cmd, but what needs to be where when i'm typing exactly that in (changing the folder name etc) what screen do I need to be on. If it was more detailed, and thank you so far because this is the only post on the net, it could be very useful!
If you're messing with nandroid backups by now, we'd hope you would know how to get adb shell started.

So basically you start up adb shell in a command prompt on your computer, this connects to your phone, then you follow those commands following "adb shell"

A brief overview of getting to the adb commands >> http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=709220
Nexus 5
Rom: Stock 4.4 w/ Xposed framework + Gravity Box
Bootloader: Unlocked

Retired
Verizon Galaxy Nexus
ROM: Vicious Jellybean 4.1 (Team Liquid)
Recovery: ClockworkMod Touch v5.8.0.2
Bootloader: Unlocked

HTC Incredible - S-OFF!
ROM: Cyanogenmod 9
ClockWorkmod Recovery v3.0.0.8
Radio: 2.15.00.07.28
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to kentoe For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
seansin
Old
#12  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Aug 2010
Default permission denied error

I'm using windows 7 CMD to connect to my hero for resolving this md5 mismatch issue.

But when i type in the last command, which is -

md5sum *img > nandroid.md5

it gives me an error -

md5sum: permission denied

I tried running the cmd as administrator also but I dont know in windows how to do a 'SU' like in ubuntu.

can you please give a tip what to do ?

Sean.
 
daniel06gt
Old
#13  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 228
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Glendale, AZ
Ok wow you guys rock thanks this works great.
 
bast525
Old
#14  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 137
Posts: 456
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chesapeake, VA
THANK YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I had this happen to me today... I woulda had to spend a crapload of time getting things all set up on my phone if I hadn't found this thread. It was my fault, I changed the name of the Nandroid backup folder... I had no idea you couldn't do this.... went to restore and BOOM MD5 mismatch.... noooooooooooo.

Thank you again OP for posting this you really saved my day today.
Quote:
Originally Posted by nir36 View Post
lol. microsoft say everything they do is the next generation of things.
that doesn't mean it's a better generation
 
likemytoys
Old
#15  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Central Texas
Default Jacked up Dell Streak/ US ver. build 6601 MD5 Checksum error

After screwing up my brand new Streak, I turned to XDA and MoDaCo to fix my screw-ups. Read this and did that, and nothing would work. The buttons would flash the Dell logo would come up and freeze. So here is another solution that worked for me Step by step.

Installed the fast boot using Windows 7 64 bit I downloaded Fastboot and followed there instructions. Not sure what it did for me, but I did it.

Now as the phone was, I was unable to do any kind manipulation of the SD card. I tool the micro SD card and put it into an SD adapter and added the files via my lap top. See instructions here

Technically you don't need to worry about flashing cache.img and data.img but i performed this backup after a factory reset so your not taking any of my personal info/data

fasboot didn't work for me for so i restored with nandroid
Nandroid
+Create a folder named "Clockworkmod" on your storage card
+In that folder create a folder named "backup"
+Create a folder in "backup" named whatever you want and place boot.img, system.img, cache.img, data.img, recovery.img and nandroid.md5 in that folder.
+Flash Clockworkmod Recovery
2.5.0.1 didnt work on mine but 1.8.1.7 did :/
+Enter clockworkmod recovery
-Power on device while holding both volume keys, then select "2. Software upgrade via Update.pkd on SD Card"
Now you should be in ClockworkMod Recovery
-Scroll down to nandroid using the volume keys and press the camera button to select it
-Select Restore and choose your folder (the one you placed in the backup folder)

thanks fone_fanatic 28th August 2010, 03:14 AM

DO NOT PUT ANY SPACES IN YOUR FILE STRUCTURE. I did and it gave me an "MD5 Check Sum Error" took the space out and bam it worked.

Rebooted the phone and so far every thing works. GPS, WiFi etc and no dam flashing lights or self reboots or O2 stuff Hope this helps ya....Good luck you will need it.
 
dimebagdan65
Old
#16  
dimebagdan65's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 609
Posts: 2,096
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Las Vegas

 
DONATE TO ME
Thumbs up Ihtfp69 to the rescue again!

Man, I can never repay you for how much you've helped me out and saved my bacon! Other dev's, take note, this is an exemplary developer here and his SkyRaider rom is beyond compare!
 
cscimmia
Old
#17  
Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 43
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by seansin View Post
I'm using windows 7 CMD to connect to my hero for resolving this md5 mismatch issue.

But when i type in the last command, which is -

md5sum *img > nandroid.md5

it gives me an error -

md5sum: permission denied

I tried running the cmd as administrator also but I dont know in windows how to do a 'SU' like in ubuntu.

can you please give a tip what to do ?

Sean.
I do not have ABD on my Win 7 machine so I had to use CMD as well. I too received an error, however mine basically said that md5sum was not a recognized command. Not sure where you got md5sum for your win 7 machine, but I got mine at the following website... (fourmilab.ch/md5/) and this one worked just fine. Unzip and copy md5.exe to the system32 folder.

If you are still working through this... good luck. Hopefully it can be helpful to someone else either way. --Josh
The Following User Says Thank You to cscimmia For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
c0oL
Old
#18  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 34
Join Date: Jan 2008
OMG ihtfp69!! You're a life-saver!
 
ihtfp69
Old
#19  
ihtfp69's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 807
Posts: 1,875
Join Date: Feb 2009

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by cscimmia View Post
I do not have ABD on my Win 7 machine so I had to use CMD as well. I too received an error, however mine basically said that md5sum was not a recognized command. Not sure where you got md5sum for your win 7 machine, but I got mine at the following website... (fourmilab.ch/md5/) and this one worked just fine. Unzip and copy md5.exe to the system32 folder.

If you are still working through this... good luck. Hopefully it can be helpful to someone else either way. --Josh

Hmmm...I just used md5sum from the phone's shell. No need to get anything for Windows.
Phone #1: Rooted Droid Incredible - SkyRaider ROMs
Phone #2: Rooted Thunderbolt - SkyRaider Zeus
Tablet: Motorola Xoom

Click to follow me on Twitter!

If you like something I did, donate to my beer fund and click the Thanks button!
The Following User Says Thank You to ihtfp69 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
tdo700
Old
(Last edited by tdo700; 1st November 2010 at 06:06 AM.)
#20  
Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 41
Join Date: Oct 2010
hey i tried the steps you guys gave buy i get

# cd /sdcard/clockworkmod/backup/2010-10-30.08.23.53
cd: can't cd to /sdcard/clockworkmod/backup/2010-10-30.08.23.53

this is what i did.

I opened terminal in OSX and typed "adb shell" after that i typed "cd /sdcard/clockworkmod/backup/2010-10-30.08.23.53" but it didnt work.

anyone know what i did wrong??



i also did "adb devices" in terminal and it detects my device. i check the su on my sgs and i see my computer, it sees it as unknown.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes