Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,786,442 Members 39,868 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[FIX] Updated: GPS Tracking Issues (Optional FIX) For Stock Phones

Tip us?
 
TGA_Gunnman
Old
(Last edited by TGA_Gunnman; 13th August 2010 at 01:49 AM.)
#1  
TGA_Gunnman's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 767
Posts: 554
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Dallas, Texas

 
DONATE TO ME
Thumbs up [FIX] Updated: GPS Tracking Issues (Optional FIX) For Stock Phones

Team,

boodies posted this in the General section and thought it should be here as well, due to its nature.

Props goes out to boodies, Great Find!!

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=728611

I tried this and all GPS and compass issues are now fixed. GPS locks on accurately in just a few seconds.

***This fix may not work if you live outside of USA.***


##You can play with the settings if you want to. If you FUBAR your GPS a simple factory reset will return your setting to default. You can do this without going into recovery buy going to Settings / Privacy / Factory data reset.##

Edit:
************************************************** *************
Tested Procedure:

1 - Disable "Use Wireless Networks" - Settings / Location & Security

2 - Dial *#*#1472365#*#*

3 - Under "Application settings" Change "Operation Mode" to MS Based

4 - Under "SUPL/CP Settings" Change the SERVER & PORT to supl.google.com and port 7276 [ Do not use www. in front of supl]

5 - REBOOT

6 - Turn back on the "User Wireless Networks"

************************************************** ******************
Original settings:

Operation Mode: Standalone
Server: www.spirent-lcs.com
Port: 7275
*****************************

Optional New Fix:

1 - Dial *#*#1472365#*#*

2 - Go outside to get an unimpeded GPS fix.

3 - Choose Delete GPS Data button.

4 - Choose Get Position Test button. Let it run for 3 min or until you have 10 to 12 Sat locks and back out.


Thanks goes to Onlyloki for this method.

You may want to do this in conjunction with the first procedure and then do the optional if the first procedure did not work for you. I did both and my GPS is locking even faster. Let me know what you think...


Just some more info I dug up:

Quote from http://www.vzwdevelopers.com/aims/pu...lbs/LBSFAQ.jsp

"In MS-Based mode, the network provides the satellite information to the device, based on a rough estimate of where the device is located, and the device acquires the GPS signals from the satellites and calculates its location. After the initial fix, the device operates like an autonomous GPS receiver, until the satellite information must be refreshed, at which time the device goes back to the network to update the satellite information. MS-Based mode is appropriate for applications that require the device location to be updated rapidly, such as a navigation application. Can the GPS work in autonomous mode? No, the GPS receiver requires the assistance of the network elements to acquire its initial location fix."

With the rapid updating we could see an increased drain on the battery. I have not confirmed that yet. If anyone can let us know.

Edit #2:

I was informed by a sales rep at T-Mobile that Samsung is aware of the issue and is going to fix the GPS and the compass issue in their first update.


Rooted USERS:

Go Here and flash this: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=748821
If you like my work, buy me a drink.


______________________
Google Android OS Rules!!!
My Phones and Tablets:
T-Mobile G1
T-Mobile Vibrant
T-Mobile HD2
T-Mobile G2x
ASUS Eee Pad Transformer
T-Mobile Galaxy S III
Nexus 7
Nexus 10
T-Mobile Galaxy S IV
Nexus 7 2013
T-Mobile Galaxy Note 3
All Rooted and Romed Baby!!!! Yeah!!
 
skater4690
Old
#2  
skater4690's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 57
Posts: 1,014
Join Date: May 2010
Location: houston
Quote:
Originally Posted by TGA_Gunnman View Post
Team,

boodies posted this in the General section and thought it should be here as well due to its nature.

Props goes out to boodies, Great Find!!

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=728611

I tried this and all GPS and compass issues are now fixed. GPS locks on accurately in just a few seconds.
does everyone have the gps problem or just some cause to me it doesnt seem like i have it just wondering
T-Mobile Samsung galaxy note 2
ROM: stock rooted for now
RECOVERY: stock for now
PARTITION: 16gb internal and external

love at first flash!!! (.)(.)
 
