FORUMS

What Do You Think About Fingerprint Scanners?

More and more phones are featuring fingerprint scanners, and with many promising … more

What’s Next for Samsung and Its Flagships?

If we were to say that the Galaxy S6 was a leap of faith made by Samsung, we … more

The Ultimate Showcase of dBrand Skins

In the search for ways to protect, accessorize, and personalize; a user has many options. One … more

Huawei’s Rapid Rise to Third Place in the Smartphone Race

Huawei has quickly grown to become one of the world’s biggest … more

Return to HTC bootanimation

273 posts
Thanks Meter: 34
 
By croques, Senior Member on 4th July 2010, 09:30 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
If your particular ROM has a non-HTC bootanimation and you wish to return to the original HTC 'Quietly Brilliant' version just do this...

Copy the appended file to the tools directory of android-sdk on your desktop PC. If you don't have android-sdk Google, download and install it.

Connect your phone by USB to your PC; select Synchronize on your phone when prompted and wait for the phone to settle and OK any prompts.

On your PC, open an xterm window on linux or run cmd -w on Windoze to get a terminal window

cd to your android-sdk/tools directory -Replace your own path in the following line!!!

Code:
cd /usr/bin/android-sdk-linux_86/tools
(the following commands are for linux; for windoze miss off the ./)

Code:
./adb kill-server
./adb start-server
./adb remount
the following line moves bootanimation.zip to bootanimation.bak so you have a backup of the ROM customiser's artwork.[

Code:
./adb shell mv /system/customize/resource/bootanimation.zip  /system/customize/resource/bootanimation.bak
now we are going to upload the HTC bootanimation.zip to replace the one we've just renamed and set file permissions.

Code:
./adb push bootanimation.zip /system/customize/resource/
./adb shell chmod 0644 /system/customize/resource/bootanimation.zip
just to check...

Code:
./adb shell ls -la /system/customize/resource/boot*
should show two lines for bootanimation.bak and bootanimation.zip with each line starting -rw-r--r--

When you reboot your phone you should now have HTC's animation.
Last edited by croques; 19th February 2013 at 01:29 PM.
 
 
4th July 2010, 10:05 AM |#2  
C0mpu13rFr34k's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Randers Ně
Thanks Meter: 28
 
More
Just remember the bootanimation is not located in system/.... Sometimes it's located in data/local and in SenseHero it's located in system/media/bootscreen and then it's gif files so this doesen't work for SenseHero Nice guide BTW Also have you thaught about putting it into an update.zip to make it easier?
4th July 2010, 10:28 AM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 34
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by C0mpu13rFr34k

Just remember the bootanimation is not located in system/.... Sometimes it's located in data/local and in SenseHero it's located in system/media/bootscreen

Thanks .. I should have said this was really for Villain 12 Rom.

Quote:
Originally Posted by C0mpu13rFr34k

Also have you thaught about putting it into an update.zip to make it easier?

I'm still finding my way and haven't learnt to do that yet!
iiro
4th July 2010, 10:36 AM |#4  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Here is an update_signed.zip of that bootanimation.zip.
I just signed it, didn't test.

EDIT: This places the bootanimation.zip to /system/media/bootanimation.zip
Attached Files
File Type: zip update_signed.zip - [Click for QR Code] (570.5 KB, 238 views)
4th July 2010, 11:10 AM |#5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 34
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by iiro

EDIT: This places the bootanimation.zip to /system/media/bootanimation.zip

To work on the Villain Rom - bootanimation.zip must be in /system/customize/resource/

The signed update may well work with other roms?
4th July 2010, 11:27 AM |#6  
C0mpu13rFr34k's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Randers Ně
Thanks Meter: 28
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by iiro

Here is an update_signed.zip of that bootanimation.zip.
I just signed it, didn't test.

EDIT: This places the bootanimation.zip to /system/media/bootanimation.zip

actually that doesen't work for any ROMs. No ROMs has bootanimation.zip located there
4th July 2010, 11:44 AM |#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
More
Have a look at this thread as 1.5 bootscreens do actually work on 2.1 ROMs.

(You need to know where the bootanimation.zip is stored on your ROM first, as this needs to be removed.)
Last edited by filipharvey; 4th July 2010 at 11:51 AM.
4th July 2010, 01:13 PM |#8  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 34
 
More
A signed update zip is appended which will return the Villain 12 Rom to HTC's 'Quietly Brilliant' animation.

This is ONLY for Villain 12. It over writes Villains boot animation so if you want to keep that as an alternative the adb push method above will be better.

It has been tested.
Last edited by croques; 19th February 2013 at 01:29 PM.
4th July 2010, 04:26 PM |#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Thanks a lot, I've been trying to change my boot logo for some time now but didn't realise that VillainROM's was in a different location.
4th July 2010, 04:43 PM |#10  
C0mpu13rFr34k's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Randers Ně
Thanks Meter: 28
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by filipharvey

Have a look at this thread as 1.5 bootscreens do actually work on 2.1 ROMs.

(You need to know where the bootanimation.zip is stored on your ROM first, as this needs to be removed.)

I know that but no 2.1 ROM has the bootanimation stored there...
iiro
4th July 2010, 04:54 PM |#11  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by C0mpu13rFr34k

I know that but no 2.1 ROM has the bootanimation stored there...

At least that's where it is on VanillaEclair and CyanogenMod.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes