Chainfire Turns Your Bootanimation into a Logging Center

Having a nice boot animation certainly adds a little bit of aesthetic polish to your … more

Android TV Launcher Pushed to Google Play

Over the past decade, the tech universe has seen two drastic and widely contrasting changes with … more

Cyngn, OnePlus, Micromax – The Legal Battle

Recently, a battle has been waging in India over the rights to distribute the commercial … more

Lean Mean Battery Power Saving App Review

We talk a lot about battery topics here at XDA TV. We talk about everything from Power Banks to USB … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

general help new hd2 user.

OP beaniator

16th July 2010, 02:01 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Hi all .
im a new member but long time reader of these forums.
i have an htc hd2 flash size 512mb..ram size 448..rom 1.72.161.3(82124)wwe radio 2.07.51.22_2.
i was lucky enough to get this handset of a friend who found it to difficult to use (he's iphone now).
as far as i can tell its a vodaphone handset(splash screen when turned on) but must be unlocked because im an orange user.i have in no way flashed anything or tweaked anything.
im loving this handset ,used a friends iphone and got bored in 10minutes of use.i have read alot on flashing roms and radio but to be honest im finding it difficult to understand,not sure what hspl and spl is,and why radio is seperate when flash sometimes?i have searched forums but just need a helping hand to start then im sure i would be fine.
so any help and advice on improving this handset would be greatly appreciated.
many thanks
Demon_man
16th July 2010, 02:19 PM   |  #2  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
n/a posts
ok so spl is stock it means the phone is locked so you cant flash custom roms (i think im right lol) hspl means its unlocked (but not sim unlocked) you need hspl to flash a custom rom, its easier now then when i first got my hd2, you can just use hspl 3 now and you just choose from the drop down menu one that ends in hspl,
Radios often don't come with most custom ROM's because the chefs have there roms tested with certain radios for performance wise, I would say every custom ROM will tell you what radio is best advised to use, for there rom, flashing a custom rom will remove everything from you're phone so be sure to save contacts with myphone or pim back up something like that, you should take a read through this thread mate its quite easy once you read it and then read it again just make sure it is quite hard to brick a hd2 or a htc phone unless you havent really read properly but there is plenty of people here if you need help, if you get stuck just ask before you flash better safe than sorry

http://forum.xda-developers.com/forumdisplay.php?f=631
16th July 2010, 04:13 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
many thanks for quick reply.
the link u posted sent me to t-mobile version, i thought my handset was normal version the keys at bottom of handset arent coloured green and red .
is it worth going from stock rom to a custom one?
i find the stock ok but does tend to slow up if i dont stay on top of task manager and shut down programs which are still running,even though i did exit out of them.
im reading through forums again trying to understand this flashing option.quite annoyed with myself as i tend to be normally ok at flashing things done it with my tomtom etc.
many thanks for time and patience
18th July 2010, 01:26 PM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
hi..
i think im getting there (alot of reading to be sure)
is it actually worth using a custom rom ?
if i decide not to flash a custom rom
can i still apply the tips and tweaks to handset..for example im looking at the landscape.cab will this make all features move to landscape instead of just a few applications?
and any other tweaks i choose from xda vast list.
many thanks for time and patience
18th July 2010, 01:28 PM   |  #5  
nrfitchett4's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag San Antonio
Thanks Meter: 522
 
6,394 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
More
search for bsb tweaks. You can use any of them except for the decrease phone sensitivity and tap time.

Also, any tweaks should work on your phone.
18th July 2010, 02:30 PM   |  #6  
ozmoran's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Maroochydore
Thanks Meter: 0
 
353 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
Talking
Quote:
Originally Posted by beaniator

hi..
i think im getting there (alot of reading to be sure)
is it actually worth using a custom rom ?
if i decide not to flash a custom rom
can i still apply the tips and tweaks to handset..for example im looking at the landscape.cab will this make all features move to landscape instead of just a few applications?
and any other tweaks i choose from xda vast list.
many thanks for time and patience

I am currently running the stock Rom I have had a few different roms on my HD2 and there all different and good for a lot of different reasons I eventually went back to stock just for a change as I mainly use my phone for work and some Roms still have a few bugs.
I installed cookies home tab (CHT) which is awesome and BSB tweaks and I find thats got my phone working great.
Best thing is even if you try everything you can always go back to start so give it a shot everyone will be glad to help as long as you search for an answer to a problem first
Just think about what you want from your phone and look at what others have done there is a plethora of information here
Enjoy
19th July 2010, 10:43 AM   |  #7  
damnshah's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
203 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by beaniator

Hi all .
im a new member but long time reader of these forums.
i have an htc hd2 flash size 512mb..ram size 448..rom 1.72.161.3(82124)wwe radio 2.07.51.22_2.
i was lucky enough to get this handset of a friend who found it to difficult to use (he's iphone now).
as far as i can tell its a vodaphone handset(splash screen when turned on) but must be unlocked because im an orange user.i have in no way flashed anything or tweaked anything.
im loving this handset ,used a friends iphone and got bored in 10minutes of use.i have read alot on flashing roms and radio but to be honest im finding it difficult to understand,not sure what hspl and spl is,and why radio is seperate when flash sometimes?i have searched forums but just need a helping hand to start then im sure i would be fine.
so any help and advice on improving this handset would be greatly appreciated.
many thanks

If you dont plan on flashing to a custom rom, somethings you should look at

co0kie's Home Tab and CHT Editor

Bsb Tweaks

cleanram

Chainfire's 3d driver

data controller

also read tboy2000's thread

for games and some apps, check this site out, i suggest you download the omarket app to make life easier

and also moving the album cache, look for tune4's cab as it saves tonnes of space!

those are the basic few to make sure everything runs nicely...
Last edited by damnshah; 19th July 2010 at 10:46 AM.
22nd July 2010, 01:00 AM   |  #8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
many thanks for all your help and info.
im just checking if i got things right if you dont mind checking.
my handset is a vodaphone but sim free (im orange)
ive download HSPL3 which i run from pc desktop via usb to htc hd2.
but i have to check spl version by press volume down as well as reset button on back or is it via settings etc?
once hspl is on handset i choose which rom (unless stated otherwise) and run it like a normal rom upgrade .and voila alll done!?
radio is to do with wifi and calls and doesnt need changing unless have to?
many thanks for help again,and i will check out above threads as well.
i think i will get it in the end just a steep learning cure,do i once and know doubt i will be was that all it took.lol
many thanks for time and patience

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes