Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,728,638 Members 54,187 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Root your Vibrant

Tip us?
 
justadude
Old
(Last edited by justadude; 15th July 2010 at 06:20 AM.) Reason: Non-ADB method.
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 30
Join Date: Jul 2010
Default Root your Vibrant

***This will work on the T-Mobile US branded Vibrant and generic Galaxy S models***

***IMPORTANT: YOU PERFORM THIS AT YOUR OWN RISK, THIS MAY VOID YOUR WARRANTY, I NOR ANYONE ELSE IS RESPONSIBLE IF YOU BRICK YOUR DEVICE.***

***UPDATE: Now you can do this without ADB installed!

The following method should be relatively care-free but there is always a risk with activities like rooting a device or flashing a new firmware.

1. Download the attached zip and rename to: update.zip
2. On your device, navigate to Settings > Applications > USB settings and select Mass storage
3. Plug your device into your computer, select mount USB from your device's pull-down window
4. Copy the update.zip to the INTERNAL SD memory (~14gb on this drive, not the one w/ Avatar if you've still got the 2gb SD card in)
5. Turn your phone off.
6. Hold down volume up and volume down while powering on the phone, this should get you to a recovery menu, you may have to try this a few times.
7. In Recovery menu select 'Reinstall Packages' (use vol_down then power to select)

Phone will reboot
and you have
1. su+Superuser
2. busybox (/system/xbin/busybox)

Original credit goes to LeshaK at Samdroid, I modified the script within update.zip to work on the Vibrant.

Other credits to the fine folks in this thread that noted the vol up+down recovery menu.

I would link to the Samdroid forum but I can't...but check Samdroid > i9000 Development forum for the original post.
Attached Files
File Type: zip SGH-959 Root Update.zip - [Click for QR Code] (632.5 KB, 82625 views)
The Following 8 Users Say Thank You to justadude For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
iceshinobi
Old
#2  
iceshinobi's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 101
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Orlando, FL
Intriguing may try this on Thursday
 
quickex99
Old
#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 24
Join Date: Jan 2010
How easy is it to put back to stock for warranty purposes?
 
marsupial99
Old
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 70
Join Date: Jun 2009
Thank you to the OP for posting this. Does it make sense to append the post with a quick guide to installing and getting ADB to work with Vibrant for those who have never done that? This would make it a truly complete guide to rooting Vibrant.
 
Drachen
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 99
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: NYC
Thanks for this. I'm planning on getting an AT&T Captivate when it comes out. What would I have to change in your script to have it work on the Captivate? Would it just be a matter of changing the model names in the file updater-script? That seems to be the only file with an updated file date. TIA.
 
basataom
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 27
Join Date: Jul 2010
So with this root, will the normal Galaxy S custom rom (modaco) work on the vibrant? or does the rom need adjusting?
 
BigWorldJust
Old
#7  
BigWorldJust's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 762
Join Date: Jun 2009
Thanks for this . Can't wait until Thursday!!
Current Device
░▒▓█ Samsung Vibrant - 16GB Avatar Edition
░▒▓█ Model ► SGH-T959
░▒▓█ Firmware ► Android 2.3.5
░▒▓█ Baseband ► T959UVKB5
░▒▓█ Kernel ► 2.6.35.7
░▒▓█ Build ► CyanogenMod [Trigger]
░▒▓█ Root ► ROM Manager, Titanium Backup, ES File Explorer, Root Explorer
 
justadude
Old
#8  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 30
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by quickex99 View Post
How easy is it to put back to stock for warranty purposes?
Not sure exactly, though you could easily delete the super user APK, that's the only real visible sign that this is installed. Doubt they'd check much further. The Samdroid forum post may have info on reverting to stock.

If anyone wants to take this and modify, it should work on the Captivate/Fascinate/Epic with a simple modification, add the model name for each device to this part of updater-script in the zip file:

Code:
assert(getprop("ro.product.device") == "GT-I5800" ||
       getprop("ro.build.product") == "GT-I5800" ||
       getprop("ro.product.device") == "GT-I9000" ||
       getprop("ro.build.product") == "GT-I9000" ||
       getprop("ro.product.device") == "SGH-T959" ||
       getprop("ro.build.product") == "SGH-T959"
       );
Quote:
Does it make sense to append the post with a quick guide to installing and getting ADB to work with Vibrant for those who have never done that?
I'll leave that to someone else, I personally feel that if folks are in this 'development' section then they should be capable of installing and getting ADB running before they do something that could possibly harm their phone if they screw it up.

Quote:
So with this root, will the normal Galaxy S custom rom (modaco) work on the vibrant? or does the rom need adjusting?
Honestly, no idea on this. I'm not willing to risk my Vibrant to this, I'll let someone else be a guinea pig. But I am interested to hear if the wireless hotspot feature can be added back, this is the only item I miss from the Vibrant.
 
heygrl
Old
#9  
heygrl's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 42
Posts: 1,959
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Las Vegassss
I'm glad it's that easy, now what about wireless tether? It's something that I and others root for almost exclusively.
-Samsung Galaxy S III Ceramic/Marble White on T-Mobile
-Samsung Exhibit 4G
-Samsung Vibrant
-Samsung Captivate on T-Mobile
 
lp1527
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 285
Join Date: Oct 2009
Has anyone successfully tried this yet?

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

But First, Let Me Take a #Selfie

“Today while browsing XDA,I’m going tocheck to seeif my favorite ROM has been updated–but … more

Easily Combine Text and Manage Your Android Clipboard with StuffMerge

Android clipboard management has always been impractical without the … more

Pale Moon Browser Ported to Android

Having a wide choice of third party applications is one of the most beautiful things that Android has to … more