Post Reply

[APP] ShutUpBatterySaver -- APN/Autosync ctrl based on SignalStrength & Time

18th July 2010, 08:30 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Flag Sevilla
Thanks Meter: 2
 
35 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007
More
Well guys,

It's been a long time since I realized my Nexus ONE was draining a lot of battery.
After some testing I figured out one of the most probable causes for that, Autosync.

So I started creating a proof of concept app in order to run autosync at a specified custom time.

On the other hand, I read some users in this forum talk about the possibility to monitor Signal Strength and disable APN if under a given threshold... so I did it (and added Autosync control on low signal too).
It is very useful when you work all day in low signal areas (as me).

Remember.. this is just a proof of concept... may fail a lot or never!
Search for it in the market!

Enjoy

IMPORTANT: Dont kill the app! Exclude it from memory savers (automatic tasks killer). And dont worry about memory or CPU use, it is negligible.

Update 23/08/2010
New Version 0.2. Hope you like it
You have to unistall the previous one (if not it won't install) because I lost my previous certificate . Sorry!!!
Go to:
https://sites.google.com/site/shutupbatterysaver/
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	device3.jpg
Views:	331
Size:	30.7 KB
ID:	386952   Click image for larger version

Name:	device2.jpg
Views:	364
Size:	30.1 KB
ID:	386953  
Last edited by wjax; 24th August 2010 at 09:11 AM.
18th July 2010, 08:39 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
133 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2007
Interesting...will be testing
18th July 2010, 09:18 PM   |  #3  
Markdental's Avatar
Senior Member
Florida
Thanks Meter: 29
 
576 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
What a great idea!

But does this app use a lot of battery monitoring the signal strength and adjusting for this?
18th July 2010, 09:22 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag gulfport, ms
Thanks Meter: 17
 
777 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
Donate to Me
More
will this work on other phones too or just nexus at this time?
18th July 2010, 09:38 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag Kingsport
Thanks Meter: 29
 
286 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
More
First testing i was able to change settings but it seems to fc on me. Using htc hero cdma on darchdroid.
18th July 2010, 11:10 PM   |  #6  
OP Member
Flag Sevilla
Thanks Meter: 2
 
35 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon.StatiK

First testing i was able to change settings but it seems to fc on me. Using htc hero cdma on darchdroid.

It works perfectly on HTC Hero GSM in Spain with the android 2.1.
So I don't know... I don't have an American Hero.

It should work on every android 2.1 and 2.2 phone...
18th July 2010, 11:37 PM   |  #7  
OP Member
Flag Sevilla
Thanks Meter: 2
 
35 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Markdental

What a great idea!

But does this app use a lot of battery monitoring the signal strength and adjusting for this?

Dont worry for CPU(battery) drain.
When using Scheduled Autosync it just uses a few miliseconds of CPU for each Loop.

And for the Signal Strength monitoring, it checks it every 10 minutes and only uses (again) a few miliseconds.

If you have Spare Parts, you can check it yourself!
19th July 2010, 12:57 AM   |  #8  
THATTON's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bakersfield
Thanks Meter: 46
 
1,174 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
More
Wow! I instantly noticed a difference in drain even when monitoring it with adb. I'm impressed. What are you guys settings looking like? I am not sure how I should set it up. If I set the sync on for every 25 minutes, does that mean my phone will ONLY auto sync every 25 minutes? This app is long overdue! Thanks!
19th July 2010, 01:03 AM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
132 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
on my nexus if I leave the app and click on it again on the drawer, the app resets everything (settings, logs)
19th July 2010, 01:48 AM   |  #10  
Markdental's Avatar
Senior Member
Florida
Thanks Meter: 29
 
576 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by THATTON

Wow! I instantly noticed a difference in drain even when monitoring it with adb. I'm impressed. What are you guys settings looking like? I am not sure how I should set it up. If I set the sync on for every 25 minutes, does that mean my phone will ONLY auto sync every 25 minutes? This app is long overdue! Thanks!

Yeah, would love to hear some other users' settings that are working for them.

Like maybe the cutoff for the signal strength level.

also, am I suppose to leave sync off?
Last edited by Markdental; 19th July 2010 at 02:02 AM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes