Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,811,541 Members 53,495 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[APP] ShutUpBatterySaver -- APN/Autosync ctrl based on SignalStrength & Time

Tip us?
 
wjax
Old
(Last edited by wjax; 24th August 2010 at 09:11 AM.)
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 35
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Sevilla
Default [APP] ShutUpBatterySaver -- APN/Autosync ctrl based on SignalStrength & Time

Well guys,

It's been a long time since I realized my Nexus ONE was draining a lot of battery.
After some testing I figured out one of the most probable causes for that, Autosync.

So I started creating a proof of concept app in order to run autosync at a specified custom time.

On the other hand, I read some users in this forum talk about the possibility to monitor Signal Strength and disable APN if under a given threshold... so I did it (and added Autosync control on low signal too).
It is very useful when you work all day in low signal areas (as me).

Remember.. this is just a proof of concept... may fail a lot or never!
Search for it in the market!

Enjoy

IMPORTANT: Dont kill the app! Exclude it from memory savers (automatic tasks killer). And dont worry about memory or CPU use, it is negligible.

Update 23/08/2010
New Version 0.2. Hope you like it
You have to unistall the previous one (if not it won't install) because I lost my previous certificate . Sorry!!!
Go to:
https://sites.google.com/site/shutupbatterysaver/
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	device3.jpg
Views:	331
Size:	30.7 KB
ID:	386952   Click image for larger version

Name:	device2.jpg
Views:	364
Size:	30.1 KB
ID:	386953  
 
Naffets
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 133
Join Date: Apr 2007
Interesting...will be testing
Samsung Galaxy S3 'Pebble' blue, 16gb
Sony Xperia Z, Black, 16gb + 32gb Class 10 MicroSD
Microsoft Surface RT 32GB + 32GB UHS-I Card
 
Markdental
Old
#3  
Markdental's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 29
Posts: 576
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Florida
What a great idea!

But does this app use a lot of battery monitoring the signal strength and adjusting for this?
 
kingofyo1
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 777
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: gulfport, ms

 
DONATE TO ME
will this work on other phones too or just nexus at this time?
Current:
Samsung Galaxy S3 T-mobile
Darthstalker latest

Samsung Galaxy S4 r970x on the way!!!

Retired:
HTC Thunderbolt
rom:Infected Eternity 260
radio: MR4

Transformer TF101 32gb
Rom: ICS Android Revolution HD

HTC Rezound
Rom: CM9 8/3 update
 
Jon.StatiK
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 29
Posts: 283
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Kingsport
First testing i was able to change settings but it seems to fc on me. Using htc hero cdma on darchdroid.
 
wjax
Old
#6  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 35
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Sevilla
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon.StatiK View Post
First testing i was able to change settings but it seems to fc on me. Using htc hero cdma on darchdroid.
It works perfectly on HTC Hero GSM in Spain with the android 2.1.
So I don't know... I don't have an American Hero.

It should work on every android 2.1 and 2.2 phone...
 
wjax
Old
#7  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 35
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Sevilla
Quote:
Originally Posted by Markdental View Post
What a great idea!

But does this app use a lot of battery monitoring the signal strength and adjusting for this?
Dont worry for CPU(battery) drain.
When using Scheduled Autosync it just uses a few miliseconds of CPU for each Loop.

And for the Signal Strength monitoring, it checks it every 10 minutes and only uses (again) a few miliseconds.

If you have Spare Parts, you can check it yourself!
 
THATTON
Old
#8  
THATTON's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 46
Posts: 1,174
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Bakersfield
Wow! I instantly noticed a difference in drain even when monitoring it with adb. I'm impressed. What are you guys settings looking like? I am not sure how I should set it up. If I set the sync on for every 25 minutes, does that mean my phone will ONLY auto sync every 25 minutes? This app is long overdue! Thanks!
 
myplague
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 132
Join Date: Jan 2008
on my nexus if I leave the app and click on it again on the drawer, the app resets everything (settings, logs)
 
Markdental
Old
(Last edited by Markdental; 19th July 2010 at 02:02 AM.)
#10  
Markdental's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 29
Posts: 576
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by THATTON View Post
Wow! I instantly noticed a difference in drain even when monitoring it with adb. I'm impressed. What are you guys settings looking like? I am not sure how I should set it up. If I set the sync on for every 25 minutes, does that mean my phone will ONLY auto sync every 25 minutes? This app is long overdue! Thanks!
Yeah, would love to hear some other users' settings that are working for them.

Like maybe the cutoff for the signal strength level.

also, am I suppose to leave sync off?

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


WowWee Mip – Android Accessory Review – XDA Developer TV

The holidays will be here in no time, so why not start thinking about … more

Stream Your Media Files with the New Version of Droid Sync Manager

Android is a Linux-based operating system, but this fact doesn’t put … more

Old but Gold Internet Browser is a Blast from the Past

A Web browser is one of these applications that we can’t live without. We useit … more

Real-World Battery Saving Tips for Android – XDA Developer TV

You need Real-World Battery Saving Tips for your Android device. Our … more