FORUMS

OnePlus 2 Announced: Specs, Price and Details

The OnePlus 2 has just had its Virtual Reality Launch event, and at the XDA Office we all … more

A Helpful Guide to Music Streaming Services

With the launch of Apple Music, music streaming services have recently gained a lot of … more

An Inside Look at the Redesign of Business Calendar

The much-acclaimed calendar app, Business Calendar, underwent a major design … more

New Android One Device Dead On Arrival

Today, Google announced the second generation of Android One devices, with the new Lava Pixel … more

E: Error in /sdcard/update.zip (status 0)

298 posts
Thanks Meter: 5
 
By dahui9, Senior Member on 7th July 2010, 06:57 AM
Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
am I just mistiming the enter button or something, or do I have a bad download again.

It was asked last month in the root the aria thread with no resolve so if I could figure it out this might help some others out including myself, and I thought getting adb working was the hard part...

here is the code exactly

Code:
-- Install from sdcard..
Finding update package...
Opening update package...
Verifying update package...
hit enter as per instructed (tried before after and all around this moment)

Code:
Installing update...
E:Error in /sdcard/update.zip (status 0)
Installation aborted.
Last edited by dahui9; 7th July 2010 at 07:10 AM.
 
 
7th July 2010, 11:43 PM |#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
just run the two commands again.

adb push ota.zip /sdcard/update.zip

then type: adb push update.zip /sdcard/update.zip

but select update.zip on the phone and press power first and when it says "verifying" hit enter on the keyboard.

If it still doesnt work try reformatting the sd card
9th July 2010, 04:03 AM |#3  
dahui9's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Cocoa/Tressure Coast
Thanks Meter: 5
 
Donate to Me
More
I'm such a freaking newb I forgot to put the first update.zip /sdcard/update.zip

trying in a few moments
9th July 2010, 04:22 AM |#4  
dahui9's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Cocoa/Tressure Coast
Thanks Meter: 5
 
Donate to Me
More
and wham bam thank you mam I have root.

so if you get error 0 make sure you read carefully and don't try to perform root almost asleep.

I was redoing the ota.zip not the update.zip silly me
10th July 2010, 01:38 AM |#5  
geske001's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Mine says the same thing, but I made sure I copied it to the sdcard first along with a ROM and ota.zip, and root.zip.

I also noticed that on my command prompt that it says error: device not found.

Right before it says device not found in my command prompt, the batch file it typing adb push ota.zip //sdcard/update.zip.

right after i type rootme2 the batch file also types in my command prompt clr, but an error comes out 'clr' is not recognized as an internal or external command operable program or batch file. "Please Wait..." This is the time where I am trying to time the apply sdcard:update.zip in my recovery console on my phone with hitting enter for the second time after typing rootme2.


Any suggestions? Am I missing something? Am I mistiming it still? Is it that difficult to time it correctly?

I do have an HTC Android phone USB device under disk drives and a E:\ under portable devices without an exclaimation mark in my device manager. However if I try to double click drive e: in my computer it says to enter a disk.

ANY advice is GREATLY appreciated!!
Last edited by geske001; 10th July 2010 at 03:21 AM.
10th July 2010, 01:43 AM |#6  
geske001's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
BTW I have made sure adb is running in task manager and I have tried unplugging and replugging in my usb cord.
10th July 2010, 06:26 AM |#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
I was having problems getting my slide running. It was suggested in the slide forums to install the free version of pda net onto the pc. It will find the right drivers for your device. I know the aria and slide are very simmilar. Alsp, it sounds silly, but I couldn't get root usinf my primary pc running win 7 64 bit. I dug an old xp 32 bit laptop out of my closet and got everything perfect on the first try.

Hope it helps some.

Sent from my rooted Mytouch Slide using XDA app.
10th July 2010, 08:10 AM |#8  
geske001's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Thank you for your reply. I already took the initiative to try it with an XP 32-bit system. Both systems seem to not be able to contact the device while it is in recovery state. No problems with the device while it is on and connected to either machine.

This is an Eris I am trying to root by the way. Everything seems to go like it is supposed to until the last part. The rootme2 command.


Thanks again, any other advice is appreciated!
10th July 2010, 08:42 AM |#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Sorry that none of that has worked. I saw eris and read aria......

Either way, I wrote it up, maybe it will help someone.


I have been folowing the aria since my father in law had me root his. I used the exact computer and same process to do both. I only got root on the aria, never installed a rom or anything, he just wanted swipe like my wife and I have. I followed one thread or another, and it reccomended running an app called usbdeview. I deleted all htc drivers that were using usb. I then followed advice on another thread to install pda.net with links. Then follow eugene373's htc root method. When it finally worked it was easy. I did it another 10 times before I finally figured out how to get clockwork to take.

Only other thing to make sure you have is the newest java installed. Not the normal one but the one for developers. If ya are stuck, try reading a little in the htc esspresso (mytouch slide) forums. The two phones are pretty much the same on the inside. Different wifi and a few other things. See if ya stumble onto your exact problem. I am not saying to flash slide roms or anything.

Best of luck to you

Sent from my rooted Mytouch Slide using XDA app.
10th July 2010, 08:59 AM |#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
How about...

Move your adb installation to something like c:\android. Put all of the files you are working with into c:\android\tools

The change directory to your android tools folder and try it again.

Sent from my rooted Mytouch Slide using XDA app.
10th July 2010, 06:19 PM |#11  
geske001's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
This is what I am getting from windows console both the same result with windows 7 64-bit and windows xp 32-bit...



C:\android\tools>rootme2

C:\android\tools>clr
'clr' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file.
"Please Wait..."

C:\android\tools>adb push ota.zip /sdcard/update.zip
error: device not found
"OK! Congratulations, your phone is almost ready to be rooted"
"Here is the tricky part..."
""
"To access the controls in recovery, press Volume Up+Power"
"From here, use the Volume buttons to go up and down and the Power button to sel
ect"
""
"IMPORTANT:"
"You will select apply update.zip, but within 1/2 sec of doing this you must pre
ss enter to continue this script"
"If it is not done in the timely manner, you can try again by rerunning this scr
ipt"

C:\android\tools>pause
Press any key to continue . . .

C:\android\tools>adb push update.zip /sdcard
error: device not found
"From here, you should see ClockWork Recovery by Koush, and can install any ROM
you would like!"
"If you liked the work in this, send a donation to Wes Garner or Eugene_373 (lin
ks in the ReadMe)"



On the phone I get...

Android system Recovery <2e>

Use volume key to highlight: click power key to select. (I navigate to Apply sdcard:update.zip and hit power button. (when I see the red triangle in the background on the phone turn to green circle, I immediately press enter on my console on my windows machine and get the following)

E:Can't open /cache/recover/command

--Install from sdcard...
Finding update package...
Opening update package...
Verifying update package...
Installing update...
E:Error in /sdcard/update.zip
(Status 0)
Installation aborted.

I have done this a half a million times already with the same results. I tried at different times of the process with the same results. I do see HTC Android Phone USB device in my device manager with no errors. I do not see an Android adapter with My HTC in the device manager at all while in recovery mode like I do when the phone is all the way on and booted into the system.

I have tried everything listed in this thread and have been following wesgarner's post in forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=713347 which is based on Eugene_373's instructions. I found this thread with someone that appeared to have the same problem as I, and I tried what he tried and no luck.

Any further advice is GREATLY appreciated!! Thank You in advance!!

Read More
Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes