Lenovo Officially Owns Motorola, Following ~$3 Billion Deal

Google is now officially no longer the owner American phone manufacturer … more

Microsoft Band Fitness Tracker Announced, Available

The wearable market has been around for a few years, with Pebble and Samsung smartwatches … more

Forums Added for the Oppo R5, Oppo N3, and Xiaomi Redmi Note

Just yesterday, Oppo unveiled a pair of rather unique smartphones, the Oppo … more

How to Play Music From Android Wear – XDA TV

Yesterday, we showed you how to do some advanced things with your Moto 360 quite easily … more
Post Reply

GPS.CONF

OP axel_marchi

17th July 2010, 09:58 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
For those people use GPS on HTC DESIRE and it works after root.

Someone can post gps.conf file located at /system/etc.

I think it contains parameter to config gps module and I want to compare my gps.conf on my HTC DESIRE .

My HTC DESIRE gps module dont' fix anymore satellite position after root and flashing ROM

Thank you
18th July 2010, 10:12 PM   |  #2  
Daelyn's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 154
 
668 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2006
More
Code:
# cat /system/etc/gps.conf
NTP_SERVER=europe.pool.ntp.org
XTRA_SERVER_1=http://xtra1.gpsonextra.net/xtra.bin
XTRA_SERVER_2=http://xtra2.gpsonextra.net/xtra.bin
XTRA_SERVER_3=http://xtra3.gpsonextra.net/xtra.bin
SUPL_HOST=supl.google.com
SUPL_PORT=7276
Breakdown of contents:
NTP server is used to get accurate time, without you can't get a correct GPS loc.
XTRA is the GPS Satellite position servers.
SUPL is the Location server uses for A-GPS. in this case Google's own.
Last edited by Daelyn; 18th July 2010 at 10:15 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to Daelyn For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th November 2010, 02:14 PM   |  #3  
Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
47 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daelyn

Code:
# cat /system/etc/gps.conf
NTP_SERVER=europe.pool.ntp.org
XTRA_SERVER_1=http://xtra1.gpsonextra.net/xtra.bin
XTRA_SERVER_2=http://xtra2.gpsonextra.net/xtra.bin
XTRA_SERVER_3=http://xtra3.gpsonextra.net/xtra.bin
SUPL_HOST=supl.google.com
SUPL_PORT=7276
Breakdown of contents:
NTP server is used to get accurate time, without you can't get a correct GPS loc.
XTRA is the GPS Satellite position servers.
SUPL is the Location server uses for A-GPS. in this case Google's own.

This kind of puzzled me, why GPS need NTP to get fixed. The whole purpose of GPS is to be able to fixed based on the time data coming down from the satellite signals.
In fact I have tried to turned my N1 to flight mode (i.e. no signal at all) and the GPS still fixed its position just fine.
10th November 2010, 09:57 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag Enschede
Thanks Meter: 10
 
220 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
On my 2.2 Galaxy S I got a black screen at first too. But after about 5 seconds I got a PowerUser popup asking for root permission. I checked the gps.conf before and after. It does exactly what it promised to do, so that's confirmed .

Now let's hope it helps the GPS.
11th November 2010, 01:20 PM   |  #5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
70 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by tienhn

The whole purpose of GPS is to be able to fixed based on the time data coming down from the satellite signals.

there is no "time data" that would be "coming down from the satellite signals". The signal you refer to is pseudorandom code and not time data.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tienhn

In fact I have tried to turned my N1 to flight mode (i.e. no signal at all) and the GPS still fixed its position just fine.

of course gps will also work on its own (i.e. when you switch to flight mode), but it will take longer to get a fix. MUCH longer in fact, depending on the situation. thats the point of a-gps, providing supplement data that allows you to get a faster fix.
Last edited by maxmax0; 11th November 2010 at 01:36 PM.
16th January 2011, 06:28 PM   |  #6  
ozmanic's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
53 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2007
More
damn,i got really really sick now..
have ROOTED droid and cannot ACCESS to gps.conf.using root explorer.
cannot disable R/O for this file.
any suggestion whats goin wrong here?

2.3.1 gingerbread
16th January 2011, 11:59 PM   |  #7  
dexter93's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 1,995
 
11,465 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ozmanic

damn,i got really really sick now..
have ROOTED droid and cannot ACCESS to gps.conf.using root explorer.
cannot disable R/O for this file.
any suggestion whats goin wrong here?

2.3.1 gingerbread

Why don't you try via adb?
(in order to edit that via root explorer you have to be s-off, while via adb you don't)

Sent from my HTC Desire using XDA App
21st February 2011, 09:24 PM   |  #8  
Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
45 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ozmanic

damn,i got really really sick now..
have ROOTED droid and cannot ACCESS to gps.conf.using root explorer.
cannot disable R/O for this file.
any suggestion whats goin wrong here?

2.3.1 gingerbread

Use "Terminal Emulator", then type :
$ su
# cd /system/etc
#*remount rw
# vi gps.conf

(you need to know how to use "vi")

As you can see, you need to do a "remount rw" to make it writable. You can do that with adb too.
23rd September 2011, 12:47 AM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Remount HTC Desire
Bit of an old thread,

But I've never had the remount work on my HTC Desire (rooted, running Oxygen 2.2.2/Amon RA 2.0.2 Recovery)..

What I do is reboot in to recovery, mount /system and then use ADB to shell in and edit the files.

If I do a remount rw, It appears to edit the file, but as soon as I reboot, any changes are gone..

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes