Beginners GUIDE:Rooting a HTC Dream(T-Mobile G1) and Installing CYANOGENMOD 6 (FROYO)

Search This thread

Pastro100

Jul 17, 2010
pktos.blogspot.com
So I spent about 5-6 hours a few days ago searching for a full tutorial of rooting a T-mobile G1 (HTC Dream) and then installing Android 2.2 Froyo on it (Cyanogenmod 6).

I could not find a full guide anywhere and I ended up using like 5 different sites, going though a million pages, and ended up flashing unstable builds like 4 times so it was a huge headache! So I am creating a full tutorial here for all newbs like me so that all the info is consolidated into one place. =)

I FOUND THIS TO BE THE EASIEST METHOD OF ROOTING A G1 AND INSTALLING A STABLE BUILD OF FROYO.
THIS IS DESIGNED FOR THE COMPLETE BEGINNER!!

I HAVE THIS ON MY G1 WITH NO PROBLEMS AT ALL!!!

Rooting Your Stock T-Mobile G1 (HTC DREAM) AND INSTALLING A STABLE ANDROID 2.2 FROYO BUILD. (CYANOGENMOD 6.0)

**Please make sure your phone is completely charged before doing this**
**I am not responsible for anything that happens to your phone. Do this at your own risk**
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I was pretty worried about bricking my phone, but it is almost impossible if you do this step by step and correctly. Just make sure to follow the steps!
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Prerequisites:

**ALL DATA/APPLICATIONS WILL BE REMOVED FROM YOUR PHONE AND IT WILL BE RETURNED TO FACTORY SETTINGS AFTER THE FOLLOWING STEPS. MAKE SURE YOU HAVE SYNC SET UP FOR YOUR DATA SO THAT YOU CAN RECOVER YOUR CONTACTS!** (TO SYNC GO TO SETTING > DATA SYNChronization > make sure AUTO SYNC is checked as well as contacts calendar and gmail)

Here is what you will need:
1) Your Phone
2) A Computer
3) USB Cable
Download the following file onto your computer: (DO NOT UNZIP OR CHANGE ANY FILES!)
ALL THE LINKS TO DOWNLOAD THE FILES ARE HERE: pktos.blogspot.com