FORUMS

Android M Code Name: Macadamia Nut Cookie

While the official name for the latest iteration of Android has yet to be revealed, the code … more

XDA Recap: This Week In Android (May 17 – 23)

Another week, another recap. The Sunday tradition marches on this week with a fresh … more

Huawei To Sell Honor Smartphones Via Indian Retail Outlets

World’s fourth largest smartphone maker Huawei plans to now sell its … more

Sunday Debate: Are Smaller Bezels Better or Worth It?

Bezels have been getting smaller and smaller as the years go by, and while devices … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Exclamation Have no data plan?!? Look here for free internet!!!!

5th July 2010, 11:30 PM |#1  
xl DIGITAL lx's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 316
 
Donate to Me
More
Hi,
I'm new to the G1 but got the hang of it really quick, I just transferred from the Samsung Impression. On the Impression I had free Internet and I tried it for the G1 and it worked! (You must be on T-Mobile!!)

1) Change your APN settings to this
(Menu -> Settings -> Wireless Controls -> Mobile Networks -> Access Point Names -> T-Mobile US)

-Name: T-Mobile US
-APN: epc.tmobile.com
-proxy: 216.155.165.050
-port: 8080
-Username: not set (delete everything in this field)
-Password: not set (delete all here too)
-Server: not set (delete the *)
-MMSC: http://mms.msg.eng.t-mobile.com/mms/wapenc
-MMS Proxy: 216.155.165.050
-MMS Port: 8080
-MMC: 310
-MNC: 260
-APN type: not set

2)REBOOT phone
3)Open up Browser and go to http://jaghax.org/tmobilex/
4)Bookmark it and begin searching.

Credits: TeleNubby (http://www.samsung-behold.com/samsun...ges/?topicseen)


Any problems?? Ask me!
 
 
5th July 2010, 11:51 PM |#2  
UberMario's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Columbus,GA,U.S.A
Thanks Meter: 33
 
More
Won't this considered as warez since you are getting a payed service for free?

I'm surprised that T-Mobile didn't stop this.
6th July 2010, 12:32 AM |#3  
ezterry's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Asheville, NC
Thanks Meter: 1,003
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by UberMario

I'm surprised that T-Mobile didn't stop this.

sounded more like he had data included (even if on a minimum amount) on the plan from the previous phone.. and used the same apn to use the same data access.

A) T-Mobile ignores it as the plan has some sort of data..
B) they just didn't update the billing database with the new phone detected on the network and it becomes dissabled or
C) a nasty bill will be in the mail and the data is considered al-la-carte

Regardless of ops success or failure.. if others try this be sure option b or c will be properly set up soon enough.
6th July 2010, 01:48 AM |#4  
xl DIGITAL lx's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 316
 
Donate to Me
More
Ive been using this for almost a year and I havnt been billed for this. This is known as a "proxy". I didnt design this but it actually works. I never had a data plan because their is no need for a data plan. Im mostly in my house where I have wifi.
12th August 2010, 06:59 PM |#5  
sTyLeSz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bronx
Thanks Meter: 132
 
More
Can This work on the mytouch
12th August 2010, 10:12 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Flag FarFarAway
Thanks Meter: 162
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sTyLeSz

Can This work on the mytouch

this is nothing phone specific so yes...
22nd November 2013, 01:18 AM |#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
free mobile data in canada
will something like this works in canada??
fido,rogers,bell,telus,koodo, etc

Thanlk you







Quote:
Originally Posted by xl DIGITAL lx

Hi,
I'm new to the G1 but got the hang of it really quick, I just transferred from the Samsung Impression. On the Impression I had free Internet and I tried it for the G1 and it worked! (You must be on T-Mobile!!)

1) Change your APN settings to this
(Menu -> Settings -> Wireless Controls -> Mobile Networks -> Access Point Names -> T-Mobile US)

-Name: T-Mobile US
-APN: epc.tmobile.com
-proxy: 216.155.165.050
-port: 8080
-Username: not set (delete everything in this field)
-Password: not set (delete all here too)
-Server: not set (delete the *)
-MMSC: http://mms.msg.eng.t-mobile.com/mms/wapenc
-MMS Proxy: 216.155.165.050
-MMS Port: 8080
-MMC: 310
-MNC: 260
-APN type: not set

2)REBOOT phone
3)Open up Browser and go to http://jaghax.org/tmobilex/
4)Bookmark it and begin searching.

Credits: TeleNubby (http://www.samsung-behold.com/samsun...ges/?topicseen)


Any problems?? Ask me!

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes