5,596,066 Members 34,065 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Return to HTC bootanimation

Tip us?
 
croques
Old
(Last edited by croques; 19th February 2013 at 01:29 PM.)
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 252
Join Date: Oct 2009
Default Return to HTC bootanimation

If your particular ROM has a non-HTC bootanimation and you wish to return to the original HTC 'Quietly Brilliant' version just do this...

Copy the appended file to the tools directory of android-sdk on your desktop PC. If you don't have android-sdk Google, download and install it.

Connect your phone by USB to your PC; select Synchronize on your phone when prompted and wait for the phone to settle and OK any prompts.

On your PC, open an xterm window on linux or run cmd -w on Windoze to get a terminal window

cd to your android-sdk/tools directory -Replace your own path in the following line!!!

Code:
cd /usr/bin/android-sdk-linux_86/tools
(the following commands are for linux; for windoze miss off the ./)

Code:
./adb kill-server
./adb start-server
./adb remount
the following line moves bootanimation.zip to bootanimation.bak so you have a backup of the ROM customiser's artwork.[

Code:
./adb shell mv /system/customize/resource/bootanimation.zip  /system/customize/resource/bootanimation.bak
now we are going to upload the HTC bootanimation.zip to replace the one we've just renamed and set file permissions.

Code:
./adb push bootanimation.zip /system/customize/resource/
./adb shell chmod 0644 /system/customize/resource/bootanimation.zip
just to check...

Code:
./adb shell ls -la /system/customize/resource/boot*
should show two lines for bootanimation.bak and bootanimation.zip with each line starting -rw-r--r--

When you reboot your phone you should now have HTC's animation.
 
C0mpu13rFr34k
Old
#2  
C0mpu13rFr34k's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 28
Posts: 1,048
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Randers Ně
Just remember the bootanimation is not located in system/.... Sometimes it's located in data/local and in SenseHero it's located in system/media/bootscreen and then it's gif files so this doesen't work for SenseHero Nice guide BTW Also have you thaught about putting it into an update.zip to make it easier?
Current phone: HTC One S
Secondary phone: HTC Hero
Current tablet: Asus Google Nexus 7 16GB

 
croques
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 252
Join Date: Oct 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by C0mpu13rFr34k View Post
Just remember the bootanimation is not located in system/.... Sometimes it's located in data/local and in SenseHero it's located in system/media/bootscreen
Thanks .. I should have said this was really for Villain 12 Rom.

Quote:
Originally Posted by C0mpu13rFr34k View Post
Also have you thaught about putting it into an update.zip to make it easier?
I'm still finding my way and haven't learnt to do that yet!
 
iiro
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 45
Posts: 327
Join Date: Mar 2010
Here is an update_signed.zip of that bootanimation.zip.
I just signed it, didn't test.

EDIT: This places the bootanimation.zip to /system/media/bootanimation.zip
Attached Files
File Type: zip update_signed.zip - [Click for QR Code] (570.5 KB, 200 views)
 
croques
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 252
Join Date: Oct 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by iiro View Post
EDIT: This places the bootanimation.zip to /system/media/bootanimation.zip
To work on the Villain Rom - bootanimation.zip must be in /system/customize/resource/

The signed update may well work with other roms?
 
C0mpu13rFr34k
Old
#6  
C0mpu13rFr34k's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 28
Posts: 1,048
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Randers Ně
Quote:
Originally Posted by iiro View Post
Here is an update_signed.zip of that bootanimation.zip.
I just signed it, didn't test.

EDIT: This places the bootanimation.zip to /system/media/bootanimation.zip
actually that doesen't work for any ROMs. No ROMs has bootanimation.zip located there
Current phone: HTC One S
Secondary phone: HTC Hero
Current tablet: Asus Google Nexus 7 16GB

 
filipharvey
Old
(Last edited by filipharvey; 4th July 2010 at 11:51 AM.)
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 146
Join Date: May 2010
Have a look at this thread as 1.5 bootscreens do actually work on 2.1 ROMs.

(You need to know where the bootanimation.zip is stored on your ROM first, as this needs to be removed.)
HTC Hero

HTC HD2

HTC Incredible S

HTC EVO 3D

HTC One X

 
croques
Old
(Last edited by croques; 19th February 2013 at 01:29 PM.)
#8  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 252
Join Date: Oct 2009
A signed update zip is appended which will return the Villain 12 Rom to HTC's 'Quietly Brilliant' animation.

This is ONLY for Villain 12. It over writes Villains boot animation so if you want to keep that as an alternative the adb push method above will be better.

It has been tested.
 
iMicky
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Jul 2010
Thanks a lot, I've been trying to change my boot logo for some time now but didn't realise that VillainROM's was in a different location.
 
C0mpu13rFr34k
Old
#10  
C0mpu13rFr34k's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 28
Posts: 1,048
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Randers Ně
Quote:
Originally Posted by filipharvey View Post
Have a look at this thread as 1.5 bootscreens do actually work on 2.1 ROMs.

(You need to know where the bootanimation.zip is stored on your ROM first, as this needs to be removed.)
I know that but no 2.1 ROM has the bootanimation stored there...
Current phone: HTC One S
Secondary phone: HTC Hero
Current tablet: Asus Google Nexus 7 16GB


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...