NVIDIA SHIELD Tablet Gets Android 5.0.1, OTA Available

The NVIDIA SHIELD Tablet is the latest Android-powered device released by famed GPU … more

FXP Team Delivers Lollipop to Various Xperia Devices!

From all of us here at XDA-Developers, we’d like to wish you Happy Holidays! If … more

Turn Your Camera Into a Live Puzzle Game

The classic sliding puzzle game hasnt changed much, if at all, over the years. Dating all the way … more

Samsung Begins Production of 8 Gb RAM Chips

With the release of Android 5.0, our favorite mobile operating system has become 64-bit ready. … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

How to : Remove ads on HTC Legend

OP cryshop

2nd July 2010, 01:42 PM   |  #1  
cryshop's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Ho Chi Minh
Thanks Meter: 99
 
297 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
Donate to Me
More
I know this tutorial is everywhere on this forum. But with HTC Legend, it's a little different.

Read the tutorial here : http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=695411

Now I'll make it simple, just do this :

Your Legend must be rooted!

Step 1 : Download host file from the attach at the end of the post and unzip it to get the hosts file

Step 2 : Copy hosts to ADB folder (in my case : C:/android/tools) download Android SDK here

Step 3 : reboot your Legend to recovery mode (Install Rom manager on Market, Flash recovery, than reboot into Recovery mode)

Step 4 : Open Command window (Start menu > Run > cmd (windows xp) / Start menu > cmd (windows 7))

Step 5 : point to your adb folder
In my case :
Quote:

cd\
C:\cd android\tools

Step 6 :
Quote:

C:\android\tools\adb shell mount /system (Enter)
C:\android\tools\adb push hosts /system/etc/hosts (Enter)
C:\android\tools\adb reboot (Enter)

Step 7 : Done.

Note : This hosts file was updated long time ago, so it might not work with new apps. But it will disable most of the apps.
Attached Files
File Type: zip hosts.zip - [Click for QR Code] (270.0 KB, 354 views)
Last edited by cryshop; 15th November 2010 at 02:58 PM.
4th July 2010, 12:46 PM   |  #2  
snakehult's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 60
 
369 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Very nice!
5th September 2010, 10:23 PM   |  #3  
Junior Member
Flag Kolkata
Thanks Meter: 0
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Donate to Me
More
Does this work? It did not work on my Legend. I just cant get into shell when in recovery.
Precisely, "adb shell" gives an error!
6th September 2010, 12:13 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag Milan
Thanks Meter: 46
 
461 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
More
"an" error!

BTW the file hosts works for me, and not a single ad is shown on my cell
6th September 2010, 11:22 AM   |  #5  
JonasDroid's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 50
 
421 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
Isn't our recovery just pressing volume down + power then go to recovery and wait for the "!" ? cause if I try adb shell then, it tells me:
Code:
-exec '/system/bin/sh' failed: no such file or directory (2)-
am I in the wrong recovery?

it is saying I'm in recovery when asking for the "adb devices" command

EDIT: found what I was doing wrong, didn't know you needed to run the recovery-windows.bat file first

EDIT 2: still having adds (in astro)
Last edited by JonasDroid; 6th September 2010 at 11:43 AM.
9th September 2010, 01:07 PM   |  #6  
qzem's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 990
 
1,461 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Donate to Me
More
Does this thing removes adds out of free aplications, that usually have them?
11th September 2010, 05:48 AM   |  #7  
cryshop's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Ho Chi Minh
Thanks Meter: 99
 
297 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
Donate to Me
More
I updated the instruction, I hope it's easier for you to follow every steps.

Quote:

Does this thing removes adds out of free aplications, that usually have them?

It blocks the apps from connecting to the ad server. And yes, it does remove every single ad from free applications.

@Jonas : please follow the new instruction.
Last edited by cryshop; 11th September 2010 at 05:51 AM.
17th September 2010, 01:44 PM   |  #8  
BlaY0's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Medvode
Thanks Meter: 566
 
1,552 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007
More
If you would use this MOD, you would be able to write to system partition thus installing AdFree from market would be possible.
19th September 2010, 01:55 AM   |  #9  
parker09's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 169
 
890 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
I get..

Code:
C:\Users\parker\Downloads\android-sdk_r06-windows\android-sdk-windows\tools>adb shell mount /system
- exec '/system/bin/sh' failed: No such file or directory (2) -
NVM read above posts; ran Windows-recovery.bat - pushes the host.txt to the phone, now rebooting to see if it removes ads.

edit II: removes ads out of Advanced Task Killer but it keeps trying to load the ads so would that mean that its still pinging a server because that could use up a lot of data couldn't it if it keeps running?
Last edited by parker09; 19th September 2010 at 02:00 AM.
20th September 2010, 01:17 PM   |  #10  
BlaY0's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Medvode
Thanks Meter: 566
 
1,552 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by parker09

...so would that mean that its still pinging a server because that could use up a lot of data couldn't it if it keeps running?

Nope. Did you even look what's inside of that hosts file? There are adresses of ad servers pointing to localhost (that's your phone itself)...

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes