Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,769,124 Members 39,607 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

How to : Remove ads on HTC Legend

Tip us?
 
cryshop
Old
(Last edited by cryshop; 15th November 2010 at 01:58 PM.)
#1  
cryshop's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 95
Posts: 294
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ho Chi Minh

 
DONATE TO ME
Question How to : Remove ads on HTC Legend

I know this tutorial is everywhere on this forum. But with HTC Legend, it's a little different.

Read the tutorial here : http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=695411

Now I'll make it simple, just do this :

Your Legend must be rooted!

Step 1 : Download host file from the attach at the end of the post and unzip it to get the hosts file

Step 2 : Copy hosts to ADB folder (in my case : C:/android/tools) download Android SDK here

Step 3 : reboot your Legend to recovery mode (Install Rom manager on Market, Flash recovery, than reboot into Recovery mode)

Step 4 : Open Command window (Start menu > Run > cmd (windows xp) / Start menu > cmd (windows 7))

Step 5 : point to your adb folder
In my case :
Quote:
cd\
C:\cd android\tools
Step 6 :
Quote:
C:\android\tools\adb shell mount /system (Enter)
C:\android\tools\adb push hosts /system/etc/hosts (Enter)
C:\android\tools\adb reboot (Enter)
Step 7 : Done.

Note : This hosts file was updated long time ago, so it might not work with new apps. But it will disable most of the apps.
Attached Files
File Type: zip hosts.zip - [Click for QR Code] (270.0 KB, 354 views)
 
snakehult
Old
#2  
snakehult's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 60
Posts: 369
Join Date: Jun 2010
Very nice!
 
chinmoykanjilal
Old
#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 15
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Kolkata

 
DONATE TO ME
Does this work? It did not work on my Legend. I just cant get into shell when in recovery.
Precisely, "adb shell" gives an error!
 
stegg
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 46
Posts: 460
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Milan
"an" error!

BTW the file hosts works for me, and not a single ad is shown on my cell
Samsung Note 10.1" 2014 --- stock KK rooted
Huawei G700 --- stock 1.15 JB rooted
Nook ST --- stock rooted 1.21

Get 5GB extra storage space when using this referral link for 15GB free space at copy.com:
https://next-d.copy.com?r=GLAxcH for a total of 20GB
 
JonasDroid
Old
(Last edited by JonasDroid; 6th September 2010 at 10:43 AM.)
#5  
JonasDroid's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 50
Posts: 421
Join Date: Apr 2010
Isn't our recovery just pressing volume down + power then go to recovery and wait for the "!" ? cause if I try adb shell then, it tells me:
Code:
-exec '/system/bin/sh' failed: no such file or directory (2)-
am I in the wrong recovery?

it is saying I'm in recovery when asking for the "adb devices" command

EDIT: found what I was doing wrong, didn't know you needed to run the recovery-windows.bat file first

EDIT 2: still having adds (in astro)
Samsung Galaxy Tab pro 8.4, Stock ROM
Samsung Galaxy S3 GT-I9300, (Temaseks CM11)
HTC Legend S-OFF, CM7 nightlies @825MHz
Mods for Blay0's ROM: Trackpadwake / Stock Lockscreen / Wifi mod
HTC HD2, DL DesireZ v3.4 (NAND) RADIO: 2.15.50.14
 
qzem
Old
#6  
qzem's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 983
Posts: 1,439
Join Date: Jun 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Does this thing removes adds out of free aplications, that usually have them?
 
cryshop
Old
(Last edited by cryshop; 11th September 2010 at 04:51 AM.)
#7  
cryshop's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 95
Posts: 294
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ho Chi Minh

 
DONATE TO ME
I updated the instruction, I hope it's easier for you to follow every steps.

Quote:
Does this thing removes adds out of free aplications, that usually have them?
It blocks the apps from connecting to the ad server. And yes, it does remove every single ad from free applications.

@Jonas : please follow the new instruction.
 
BlaY0
Old
#8  
BlaY0's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 566
Posts: 1,552
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Medvode
If you would use this MOD, you would be able to write to system partition thus installing AdFree from market would be possible.
 
parker09
Old
(Last edited by parker09; 19th September 2010 at 01:00 AM.)
#9  
parker09's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 159
Posts: 884
Join Date: Apr 2010
I get..

Code:
C:\Users\parker\Downloads\android-sdk_r06-windows\android-sdk-windows\tools>adb shell mount /system
- exec '/system/bin/sh' failed: No such file or directory (2) -
NVM read above posts; ran Windows-recovery.bat - pushes the host.txt to the phone, now rebooting to see if it removes ads.

edit II: removes ads out of Advanced Task Killer but it keeps trying to load the ads so would that mean that its still pinging a server because that could use up a lot of data couldn't it if it keeps running?
 
BlaY0
Old
#10  
BlaY0's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 566
Posts: 1,552
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Medvode
Quote:
Originally Posted by parker09 View Post
...so would that mean that its still pinging a server because that could use up a lot of data couldn't it if it keeps running?
Nope. Did you even look what's inside of that hosts file? There are adresses of ad servers pointing to localhost (that's your phone itself)...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Remote Control Your Android Device with Monitordroid

The Android OS showsgreat potential in many areas. One of most interesting things that … more

Intel Partners with Unity to Support Android on Intel-Based Devices

Intel, largely known for their long-standing reputation as the king of … more

Device Review: Samsung Gear Live

Recently, Google announced Android Wear to the world. Android Wear is the Android-based initiative from … more

Forums Added for the Nvidia Shield Tablet and Sharp Aquos Crystal

Just a few days ago, wetook an in depth look at theNvidia Shield Tabletand … more