FORUMS

OnePlus 2 Teardown, Major Android Vulnerability – XDA TV

The OnePlus 2 has been officially released. That and much more news is … more

What Do You Think About Fingerprint Scanners?

More and more phones are featuring fingerprint scanners, and with many promising … more

What’s Next for Samsung and Its Flagships?

If we were to say that the Galaxy S6 was a leap of faith made by Samsung, we … more

The Ultimate Showcase of dBrand Skins

In the search for ways to protect, accessorize, and personalize; a user has many options. One … more

Sim Unlock

342 posts
Thanks Meter: 6
 
By jentech, Senior Member on 19th July 2010, 04:32 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
1st August 2010, 07:56 PM |#211  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Hey, guys, do you know if it is possible to unlock Captivate if, for example, I am already in Russia, not in the USA? if 3rd party unlock comes out (and, well, for example, if I have an AT&T sim card in roaming)
 
 
1st August 2010, 08:15 PM |#212  
Croak's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mulberry
Thanks Meter: 242
 
More
I called in again today, and this time took it to the stage where I have a case number, but was told in no uncertain terms there is no Location I-9 (or if there was, it's somewhere near Roswell, New Mexico), and no department to escalate this too. They couldn't even find any reference to the fax number in Giz's instructions.

I'll wait for the "sorry, talk to us in 10 months" email, and see if having a case number in the system helps. I suspect that if I just send a fax out at this point, nothing will happen.
1st August 2010, 08:51 PM |#213  
jentech's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag North Vancouver
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Croak

I called in again today, and this time took it to the stage where I have a case number, but was told in no uncertain terms there is no Location I-9 (or if there was, it's somewhere near Roswell, New Mexico), and no department to escalate this too. They couldn't even find any reference to the fax number in Giz's instructions.

I'll wait for the "sorry, talk to us in 10 months" email, and see if having a case number in the system helps. I suspect that if I just send a fax out at this point, nothing will happen.

I followed giz's instructions and sent a fax and it did go somewhere (Rosewell, New Mexico perhaps). Haven't heard anything yet, but maybe because it's the weekend. No harm in trying it.
1st August 2010, 11:28 PM |#214  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
You guys are Canadians?
Since Giz's guide said you gotta be a NON us resident, so it wouldn't work for me? (US Citizen)
2nd August 2010, 08:08 PM |#215  
Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 17
 
More
Just got an email after opening a case with the device unlock group.


THIS IS AN AUTOMATED EMAIL PLEASE DO NOT REPLY BACK TO "TULSA CC TECH"
AS ALL MESSAGES SENT TO THIS EMAIL ADDRESS ARE AUTOMATICALLY DELETED
WITHOUT BEING READ. PLEASE CONTACT CUSTOMER SERVICE 1-800-331-0500 FOR
ADDIOTIONAL ASSISTANCE.

Due to Device Exclusivity agreements with Manufacturers we are unable to
provide an unlock code for your device. Please refer to
http://www.attlockinglawsuits.com/ for further information or contact
Customer Care at 1- 800-331-0500 for any additional questions and
reference the CASE number shown below .

EMAIL:
CASE:
MOBILE:
IMEI:

Thank you,
NE Device Unlock Group

This e-mail and any files transmitted with it are the property of AT&T
are confidential, and are intended solely for the use of the individual
or entity to which this e-mail is addressed. If you are not one of the
named recipient(s) or otherwise have reason to believe that you have
received this message in error, please notify the sender at
(1-800-331-0500) and delete this message immediately from your computer.
Any other use, retention, dissemination, forwarding, printing, or
copying of this e-mail is strictly prohibited."


This is BS... Giz over here, isnt even an ATT customer and he gets a code, I sign up for 2 year contract and they wont unlock me?

I guess i'll just have to harass them on their customer service line...
2nd August 2010, 09:25 PM |#216  
Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 17
 
More
just spoke with customer care escalations.

They have no codes
10 month exclusivity
My case was denied and they wont resubmit another one.

This thing is going to probably have to go back. even though i'm in love with it
2nd August 2010, 10:13 PM |#217  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
AMAZING!
Guys, do you remember "unlockitnow.com?"
Remember how they told me and one another member that they'll be shipping usb / software to unlock the phone?
Guess what? It arrives today. At first I open the envelope and thought it's a joke, since the cd slot is empty. Instead! There comes a sim thinggy.

1. Align the unlock SIM with the SIM card you will be using.
2. Insert the aligned SIMs in your cell phone SIM compartment.
3. Switch cell phone on and it is ready for use.

I used a tmobile sim along with that unlock SIM and it works perfectly!

So, make an order with unlockitnow.com and they'll offer you the "usb + software", confirm your imei and say yes and wait for 7-20 days for it to arrive. I ordered it on 7/23 and it arrived today!
2nd August 2010, 10:22 PM |#218  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
So it's basically one of those "TurboSIM" thingies? You must ALWAYS use the unlock SIM with your SIM? Or is it a one-time-use and it unocks it, unlock-SIM-not-needed-again?

T
2nd August 2010, 10:22 PM |#219  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharkonwheels

So it's basically one of those "TurboSIM" thingies? You must ALWAYS use the unlock SIM with your SIM? Or is it a one-time-use and it unocks it, unlock-SIM-not-needed-again?

T

turbosim thing
2nd August 2010, 10:23 PM |#220  
Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 17
 
More
is this for real? you sound too much like an advertisement LOL
2nd August 2010, 10:25 PM |#221  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nickbarbs

is this for real? you sound too much like an advertisement LOL

ha i know. hold up lemme take some pictures, i can't really prove that it works cause i gotta use the phone to take pic of the turbo sim.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes