Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

ADB device offline

OP wimbet

15th July 2010, 07:57 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
107 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
I've been using ADB the last couple of days to install apps on my Captivate and all of the sudden it stopped working today.

When I type 'adb devices' the phone comes up right away, but it shows offline.

I have tried reinstalling the drivers and Android SDK, but no luck. I've searched around and found some others with this issue, but haven't really found a fix that works for me.

Any idea why ADB would just stop working like that? I even performed a factory reset of the phone and put everything back to defaults.
15th July 2010, 08:20 PM   |  #2  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
107 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
Ok I almost pulled my hair out, but I found the problem.

For some reason, ADB does not work with the Samsung USB cable that came with the Captivate.

I switched to another USB cable and it works just fine.

Man, I really thought I was going crazy.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to wimbet For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th July 2010, 09:21 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
136 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by wimbet

For some reason, ADB does not work with the Samsung USB cable that came with the Captivate.

I switched to another USB cable and it works just fine.

What the hell is that about!? I wish all these companies would stop trying to break from standards by proprietizing common cables.
15th July 2010, 11:40 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 28
 
158 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2006
Donate to Me
I can't get the drivers to work. Where did you get yours?
15th July 2010, 11:58 PM   |  #5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
86 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Quote:

Ok I almost pulled my hair out, but I found the problem.

For some reason, ADB does not work with the Samsung USB cable that came with the Captivate.

I switched to another USB cable and it works just fine.

Man, I really thought I was going crazy.

Yeah I buy that, I couldn't even get the thing to try and connect at all with out switching usb connections on my computer.
18th July 2010, 08:31 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 61
 
743 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
stock cable works. I just rooted and ran into that problem. In order to get around it if you cant get a diff cable, make sure that b4 you connect your phone to your pc you turn off your internet so it doesnt auto dl the drivers. b4 u connect, dl the drivers for your phone from the root thread. Plug your phone into ur comp with the internet off and close any pop ups. Go to device manager look for the notification labled usb or captivateand right click and select update. Select search from file on disk or select file (something like that, i forget) and scroll and select the folder where you extracted the usb drivers. Make sure the checkbox that says search subfolders is checked and click next to install. two more drivers will pop up in device manager after u install the first one. Repeat the same procedure for both of them and then you should be able to use adb just fine to root.
21st July 2010, 10:01 PM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
26 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Just wanted to further confirm that using a different microusb cable works! I keep reinstalling the drivers but it kept showing the device was offline. Then I tried my old Nokia N85 cable and it worked like charm! So weird how usb cables aren't made equally, unless Samsung designed the cable to prevent using adb?
21st July 2010, 10:14 PM   |  #8  
Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
50 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
I had this issue for a little while, but I installed the Samsung Kies software (which contains drivers) and uninstalled the ADB drivers I had originally downloaded. It's worked like a charm since then.

Go to SamsungApps.com and then use the canada site, as the software isn't really available in the US yet.
21st July 2010, 10:30 PM   |  #9  
TimF's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
78 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
I have had no problems using the stock cable on my Laptop and work PC, both are Win 7 32bit. The same cannot be said for my my main home PC which is Win 7 64bit. Neither the stock cable nor an after market cable worked with ADB.

For the 32bit OSes I installed the Kies software and the usb device gets installed correctly. for the 64bit OS, I installed the Kies software but could get the phone to connect correctly. I then tried to install the 64bit drivers that are floating around the web. The 64 bit drivers worked enough to get the phone connected to the PC but when I tried to query "adb devices" the phone would always appear as offline. I've tried several things: install/uninstall drivers and software on the PC, restart the PC and Phone, change cables. Nothing seems to help on Win 7 64bit.

It seems to me that there might be a bug in the 64bit driver, though I have no proof of a bug.

I am going to keep playing with the 64bit OS until i figure it out or get so annoyed a that I just give up.

I'll be using my Win 7 32 bit laptop until I get the 64bit PC to work.
22nd July 2010, 03:06 AM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Flag Stanford, CA
Thanks Meter: 7
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimF

I have had no problems using the stock cable on my Laptop and work PC, both are Win 7 32bit. The same cannot be said for my my main home PC which is Win 7 64bit. Neither the stock cable nor an after market cable worked with ADB.

For the 32bit OSes I installed the Kies software and the usb device gets installed correctly. for the 64bit OS, I installed the Kies software but could get the phone to connect correctly. I then tried to install the 64bit drivers that are floating around the web. The 64 bit drivers worked enough to get the phone connected to the PC but when I tried to query "adb devices" the phone would always appear as offline. I've tried several things: install/uninstall drivers and software on the PC, restart the PC and Phone, change cables. Nothing seems to help on Win 7 64bit.

It seems to me that there might be a bug in the 64bit driver, though I have no proof of a bug.

I am going to keep playing with the 64bit OS until i figure it out or get so annoyed a that I just give up.

I'll be using my Win 7 32 bit laptop until I get the 64bit PC to work.

i've been able to install .apk's with my win7 64-bit ADB :eek:
all i did was install Samsung Kies.
i don't think i've ever had a problem...?

EDIT: i'm using the cable that came with it and no problems yet.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes