5,604,219 Members 49,585 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Verification Failed, INSTALLATION ABORTED

Tip us?
 
mercuryblue
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 77
Join Date: Apr 2010
Unhappy Verification Failed, INSTALLATION ABORTED

I'm using HTC HERO, Orange based rom 2.73.61.5
I tried to install custom rom via sd card update.zip way
but after verifying update package it showing
NO SIGNATURE (785 files)
VERIFICATION FAILED
INSTALLATION ABORTED

Can anybody help me please...
 
pulser_g2
Old
#2  
pulser_g2's Avatar
Developer Admin / Senior Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 10597
Posts: 19,214
Join Date: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by mercuryblue View Post
I'm using HTC HERO, Orange based rom 2.73.61.5
I tried to install custom rom via sd card update.zip way
but after verifying update package it showing
NO SIGNATURE (785 files)
VERIFICATION FAILED
INSTALLATION ABORTED

Can anybody help me please...
That rom isn't signed.

You need to testsign this first. Or... Did you not install patched recovery?


Having trouble getting an answer? | What is XDA about? | How to ask for help?

if [ $PM.incoming.type = $type.question.ROM.how_to_use ] || [ $PM.incoming.type = $type.question.ROM.silly_question ]; then mv $PM.incoming /.trash; PM.response($responsetype.ignore); $PM.sender.ignore_in_future=true; init.sequence($boy_who_cried_wolf); fi;

BTC: 1K2fpDsRHkirWmk3PKiqtzhVHKUJCWPWnN
PGP: 0x260F4FDEF258E3C4
 
mercuryblue
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 77
Join Date: Apr 2010
Unhappy hello

what i have done is ...
1) installed INSTAROOT
2) Installed ASTRO File manager
3) Copied FLASHREC.apk and recovery-RA-herov1.5.2.img to SD card from PC
4) Installed FLASAHREC via ASTRO File manager
5) Backup and Restore it with recovery-RA-herov1.5.2.img
6) Copied Villian12 to SD Card
7) Went to Root Boot by holding HOME and POWER button
8) WIPE the DATA, DIVCACHE, BATTERY and all things except SD CARD coz couldnt able to do it..it was showing to wipe via adb..ya i have done partition too
9) FLASH UP WITH ZIP UPDATE
10) it started but end up with No Signature (785 files)
INSTALLATION ABORTED

 
erasmux
Old
#4  
erasmux's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 458
Posts: 1,437
Join Date: May 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Custom ROMs (such as VR12 for example) should not fail verification. If they do the file is corrupt. You need to redownload it and then retry (just the part of putting it on the SD card and flashing it from the recovery).
Hero: Floyo 1.4 w/ LasVenturax 0.6.2 @ smartassV2 614/176
Nexus One: CM7 private build
 
pulser_g2
Old
#5  
pulser_g2's Avatar
Developer Admin / Senior Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 10597
Posts: 19,214
Join Date: Nov 2009
Ok. Sounds like recovery is not patched maybe?

Install amonra 1.6.2 and be sure recovery says its version at bottom of screen in recovery


Having trouble getting an answer? | What is XDA about? | How to ask for help?

if [ $PM.incoming.type = $type.question.ROM.how_to_use ] || [ $PM.incoming.type = $type.question.ROM.silly_question ]; then mv $PM.incoming /.trash; PM.response($responsetype.ignore); $PM.sender.ignore_in_future=true; init.sequence($boy_who_cried_wolf); fi;

BTC: 1K2fpDsRHkirWmk3PKiqtzhVHKUJCWPWnN
PGP: 0x260F4FDEF258E3C4
 
mercuryblue
Old
#6  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 77
Join Date: Apr 2010
Unhappy Hi friend

Hello

New way---what i have done is...
1) downgrade it to RUU_Hero_HTC_WWE_2.73.405.5_WWE_release_signed_NoD river via GOLDCARD method

Now can you tell me what to do to install the custom rom. Do I need to root it first? If yes then please suggest me the way. I'm sorry for disturbing you now n then but bro i'm completely new to this...kindly help me out.
 
pulser_g2
Old
#7  
pulser_g2's Avatar
Developer Admin / Senior Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 10597
Posts: 19,214
Join Date: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by mercuryblue View Post
Hello

New way---what i have done is...
1) downgrade it to RUU_Hero_HTC_WWE_2.73.405.5_WWE_release_signed_NoD river via GOLDCARD method

Now can you tell me what to do to install the custom rom. Do I need to root it first? If yes then please suggest me the way. I'm sorry for disturbing you now n then but bro i'm completely new to this...kindly help me out.
Follow steps 1 to 10 of this guide, and then 11: http://www.villainrom.co.uk/viewtopic.php?p=4956#p4956

Then follow section 2 to install your custom rom. Be aware that the link in the guide points to an old version of villainrom, but you can just use a newer rom exactly the same like vr12 or something


Having trouble getting an answer? | What is XDA about? | How to ask for help?

if [ $PM.incoming.type = $type.question.ROM.how_to_use ] || [ $PM.incoming.type = $type.question.ROM.silly_question ]; then mv $PM.incoming /.trash; PM.response($responsetype.ignore); $PM.sender.ignore_in_future=true; init.sequence($boy_who_cried_wolf); fi;

BTC: 1K2fpDsRHkirWmk3PKiqtzhVHKUJCWPWnN
PGP: 0x260F4FDEF258E3C4
 
mercuryblue
Old
#8  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 77
Join Date: Apr 2010
Question Thanks a ton friends

Yuppiieeee..I'm on Villain 12 now...thank you all...CHEERS...
now i've downloaded latest Radio (update-hero-radio-63.18.55.06PU_6.35.15.14-signed.zip)
moved it to SD root
have done flash zip from sdcard
it started nicely but after auto restart now the screen is stucked up with "FORMATTING CACHE..."
what should i do now?
 
Gill
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 186
Join Date: Oct 2004
Default 3 UK & androd 2.1 update - Help please

Please can someone please help.
I have an unlocked Orange HTC Hero, and someone loaded a 3 UK Rom Android 1.5, from the web forums, which is supposed to be the same as an Offical one from 3. I'm

not sure if they used "update-hero-generic-2.73.771.73-signed.zip" or update-hero-generic-2.73.771.73-rooted-signed.zip. Does it matter?

I now get the 3 UK OTA update to android 2.1, I want to use this and keep all the 3 stuff, but when I try to install, I get the following;

Build : RA-hero-v1.5.2
Finding update package
Opening update package
Verifying update package
E:No signature (660 files)
E:Verification failed
Installation aborted.

What am I doing wrong? I'm really very new to all this.

Thank you.
 
idroid84
Old
#10  
idroid84's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 498
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: UK

 
DONATE TO ME
I am confused myself, why on earth would you want to use a 3 UK ROM on an Orange network? If anything you wanna be using a WWE ROM...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Wearables Walkthrough: Tasker on the Samsung Galaxy Gear – XDA Developer TV

The future certainly looks like it is full of wearables. … more

WinDroid HTC Toolkit Lets You Root, Unlock, and Flash ROMs on Various HTC Devices

Plenty of users nowadays have more than one mobile device. … more

When Using GitHub, Don’t Skimp on Commit History

GitHub has become the epicenter of most open source development work that is posted … more

Verizon Droid DNA to Receive 4.4.2 KitKat + Sense 5.5 OTA This Thursday

The HTC Droid DNAis Verizon’s close cousin to the JapaneseHTC … more