Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,730,629 Members 41,219 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Did the latest firmware fix the GPS issue?

Tip us?
 
dakine
Old
#1  
dakine's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 36
Posts: 714
Join Date: Nov 2006
Default Did the latest firmware fix the GPS issue?

I can't seem to find a straight answer to this so I'm starting a new thread.

With the JF3 firmware the GPS on my 2 phones is often not very accurate or completely loses it's position under what could be considered good conditions for a gps reciever.

Did the new firmware fix this problem?

Please only reply if you actually noticed the problem and can compare it with the new firmware.

Using GPS test is the phone now able to use signals with an snr of lower than 22?
 
Elinsa
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 28
Join Date: Jun 2009
No, it refuses to use GPS with snr under 22, as long as you don't locked them when they were higher. In that case it keeps them downto snr 17, and then drops them.
 
peterlan
Old
#3  
Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 45
Join Date: Aug 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by dakine View Post
Did the new firmware fix this problem?



Using GPS test is the phone now able to use signals with an snr of lower than 22?
No and no....
 
dakine
Old
#4  
dakine's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 36
Posts: 714
Join Date: Nov 2006
Well that sucks, let's hope it's not a hardware problem
 
crabby09
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 123
Join Date: Jan 2009
In contrast... I just flashed G3 and my GPS now locks in about 5 seconds.

It doesn't lock below 22... But for me it now doesn't need to.

Crabby
 
peterlan
Old
#6  
Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 45
Join Date: Aug 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by crabby09 View Post
In contrast... I just flashed G3 and my GPS now locks in about 5 seconds.

It doesn't lock below 22... But for me it now doesn't need to.

Crabby
Mine also locks in a few seconds, but it loses the lock again after a while. Then it locks again, the lock disappear, and so on. Completely useless as navigator.
 
sjdean
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 300
Join Date: Jul 2010
This is quite worrying, because it suggests more than just a firmware problem.

To those who have flashed and it hasn't worked, some suggest flashing using the repartition option.

But this experience is why I don't want to flash my phone. If there's a hardware error, I can't rightly be taking it back.

Might get a HTC Desire and put the extra few quid up towards a 32 Gig memory card.

Cya
Simon
 
crabby09
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 123
Join Date: Jan 2009
on further testing... My phone does use satellites of 19 to 22... But only if it is connected to less than 8 other satellites.

And I don't seem to have a disconnect issue.

Crabby
 
dakine
Old
#9  
dakine's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 36
Posts: 714
Join Date: Nov 2006
Yes the problem isnt that it wont connect but that the thing often thinks you are on an offramp or a road next to the highway you are travelling on because the sinal is too weak/inaccurate. I tested this with 3 different nav programs and get the same result.

Sent from my GT-I9000 using XDA App
 
sjdean
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 300
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by crabby09 View Post
on further testing... My phone does use satellites of 19 to 22... But only if it is connected to less than 8 other satellites.

And I don't seem to have a disconnect issue.

Crabby
Let me get this straight, using GPS Test, you do see orange satellites through regular use?

This is all beginning to make sense now.

Unlike HTC which seems to use a GPS chip that is capable of 12 Satellite fixes, Samsung is using a GPS chip that can only lock onto 8.

I would think therefore that what it is trying to do, is to select the 8 strongest satellite signals which means it's already at a disadvantage, because as soon as you walk behind a tall building, it has to work to try and find and lock onto others. But when you walk past the building it goes back to the other satellites.

This probably explains why everything is jumping around. Because it's not using the weaker satellites in the distance until its too late.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Hide Numbers on Your SMS and Call Logs with Reflection

How many times have you given your device to someone else in order to show them a … more

Implement Split View in Your LG G2 KitKat Rom with Automated Installer

Some of you may have remembered a story on the Portal a few weeks back … more

Cast Your Device Screen the Way it Was Meant to be with Second Screen

Not too long ago here on the XDA Portal, we covered how Google had made … more

Samsung Gear Live Unboxed the XDA Way – XDA Developer TV

XDA Developer TV Producer AdamOutleris known for his XDA Unboxingseries where … more