TGA_Gunnman
Old
#3  
TGA_Gunnman's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 767
Posts: 554
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Dallas, Texas

 
DONATE TO ME
Mine were working ok, but compass was all over the place. After fix it was alot faster locking in and compass was fine. Noticed it using skymap, layer, etc...
If you like my work, buy me a drink.


______________________
Google Android OS Rules!!!
My Phones and Tablets:
T-Mobile G1
T-Mobile Vibrant
T-Mobile HD2
T-Mobile G2x
ASUS Eee Pad Transformer
T-Mobile Galaxy S III
Nexus 7
Nexus 10
T-Mobile Galaxy S IV
Nexus 7 2013
T-Mobile Galaxy Note 3
All Rooted and Romed Baby!!!! Yeah!!
 
temperbad
Old
#4  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 673
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: portland
fix worked great for me. All I need it to be semi close and this makes the lock within seconds. Before I couldnt even get a lock.. Awesome XDA
 
rhcp0112345
Old
#5  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter 117
Posts: 1,589
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: North Carolina

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by TGA_Gunnman View Post
Team,

boodies posted this in the General section and thought it should be here as well due to its nature.

Props goes out to boodies, Great Find!!

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=728611

I tried this and all GPS and compass issues are now fixed. GPS locks on accurately in just a few seconds.

My gps takes awhile to lock. But before i try this.

What is the orig settings? Can someone post?

I dont want to do this and then if it doesnt work i cant revert
 
hah2110
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 37
Posts: 2,442
Join Date: Nov 2008
Don't you lose out on better accuracy by disabling wireless networks?
 
TGA_Gunnman
Old
(Last edited by TGA_Gunnman; 18th July 2010 at 09:12 PM.)
#7  
TGA_Gunnman's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 767
Posts: 554
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Dallas, Texas

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by hah2110 View Post
Don't you lose out on better accuracy by disabling wireless networks?

You turn it back on, on step 6.

Sent from my SGH-T959 using XDA App
If you like my work, buy me a drink.


______________________
Google Android OS Rules!!!
My Phones and Tablets:
T-Mobile G1
T-Mobile Vibrant
T-Mobile HD2
T-Mobile G2x
ASUS Eee Pad Transformer
T-Mobile Galaxy S III
Nexus 7
Nexus 10
T-Mobile Galaxy S IV
Nexus 7 2013
T-Mobile Galaxy Note 3
All Rooted and Romed Baby!!!! Yeah!!
 
diaa08
Old
#8  
diaa08's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 224
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Quote:
Originally Posted by skater4690 View Post
does everyone have the gps problem or just some cause to me it doesnt seem like i have it just wondering
i don't either, i used navigation all yesterday and lock was fast... just lucky???
 
hah2110
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 37
Posts: 2,442
Join Date: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by hah2110 View Post
Don't you lose out on better accuracy by disabling wireless networks?
WOW my bad!
 
TGA_Gunnman
Old
#10  
TGA_Gunnman's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 767
Posts: 554
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Dallas, Texas

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by diaa08 View Post
i don't either, i used navigation all yesterday and lock was fast... just lucky???
What are your settings set to?

Also check out a compass app and skymap are they throwing you all over?

I'm curious.
If you like my work, buy me a drink.


______________________
Google Android OS Rules!!!
My Phones and Tablets:
T-Mobile G1
T-Mobile Vibrant
T-Mobile HD2
T-Mobile G2x
ASUS Eee Pad Transformer
T-Mobile Galaxy S III
Nexus 7
Nexus 10
T-Mobile Galaxy S IV
Nexus 7 2013
T-Mobile Galaxy Note 3
All Rooted and Romed Baby!!!! Yeah!!

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Try to Keep Up with Just Swipe Game

Sometimes, the simplest of games are the ones that end up beingthe most addictive and end up consuming … more

MultiROM Ported to the Moto E

Few categoriesof Android development are as intrinsically interestingas the ability to boot into multiple … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: How to Control Google Play Wake Locks – XDA Developer TV

Xposed Modules are usually pretty simple. There are a few … more

Make Text Entry More Efficient with Macro Text Expansion

One of the best things about the modern day smartphone is its ability to save us … more