5,598,233 Members 47,038 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Froyo for kaiser, jit enabled and working out of the box wifi tethering!

Tip us?
 
urban69
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 18
Join Date: Feb 2009
Default Froyo for kaiser, jit enabled and working out of the box wifi tethering!

Hi,
i've moddified a little froyo for kaiser (from http://ip208-100-42-21.static.xda-de...d.php?t=715402), it includes working by default Superuser and WiFi Tethering, it has also enabled by default JIT.

Disabled bootanimation and removed unused apps like VoiceSearch.

Scripts that enables superuser and tethering are in /system/bin/fix{,-tether}.sh, modified /etc/wifi/loadit to store calibration on /data, not on sd card, and some minnor changes.

First boot takes much longer, cause no dexopt is used, so it has to dexopt all the apps.

Here you can find it here: http://avalanche.fail.pl/androidinstall.tar

Checksums:
8e252d202810133d60d630d949ab2bc3e7c4e0f249e5e1283b e0a71311e8ed1b androidinstall.tar
 
wassermam
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Jul 2009
Great

I will try it right now

Why donīt you join forces with DZO and kallt_kaffe and implement this as default on Fresh Froyo version I think they would be pleased with this.
 
giveen
Old
#3  
giveen's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1528
Posts: 2,128
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Caldwell, ID

 
DONATE TO ME
Just installed. Haven't noticed much difference. But then again, I don't know what JIT is and I am not doing wifi tethering, lol
 
SuperJMN
Old
#4  
SuperJMN's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 1,035
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ciudad Real
Quote:
Originally Posted by urban69 View Post
Hi,
i've moddified a little froyo for kaiser (from http://ip208-100-42-21.static.xda-de...d.php?t=715402), it includes working by default Superuser and WiFi Tethering, it has also enabled by default JIT.

Disabled bootanimation and removed unused apps like VoiceSearch.

Scripts that enables superuser and tethering are in /system/bin/fix{,-tether}.sh, modified /etc/wifi/loadit to store calibration on /data, not on sd card, and some minnor changes.

First boot takes much longer, cause no dexopt is used, so it has to dexopt all the apps.

Here you can find it here: http://avalanche.fail.pl/androidinstall.tar

Checksums:
8e252d202810133d60d630d949ab2bc3e7c4e0f249e5e1283b e0a71311e8ed1b androidinstall.tar
I'm going to try it! the question is why you don't contact dzo and kallt_kaffe to join efforts?
Proud owner of Nokia Lumia 920.
Came from Samsung Galaxy S with Android 4.1
 
startluvova
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperJMN View Post
I'm going to try it! the question is why you don't contact dzo and kallt_kaffe to join efforts?
^^^^^This and add Incubus to that list.

Or at least loan them the superuser and wifi modifications.
 
SuperJMN
Old
#6  
SuperJMN's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 1,035
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ciudad Real
tethering doesn't work for Polaris! ir says that it couldn't attach to the WiFi driver.
Proud owner of Nokia Lumia 920.
Came from Samsung Galaxy S with Android 4.1
 
urban69
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 18
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperJMN View Post
I'm going to try it! the question is why you don't contact dzo and kallt_kaffe to join efforts?
I want to try if this works for other, and then send patch do dzo.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperJMN View Post
tethering doesn't work for Polaris! ir says that it couldn't attach to the WiFi driver.
Can you connect it with usb cable, run adb logcat and provide the results?
I think its something easy to fix, maybe wrong path somewhere.
 
milanche
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 49
Posts: 284
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Bled
Tethering works on my Kaiser. Huray!! Really nice =))

One thing I noticed is that it doesn't allow me to set up a VPN channel thru this connection, but I can live with that.

Congrats for getting this to work man!
"Occam's Razor. The simplest explanation is almost always somebody screwed up." - Dr House MD

Follow me on Twitter, or connect with me on Facebook.

Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 (2014 Edition), powered by CleanROM 2.0 R2 and BinDroid SM-P600 - P601 | V2.0.0 kernel

Kindle Fire, powered by InFriction ROM v11

Sony Ericsson Xperia Arc S, powered by Iridescent_Zed_II
 
garringm
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 39
Posts: 705
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Leesburg
Is not working for me I get "ERROR" when I try to enable wifi
Just my 2 cents, even though your build is lighter than the others maybe you could have put out an androidupdate.zip to compliment the other builds. I am looking a little further into why I cannot enable wifi if I figure something out I will keep you posted.
 
bandur
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 148
Join Date: Jun 2008
Default So far so good

I have been testing your build all morning, so far so good. Stable and snappy!

Thanks for your effort,

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...