5,596,235 Members 35,657 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Gps fix 101

Tip us?
 
boodies
Old
(Last edited by boodies; 21st September 2010 at 05:30 PM.)
#1  
boodies's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 255
Posts: 1,558
Join Date: Mar 2010
Default Gps fix 101

EDIT: 9/21/10

NEW FIX OUT!!! http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=782242


Like many of you folks, i've been having lots problems with the GPS. And like many of you, I also am upgrading from the G1 so I know how a good GPS signal is suppose to be like. In many instances, the GS would not sync with the GPS when under the same circumstances, the G1 had no problem.

Inside my home it will rarely connect. When testing with the GPS TEST, the damn thing would not even connect to a satellite.

AFTER FIX - Everything connects REALLY REALLY FAST and ACCURATE

PS - These are not my own but I found them online by username e-wrecked

STEPS

1 - Disable "Use Wireless Networks" - Settings / Location & Security

2 - Dial *#*#1472365#*#*

3 - Under "Application settings" Change "Operation Mode" to MS Based

4 - Under "SUPL/CP Settings" Change the SERVER & PORT to supl.google.com and port 7276 [ Do not use www. in front of supl]

5 - REBOOT

6 - Turn back on the "User Wireless Networks"

7 - Praise God


----------------------------------------------------------------
PS - If you need to get back to default here are the specs

DEFAULT - OPERATION MODE - Standalone
Server - www.spirent-lcs.com
Port - 7275


THERE IS A NEW FIX OUT!!! - http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=782242
 
boodies
Old
#2  
boodies's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 255
Posts: 1,558
Join Date: Mar 2010
all of you who insist that this is a hardware problem, get out of here with that
 
WilliamStern
Old
#3  
WilliamStern's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 36
Posts: 630
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Miami, Fl.
never mind...
 
dowwin
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 9
Join Date: Oct 2009
has anyone tried this yet?
 
WilliamStern
Old
#5  
WilliamStern's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 36
Posts: 630
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Miami, Fl.
I tried it, and so far so good.
 
iceshinobi
Old
#6  
iceshinobi's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 99
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Orlando, FL
This worked to gps is fast now

Sent from my SGH-T959 using XDA App
 
kronos82
Old
#7  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 49
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Chicago
But what does Thais exactly do to make it better? Just woundering

Sent from my SGH-T959 using XDA App
Kronos82
 
werdz2
Old
#8  
werdz2's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 23
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Miami, FL (Hialeah)
Works perfect on much phone. I think it just updates with more recent satellite data.

Sent from my SGH-T959 using XDA App
 
kolyan
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 170
Posts: 2,449
Join Date: Jan 2008
would need this when i get my V
 
temperbad
Old
#10  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 673
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: portland
Quote:
Originally Posted by boodies View Post
Like many of you folks, i've been having lots problems with the GPS. And like many of you, I also am upgrading from the G1 so I know how a good GPS signal is suppose to be like. In many instances, the GS would not sync with the GPS when within the same circumstances, the G1 had no problem.

Inside my home, I now pretty much don't get any good GPS on my GS. Rarely if I patiently wait, it will connect. When testing with the GPS TEST, the damn thing would not even connect a satellite.

AFTER FIX - Everything connects REALLY REALLY FAST and ACCURATE

PS - These are not my own but I found them online by username e-wrecked

STEPS

1 - Disable "Use Wireless Networks" - Settings / Location & Security

2 - Dial *#*#1472365#*#*

3 - Under "Application settings" Change "Operation Mode" to MS Based

4 - Under "SUPL/CP Settings" Change the SERVER & PORT to supl.google.com and port 7276

5 - REBOOT

6 - Turn back on the "User Wireless Networks"

7 - PRAISE GOD

not www.supl.google.com right? just supl.google.com ?

Tags
gps
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Force Translucent Status Bar in KitKat ROMs with Xposed

It’s been a while since Android 4.4KitKat wasreleased, and we’re slowly … more

Fix the Ambient Light Issues on Your Google Nexus 5 using Xposed

The Google Nexus 5 is a great and rather popular device. This LG-produced … more

Google Glass XE16 Update Factory Image and Rooted Bootloader Now Available

You may recall that early yesterday, we talked about the XE16 … more