XDA Xposed Tuesday: XHangouts Will Improve Your Hangouts

Ever since Google started supporting text messaging in Hangouts many people have … more

Shattered Screen? Turn Your Broken Device into a Complete Media Center!

A cracked screen usually means you’ll have to spend a hefty … more

Gmail 5.0: Material Design and Multiple Account Support

Google started to materialize many of its applications right after announcing the … more

Some of Our Favorite Features in Android 5.0 Lollipop

Android 5.0 Lollipop is the latest major revision to Google’s mobile operating … more
Post Reply

Return to HTC bootanimation

OP croques

4th July 2010, 09:30 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 23
 
267 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
If your particular ROM has a non-HTC bootanimation and you wish to return to the original HTC 'Quietly Brilliant' version just do this...

Copy the appended file to the tools directory of android-sdk on your desktop PC. If you don't have android-sdk Google, download and install it.

Connect your phone by USB to your PC; select Synchronize on your phone when prompted and wait for the phone to settle and OK any prompts.

On your PC, open an xterm window on linux or run cmd -w on Windoze to get a terminal window

cd to your android-sdk/tools directory -Replace your own path in the following line!!!

Code:
cd /usr/bin/android-sdk-linux_86/tools
(the following commands are for linux; for windoze miss off the ./)

Code:
./adb kill-server
./adb start-server
./adb remount
the following line moves bootanimation.zip to bootanimation.bak so you have a backup of the ROM customiser's artwork.[

Code:
./adb shell mv /system/customize/resource/bootanimation.zip  /system/customize/resource/bootanimation.bak
now we are going to upload the HTC bootanimation.zip to replace the one we've just renamed and set file permissions.

Code:
./adb push bootanimation.zip /system/customize/resource/
./adb shell chmod 0644 /system/customize/resource/bootanimation.zip
just to check...

Code:
./adb shell ls -la /system/customize/resource/boot*
should show two lines for bootanimation.bak and bootanimation.zip with each line starting -rw-r--r--

When you reboot your phone you should now have HTC's animation.
Last edited by croques; 19th February 2013 at 01:29 PM.
4th July 2010, 10:05 AM   |  #2  
C0mpu13rFr34k's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Randers Ně
Thanks Meter: 28
 
1,048 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
Just remember the bootanimation is not located in system/.... Sometimes it's located in data/local and in SenseHero it's located in system/media/bootscreen and then it's gif files so this doesen't work for SenseHero Nice guide BTW Also have you thaught about putting it into an update.zip to make it easier?
4th July 2010, 10:28 AM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 23
 
267 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by C0mpu13rFr34k

Just remember the bootanimation is not located in system/.... Sometimes it's located in data/local and in SenseHero it's located in system/media/bootscreen

Thanks .. I should have said this was really for Villain 12 Rom.

Quote:
Originally Posted by C0mpu13rFr34k

Also have you thaught about putting it into an update.zip to make it easier?

I'm still finding my way and haven't learnt to do that yet!
4th July 2010, 10:36 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 45
 
327 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
More
Here is an update_signed.zip of that bootanimation.zip.
I just signed it, didn't test.

EDIT: This places the bootanimation.zip to /system/media/bootanimation.zip
Attached Files
File Type: zip update_signed.zip - [Click for QR Code] (570.5 KB, 215 views)
4th July 2010, 11:10 AM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 23
 
267 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by iiro

EDIT: This places the bootanimation.zip to /system/media/bootanimation.zip

To work on the Villain Rom - bootanimation.zip must be in /system/customize/resource/

The signed update may well work with other roms?
4th July 2010, 11:27 AM   |  #6  
C0mpu13rFr34k's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Randers Ně
Thanks Meter: 28
 
1,048 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by iiro

Here is an update_signed.zip of that bootanimation.zip.
I just signed it, didn't test.

EDIT: This places the bootanimation.zip to /system/media/bootanimation.zip

actually that doesen't work for any ROMs. No ROMs has bootanimation.zip located there
4th July 2010, 11:44 AM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
146 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Have a look at this thread as 1.5 bootscreens do actually work on 2.1 ROMs.

(You need to know where the bootanimation.zip is stored on your ROM first, as this needs to be removed.)
Last edited by filipharvey; 4th July 2010 at 11:51 AM.
4th July 2010, 01:13 PM   |  #8  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 23
 
267 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
A signed update zip is appended which will return the Villain 12 Rom to HTC's 'Quietly Brilliant' animation.

This is ONLY for Villain 12. It over writes Villains boot animation so if you want to keep that as an alternative the adb push method above will be better.

It has been tested.
Last edited by croques; 19th February 2013 at 01:29 PM.
4th July 2010, 04:26 PM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Thanks a lot, I've been trying to change my boot logo for some time now but didn't realise that VillainROM's was in a different location.
4th July 2010, 04:43 PM   |  #10  
C0mpu13rFr34k's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Randers Ně
Thanks Meter: 28
 
1,048 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by filipharvey

Have a look at this thread as 1.5 bootscreens do actually work on 2.1 ROMs.

(You need to know where the bootanimation.zip is stored on your ROM first, as this needs to be removed.)

I know that but no 2.1 ROM has the bootanimation stored there...

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes