Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,805,594 Members 39,101 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Unable to change Sound and Display settings?

Tip us?
 
masterofthebass
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 41
Join Date: Nov 2007
Default Unable to change Sound and Display settings?

I can't seem to get any of my sound/display settings to stick. Even after selecting a ringtone, and hitting OK, going back into the selection just resets to the default AT&T sound :/ I'm using Launcher Pro as my "home screen" and I have rooted the phone. Anyone know how to remedy this situation?
 
systoxity
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 61
Posts: 743
Join Date: Nov 2008
ur ringtone settins.. Are you trying to apply them to google contacts or contacts that are physically on your phone? Also tell us what display changes you are trying to make and exactly the steps you are taking so we can try to replicate this experience at home and advise you better.
 
masterofthebass
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 41
Join Date: Nov 2007
settings -> sound and display -> voice call ringtone -> (select different ringtone) -> OK -> home.

It refuses to change to anything but the default AT&T one. It plays all of the other tones, as a preview, but will not stay changed to it.
 
systoxity
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 61
Posts: 743
Join Date: Nov 2008
so lets say you pick bird loop, select ok, and then click voice call ringtone again, the little dot is back next to the att default ringtone?
 
masterofthebass
Old
#5  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 41
Join Date: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by systoxity View Post
so lets say you pick bird loop, select ok, and then click voice call ringtone again, the little dot is back next to the att default ringtone?
yes (10char)
 
systoxity
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 61
Posts: 743
Join Date: Nov 2008
wow. im speechless. Maybe you should try a factory data reset?
 
masterofthebass
Old
#7  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 41
Join Date: Nov 2007
So I have figured out my problem. I did that non-market app fix found here http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=728121 . The problem that I had, was that my settings.db had bad file permissions. I just chmoded 777 the file, and now it can write just fine.
 
kaluman
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 13
Join Date: Jun 2006
Thanks for that fix, solved the weird quirks I was having.


Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I897 using XDA App

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes