FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

Sim Unlock

342 posts
Thanks Meter: 6
 
By jentech, Senior Member on 19th July 2010, 04:32 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Anyone know how to unlock the Captivate once it's rooted? Or do I need to buy a code from one of those sites? Thanks.
 
 
19th July 2010, 04:36 AM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jentech

Anyone know how to unlock the Captivate once it's rooted? Or do I need to buy a code from one of those sites? Thanks.

Did'nt they pass some law or loose some class action suit, after 90 days in good standing or something like that AT&T has to give you the unlocked code... The only exception I think was the Iphone, something about thats apple's terms to unlock or not....

http://www.mobileburn.com/news.jsp?Id=9533
Last edited by mk69; 19th July 2010 at 04:45 AM.
19th July 2010, 04:37 AM |#3  
Croak's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mulberry
Thanks Meter: 242
 
More
You're in the same boat as me. I bought one today knowing it was locked and might not have a code available for a few weeks from one of the "usual" places.

If you did like I did and bought it legit from an AT&T store, there's a chance you can call up AT&T tomorrow (what I'm trying) and get it unlocked all proper like. Otherwise, you may be in for a bit of a wait.
19th July 2010, 04:38 AM |#4  
jentech's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag North Vancouver
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mk69

Did'nt they pass some law or loose some class action suit, after 90 days in good standing or something like that AT&T has to give you the unlocked code... The only exception I think was the Iphone, something about thats apple's terms to unlock or not....

Problem is I bought it outright from Best Buy today to use on Rogers in Canada, so I don't have an ATT account. I thought the unlock would be relatively painless.
19th July 2010, 04:40 AM |#5  
jentech's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag North Vancouver
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Croak

You're in the same boat as me. I bought one today knowing it was locked and might not have a code available for a few weeks from one of the "usual" places.

If you did like I did and bought it legit from an AT&T store, there's a chance you can call up AT&T tomorrow (what I'm trying) and get it unlocked all proper like. Otherwise, you may be in for a bit of a wait.

There's a guy in Burnaby who says it can unlock it using a cable, not a code. Going there tomorrow. Will let you know.
19th July 2010, 04:42 AM |#6  
Croak's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mulberry
Thanks Meter: 242
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jentech

There's a guy in Burnaby who says it can unlock it using a cable, not a code. Going there tomorrow. Will let you know.

Please do.
19th July 2010, 04:46 AM |#7  
jentech's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag North Vancouver
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Croak

Please do.

..and likewise let me know how you make out with AT&T.
19th July 2010, 05:31 AM |#8  
Senior Member
Flag New York City
Thanks Meter: 39
 
More
Yeah me too. One reason I'm hesitating to buy it is that it's sim locked to AT&T. Since I also travel to other countries, I really need a totally unlocked phone. Please let us know how it turns out.
19th July 2010, 03:54 PM |#9  
jentech's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag North Vancouver
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Phoned AT&T this morning and was told that the Captivate cannot be unlocked, at least not right now.

I called back (sometimes that helps) and chatted with another rep. and was told that AT&T has a 10 month exclusivity to the Samsung Captivate, and there would be no unlock until then.
10 months?? exclusive?? Get a clue AT&T, this thing is available on every major network, and unlocked on most.
Last edited by jentech; 19th July 2010 at 04:08 PM.
19th July 2010, 04:17 PM |#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 238
 
More
If you don't have a post-paid AT&T account, you will get no help from AT&T for this unlock.

But most AT&T reps have no clue what it is. You have to explain to them. But only if you meet the qualification (post-paid, at least 90 days etc.).
19th July 2010, 04:27 PM |#11  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
can someone check this?
http://www.unlockallcellular.com/sam...e-p-59175.html
http://cellunlocker.net/blog/2010/06...ung-captivate/

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes